We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #39 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our group of four (mainly female seniors) stayed here for 10 nights last week. I had previously stayed in Big Sister Marco Polo Hong Kong with a harbour view and pool. Gateway is right up there. Not much of a view but you could use the MPHK pool if you could be bothered. We had adjoining rooms. The rooms have all been refurbished; big and very comfortable double beds (2 in our room), couch and coffee table, ergonomic chair for sitting at the desk end of the long sideboard, lovely roomy bathroom. We were upgraded to a higher (but same) room because one of our group had stayed there last year with her husband with free wifi, daily fruit bowl and sometimes we got a morning newspaper, sometimes we didn't. The evening staff were fabulous but really busy. We found out why. The morning staff were inconsistent. Sometimes we didn't get replacement face washers, teabags, etc. So our evening lady was flat out supplying these. She was always wonderfully cheerful but obviously rushed. We didn't eat at the hotel but there is a very good supermarket nearby where we bought orange juice, milk, yoghurt, etc for breakfast, and mixers for our drinks. The rooms were surprisingly sound proof! The hotel has a menu of pillows - they provide 3 feather types per bed, which were perfect for me. Oh, and if you are a coffee drinker, one of those coffee machines with coffee pods. Two free bottles of water are supplied each day, and the bathroom supplies are first class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the superior room which is huge! 2 double beds with a sofa at the corner. With the recent refurbishment, the hotel looks swanky!

Fruits were provided daily, the staff was very helpful and polite. Just above the Harbour city mall which has everything, next to the ferry terminals and 24 hour food outlet across the streets and the MTR a short walk away - this hotel is perfect for any first time traveller to HK!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank vivacircus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have recently enjoyed our third visit to the Continental Club of the Gateway Hotel, Hong Kong.
As we have come to expect it was an excellent experience. We stayed for seven nights.
The staff at the Continental Club maintain their outstanding service. They are all caring, competent and passionate about their work, and always have a pleasant attitude.
We book our stays through the Supervisor and then enjoy every moment of our visit, from the efficient check in, to the comforts of the Continental Club lounge through the day and/or evening. The check out is a very efficent part of the operation as well.
The staff get to know the guests and their preferences. They have been very helpful in service at the club lounge, also in advising on local attractions and booking them if required.
We were pleased with the upgrade of the rooms and will look forward to the upgraded lounge during our next visit.
We look forward to staying at the Gateway Hotel Continental Club on our next visit to Hong Kong and recommend it as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location at Harbour City, Kowloon is excellent if you have to do business that side. Nice new renovation with well designed and appointed rooms.Staff are efficient and very helpful throughout. Space comes at a premium in Hong Kong but my room was very spacious with a great bed and excellent shower. I didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on that. The hotel does not offer any Leisure facilities.
All in all a very satisfying stay and I would certainly return if I need to be in Kowloon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

after staying here for more than 10 times already from the mid nineties to last july 2013, it was only this year that mt family was pleasantly surprised with the full renovation of the hotel. from the lobby to the rooms and interiors, everything has been upgraded and renovated. and it looks great. it transformed the old hotel into something more current, chic, stylish and worth the amount of money they charge. special thanks to duty manager andy for paying special attention to my family's annual trip to celebrate our mothers bday. we look forward to our next visit next year.

Room Tip: rooms are all new with the bathrooms renovated and all looking fresh. club floor rooms are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The location is certainly one of the best for both business and leisure.

Rooms were OK. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the room was small (although most rooms in HK are like that).

Most hotels have TV speakers in the bathrooms but not this one. I like to be able to listen to the news while I'm in the bathroom.

I usually leave my overnight clothes on my bed and am used to having them nicely folded when I return to the room, the same goes for my toiletries in the bathroom. The cleaning staff didn't seem to want to do either. Nothing major, but its just the added touch which is missing.

I would prefer the Shangri-La over this hotel any day. That said, it is also less than half the price of Shangri-La. Overall, considering the location & price, it isn't a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuneerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed several times in this hotel because of its proximity to the client's office. Marco Polo Gateway is in the center of the Harbour City mall and is conveniently one of the main stops of the Airport Express shuttle.
Each accommodation was really spectacular, 5-star quality hotel. The last time I was upgraded free to a suite facing the busy Canton road though you wouldn't hear the noise much.

Room has:
- king-sized bed
- walk-in dressing room
- separate bathroom and toilet
- mini bar
- TV with cable channel
- free wi-fi and cabled internet
- electric pot with tea/coffee
- room safe
- lots of cabinets/storage

If it only has a free breakfast and weren't expensive compared with the other hotels in the area, I would really prefer this hotel due to its proximity to transportation and everything really.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#44 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,245 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#82 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,834 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#54 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,443 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#40 of 725 in Hong Kong
305 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $211 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City – Hong Kong's largest shopping complex – Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar.Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing