We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I love the new look of Gateway Hotel. The only reason that always made me book somewhere else these past several years us because of its old interiors. Now that it's been renovated, I love the clean Zen interiors.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    416
    98
    33
    13
See reviews for
454
196
43
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My family and I stayed in Gateway Marcopolo, Kowloon for 6 days, last August 2013 in a suite room.
Location wise, i found this hotel - superb. Lots of places nearby to shop and to eat.
Friendly service, outstanding breakfast
Star ferry is just around the corner.
On negative side, most of the hotels in Hongkong are not child friendly. it's quite terrible if you are using a stroller for your children.

overall. we'd love to go back to this hotel again.
Cheers!

Room Tip: Suite Room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aindartono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel located in a strategic area in Tsim Tsa Shui. It's very convenient because the hotel was connected to the Harbour City Mall and also very close to the MTR station.

The staff is very helpful. There were a typhoon signal-8 during our vacation, and the receptionist inform us thoroughly about the situation.

The breakfast food tastes really good. Especially the dim sum section. My son was really happy with the food.

The room even though was small, but it complements my needs, such as a very wide sink table, very wide table to put all of my son's amenities. Nice bed and we got a perfect view of the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Best decision on my part to book here. The free airport shuttle (K2 bus) drop off point is directly in front of the hotel lobby which is very convenient. There is an elevator exit to the shops in the ocean terminal for my shopping needs. Also it was very accessible to the MTR exits (nearest is Sun Coast Plaza, from which you can access the various exits of the Tsim Sha Tsui station). Best of all, the staff was very helpful in terms of my requests. In terms of the room, it had everything i needed: wifi connection, toiletries, comfortable beds and privacy. Definitely worth coming back here.

Room Tip: A gateway deluxe room is enough. It has all the basics for leisure travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

High quality in terms of service and the hotel itself. You wouldn't expect anything less of a marco polo brand of hotel. Zen minimalist interiors, clean and comfortable rooms. This would be the perfect place to stay when your in hongkong for shopping and leisurely trips since its situated on top of the mall, so if you want to shop, its very convenient. And it has a breathtaking view of the harbor. If you wanna go around the city, there train station is only a block from hotel.

Room Tip: The best view are the rooms overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff left no stones left unturned to make sure all comforts for your stay
were excellent , from the moment I arrived at 2:30 am they were
so nice and ready to take care of any and all requests.
The staff was so nice , I have never fell so safe and well cared for.
Thank you so much it was a dream .

Room Tip: Any and all rooms wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I love Marco Polo Gateway. We've been staying here since we were young but for the past few years we haven't been back because it slowly became pricey. But coming back here was a real treat! Worth the price we paid for. Will definitely be back :)

Rooms - newly renovated. Super big beds (as usual), Bathroom is great. The room now comes with a nespresso machine too!

Location - Attached to the Harbour City Mall. You can also cross the bridge way to get to Silvercord (very helpful when its raining) where you can find H&M, Ipuddo, Din Tai Fung and other good restos. Tonkichi is also just across the building (The Toy House).

Service - Super! no complains. They allowed us to check in early when the room was available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilcozym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#41 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,133 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,679 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hullett House
Hullett House
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing