We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #32 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice location for shopping!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I greatly appreciate our early check in on our first day since we had two kids with us on our trip. Room was very spacious and loved it instantly upon entry. Room view wasn't that good though. Breakfast was nice with lots of choices. Situated atop Harbour City, one of the biggest malls in HK, this hotel is perfect for shoppers especially women.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    409
    94
    31
    13
See reviews for
440
190
43
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family stayed at Marco Polo Gateway from Dec. 26-29, 2013. From the online reservation we made from the Philippines to our departure everything was professionally handled by the able online system and the friendly and courteous staff.

This was our 4th stay at the Marco Polo hotels in Hongkong. We've tried MP Hongkong and MP Gateway. Both give you the value for money you deserve. The rooms are comfortable (they have the capsule single serve Nespresso machines!), the place is safe and since it is within the Harbor City mall, all the stores are within walking distance. There's a grocery and foodcourt nearby (City Super) and the MRT Tsim Sha Tsui station is accessible via Haiphong Road!
If you're taking the Airport Express, it will stop right at the doorstep of MP Gateway!

For us, it will always be the Marco Polo Hotels when in Hong Kong. It's like home away from home.

Room Tip: We got the Premiere Room and we were upgraded to the Continental floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinSan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We've been staying at the hotel during our past business and family vacations in Hong Kong so I've witnessed the transformation of the hotel from one whose only advantage was its central location in Kowloon, to one where I would definitely return and recommend. The renovation of the hotel was recently completed so one can now soundly sleep or rest for any time of the day without being bothered by the sound of hammers and other construction equipment. The interior of the rooms, including the bathrooms, were nicely decorated and are now refurbished with new furniture and LED lights and TV's .The new credit card type room keys, aside from being convenient to carry, present an added security feature when accessing the elevators. The hotel restaurants have also vastly improved in terms of size, ambiance, available choices, and food quality. Gone are the leaking toilet seats, irritating smell of the carpet, and the traditional keys with five inch key chains which always prove to be a burden to keep in ones pocket. Our rooms also had Nespresso machines and they proved to be a big plus for me. The lady staff at the front desk also promptly reminded me about the mobile phone which I accidentally left in one of the rooms on our way to the airport. Tnx! :) Can't think of any complaint at the moment so all I can think about is our next stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Gateway Marco Polo Hotels for as long as I can remember. It's current renovation is quite a welcomed and much needed improvement. Rooms and bathrooms have been well updated. The addition of the Nespresso machine is a much appreciated touch. Towels are fluffy and bed-size are generous compared to other Hongkong hotels.

Service and disposition of staffs have already improved. They are a lot friendlier and more accommodating. The ambiance of the lobby is also a lot brighter. Rates are a bit on the pricey side but I do hope that they could come up with a better rate scheme so staying in this hotel won't be unattainable in the future.

We had breakfast buffet at their newly renovated restaurant (Three Canton), it was quite disappointing. The spread was limited and flat for such a hotel and it was not that inviting. It could do with some changes to live up with their current image of being a modernised and improved hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimini07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mum
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I just completed my first trip to Hong Kong. After reading the review in tripadvisor, I had booked this hotel. We were a large group of 8 people (4 adults, 1 senior citizen, 2 children & 1 infant :)). The hotel's location is just amazing. It really suited the diverse set of people in our group. The room were very good. The twin bed room was spacious. The facilities in the room were adequate.
However, I believe they should definitely include breakfast in the package. With out it, the price seems to be on the higher side.
People going to stay in this hotel must know that the accessibility to the Tsim Sha Tsui station is a major major plus. Also, chungking mansion is a must know place for Indians. You will get good Indian food here, including veg.
The hotel staff was very helpful. You can get tickets for ocean park and disney land in the hotel itself. The house keeping staff was very prompt and understanding.
The only complaint I have is with their check in time. We reached at 8:30 and had to wait for 1 hour 30 mins for the first room . We got all three rooms by 12 :(. Their standard check-in time is 2 pm, however, for most of the Indian travelers this time would be unsuitable.

Room Tip: They ask for premier room upgrade during check-in. I did not go for it because it was out of my budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buds82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here for a short honeymoon. Carol of front office was so kind to give us a complimentary bottle of red wine and some pralines when she found we just got married. Definitely a nice touch.

We have travelled to HongKong numerous times already but Gateway Marco Polo is my favorite due to the following reasons:
Great location - hotel is on top of harbour city mall and a 5 minute walk from star ferry terminal or Nathan road.
Big rooms - by HKG standards you have spacious room that are newly renovated. The mattress was a bit too soft for my taste but my wife liked it. There is also a nespresso machine on the room with 3 free capsules per day.
Excellent buffet breakfast - big selection on quality food items both continental and Asian. Definitely worth it.
Competent staff - the hotel gets very busy with so many staff but all staff were attentive and efficient.

The hotel is a bit pricey but you can get a good deal during non-peak periods. Gateway Margo Polo is definitely our preferred hotel in HKG.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel with newly renovated rooms which we truly love. Nespresso machine was a nice touch. Room was clean, bed and pillows very comfy and we were also upgraded from superior to deluxe room.

Location was right in the middle of Harbour City shopping mall and in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui. Convenient to move around as the Star ferry was just nearby. Staff was friendly. Food was easy to find. If you're into brands, this is the place to stay.

My only disappointment was there was no pool. Though we were allowed to use the pool at their sister hotel, it was somewhat an inconvenience trekking to another hotel just to swim. Other than that, I don't see how one can go wrong choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz4sahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#40 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#77 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hullett House
Hullett House
#9 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing