We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cityview Hong Kong
Nearby Hotels
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
$267
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$234
$166
Cordis Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$603
$330
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$127
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$108
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$178
$129
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$143
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$97
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$157
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,863)
Filter reviews
2,863 results
Traveler rating
860
1,443
449
73
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
1,443
449
73
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyau ma tei mtrladies marketmtr stationpremier roomnathan roadeconomy roomcity view hotelnew wingtemple streetfree upgradeexcellent locationcircle kconvenient locationminute walkwalking distancenight marketairport express
Filter
Updating list...
1,708 - 1,713 of 2,863 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I spend few days in this hotel and my impressions are very good. The hotel is situated on a very good location, walk-away from all the things that are worth to be seen in Hong Kong. (Ladies Street, Temple Street...)
Inside, it is quiet, it has quite a good view (if you get a room in a higher position).
Stuff are friendly and nice, rooms are clean and ok.

Overall, I would recommend it as a great value hotel for your stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drDB_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and surrounding shopping areas. Thank you for your kind words on our friendly and nice staff. We will pass on your compliments to the concerned departments.

Lastly, thank you for your referral to others to stay in The Cityview. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

On my second visit to Hong Kong, we stayed in The Cityview hotel from September 14 to 17, 2012. You can get to this hotel via the airport express bus, this is the first stop of the K5 route. This hotel is located 10secs away (not exaggerated) from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station exit A2.

Thirsty? Just walk across the street and find a 7-11 convenience store. Hungry? Just walk on Nathan road and be welcomed by numerous restaurants and fastfood chains. The nearest is just 1 minute away, i forgot the name, but it served rice toppings and dim sums. Don't want to try asian dishes? don't worry, KFC and Burger King is just a few steps away.

Are you in Hong Kong for shopping? Then this is a great place to stay. The famous Tung Choi Street (Ladies market), Fa Yuen Street (Sports Street), and Sai Yeung Choi Street (area for gadgets) is just walking distance away from the hotel. Because of its proximity to the shopping area, you can shop every night!

How about the hotel rooms? Yes, the rooms are small, approximately 7 feet by 10 feet for the "Superior Room". The rooms are adequately furnished and maintained. Bathrooms are clean. My only issue is that, there is no free wifi.

***Common Cityview management, this is the "Internet Age", offer free wifi. If not, offer free cable internet, we will bring our own wireless router.

How much are the room rate? During my stay, I was charged HKD 990 per night plus charges (around USD 127). Cheap? I don't know, it depends on your standards. For me, it was worth every cent.

Hoping that all the future guests of The Cityview hotel find my review helpful.

Room Tip: Traveling with your children? Ask for the interconnecting rooms. Room 1017 and 1019. But be aware that room 1019 does not have a window.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosePaoloNoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and nearby attractions. Your concerned on offering free wifi is brought to our management's consideration.

We are happy to know that your overall stay is value for money. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stay in The Cityview in Sep 2012, this hotel is very convenient to almost everything be it shopping or food, all within walking distant away. Ladies Street nite market is only 5 to 7 mins walk. Yau Ma Te MTR is just 2 mins walk, 7 eleven and supermarket is also nearby. Will definitely choose Cityview again when I go to HK again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Case_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are delighted to hear that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location. We are glad to hear that you will definitely choose The Cityview for accommodation in your next visits to Hong Kong.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place ticked all the boxes for me - namely:
- Clean, decent sized room. May be small for some but it's spacious compared to the other shoeboxes I've stayed in Hong Kong, and it seemed to have been recently refurbished.
- Quiet, consistently working air conditioning
- New shower with good water pressure and quick, consistent hot water
- Decent TV channels
- Excellent location - right next to Yau Ma Tei MTR station, buses and walking distance to Mongkok shopping, Temple St night market, and other locations. Airport bus stops directly outside, and you can also get a free transfer from the hotel from the Kowloon Airport Express station.

Staff were very friendly - my only gripe is that the Wi-Fi is not free. I really don't like when hotels rip you off by skimping on this - it's 2012 and it's a necessity. Still, I would stay here again despite this.

My tip is to walk 5 minutes around the corner to One2Free and get a prepaid mobile broadband SIM card for $100HKD (comes with $100HKD of value). You can get a day of unlimited 3G (7.2MBPS) data for $28HKD, as opposed to $140HKD the hotel charge! Convenience stores sell this SIM card too but most of them don't have it.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the hotel wi-fi, go and buy a One2Free prepaid mobile broadband SIM instead.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for writing such an encouraging review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciate our hotel's convenient location and nearby shopping area. Your positive words on our friendly service staff will stimulate them to serve even better. We will keep it up. Your comment on free wifi service will be put in consideration.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cityview Hong Kong is in a very convenient location, just next to Yaumatei MTR station. Guest may take MTR to access most of the popular attractions in HK, walking distance to Ladies street & Temple street. etc....
Cityview Hong Kong 's room is clean and tidy. Value for money hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful especially concierge. Highly recommend to your friends.

Room Tip: Premier room are large and sunny
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ming m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your time to write such a positive review. We are glad to know that you appreciate the hotel's convenient location and nearby attractions. Thank you for your kind words on our staff services. We will keep it up.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and your recommendation to your friends. We are looking forward to serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews