We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cityview Hong Kong
Nearby Hotels
$200
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$234
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
$280
$182
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$144
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$178
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$97
$71
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,868)
Filter reviews
2,868 results
Traveler rating
862
1,446
449
73
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
1,446
449
73
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyau ma tei mtrladies marketmtr stationpremier roomnathan roadeconomy roomcity view hotelnew wingtemple streetfree upgradeexcellent locationcircle kconvenient locationminute walkwalking distancenight marketairport express
Filter
Updating list...
1,695 - 1,700 of 2,868 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I didnt stay at this hotel, however I was waiting out the front for the airport shuttle bus to go to the train station as it stops at this hotel and I was in the area.
The security guard at the door insisted I waited inside, so I walked inside. Once inside, I decided to have a little wonder around the foyer as I am returning to Hong Kong shortly and thought of perhaps staying here for a week as the location is very good. Well... he was so rude to me and firmly told me to stand at the door and not to go anywhere else in the hotel.

Guess I'll spend my money at another hotel as first impressions are lasting impressions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank travellersfr0m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to posting a review, informing us the unpleasant experience you have encountered. The Cityview strives to provide high quality service and we welcome any comments or suggestions you may have about any aspect of the hotel.
In response to your reviews, we have the following feedback for your understandings:
1. Shuttle bus services is the privilege of our hotel guest and we have extended our courtesy of offering the services to you.
2. The place where you were waiting for the shuttle was a vehicular access and you were therefore reminded by our staff due to safety concerns.
3. Since the shuttle bus would not stop and wait at hotel entrance, it just passing through the hotel and pick up the guests. Try to avoid of missing the bus, our hotel guests will be arranged to wait a while at the foyer area.
We hope this single incident will not alter your confidence in The Cityview and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and booked the deluxe room but there was a minor mix up upon check in and we were given the superior room but it was quickly rectified when we informed the service staff. However, we were given a room on the 8th floor, closest to the elevator so it was quiet noisy during our stay so request a room further down the corridor.

Can't beat the location, mtr exit D and the hotel is 2 mins walk. 10 -15 mins walk to the middle of Mongkok and you can walk back from the markets. Plethora of eateries, shopping, chemist etc

• Rooms - definitely book a deluxe room and skip the superior, it is a little bigger, has a bath tub, larger tv, overall better. The room was simple, tidy and clean with the exception of the carpet which had big dark patches
• Housekeeping - did a great job! Each day felt fresh and like I had stepped into the room for the first time
• Luggage handlers (bellboy) - extremely courteous and friendly with a good command of English. Made the stay extra welcoming. They assisted with getting a taxi to the airport and provide free luggage storage

Will likely stay again in late Jan 2013 if the rates are as competitive.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Your kind comments regarding the Concierge and Housekeeping team have been passed on to them and we are pleased to note your particularly value our hotel great location. The less desirable experience you described regarding the room arrangement causes us deep concern. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid such incident in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stay for 3 days. Everything is perfect (Location,Comfy Bed,Nice staff...)
In-room wireless is provide for free! Thumbs Up!
The only disadvantages is the shower pressure is too low.
Will caused me feeling uncomfy during shower time.

Room Tip: Exit A2 from MRT "Yao Ma Dei" station,only short distance walk to the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

It's very nice to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and your valuable comments concerning the shower pressure is limited has been carefully noted by our Engineering Manager. Kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Well located - only 3 minutes walk to the nearest MTR station. Buffet breakfast is a bit limited - poor selection of cereals, ok if you like fruit loops! Decor is a bit tired but the rooms are spacious and clean. Bed is comfortable. Staff are very helpful. Easy to get to/from the airport using the airport express line (rail) via Kowloon Station then catching the K5 free shuttle bus to the hotel. Also don't forget a number of airlines have checkin counters at Kowloon Station which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We are delighted to know that you appreciate our hotel location with adjacent to MTR station and free shuttle to ride you to Airport Express station. Your kind remarks on our helpful staff will be a stimulator for us to serve even better. We also understand your concerned on cereals selection at breakfast. Your valuable comment will be passed on to our chef for consideration.

We are happy to know that you will come back soon. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel met our needs perfectly, although a shame that Internet per hour is 40 dollars when it is free in a lot of surrounding cafes etc.

Rooms clean, also a 2 minute walk from a metro station and bakeries (great for a cheap breakfast). Location is ideal being at the top of Nathan road. A few metro stops from most attractions and a we once took a walk down to the ferry port/ laser show area and it takes about half hour with interesting shops along the way.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of the staff spoke English and were good with travel advice.
Food was maybe a bit overpriced but we never actually ate there so it could have been amazing...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zozocrazymofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews