We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is great to return to this wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #35 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It is great to return to this wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After 10 days in Shanghai, we came to Hong Kong and stay at this wonderful hotel where I stayed twice before.

The hotel has been completely refurbished and it is a hotel for the 21st Century modern living.

The staff were extremely well trained, friendly and professional. They made us feel welcome and their language skills were just amazing.

We were lucky to have a suite this visit. All the rooms were beautifully designed and the light fittings were gorgeous.

We were delighted that there were 2 televisions in the suite. We were also delighted that there was a Nespresso machine for us to enjoy.

The bathroom was really somewhere to enjoy as there was a separate bath as well as a beautiful shower room.

Breakfast was served at 3rd floor with all the amazing food one could or not possible to imagine.

I shall return again as this was truly a home away from home!

Room Tip: Our suite has harbor views. A scenery that is great for people who loves the sea! Please speak wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    416
    98
    33
    13
See reviews for
454
196
43
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed for a few days in this hotel only this april 2013. i've been coming in and out of hongkong for the past 15 years, and have stayed in a number of hotels all over hong kong. i've stayed in a couple of 5-star hotels and marco polo gateway equals them, and surpasses them in taking care of their guests. the hotel staff are so good, they could anticipate your needs. the people of hong kong are not generally hospitable but the staff in this hotel are top notch. from the front desk, to the doormen, the housekeepers, the people at the business center, the concierge, and to those who assist you when you are about to depart. i love the room. my best stay ever!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinay Traveler
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I am in Hongkong rather often and this is hands down, my favorite hotel! Location-wise it is idyllic for shopping, shopping, shopping and eating! What else does one go to HongKong for anyway. Still undergoing renovation, if you can get one of the new rooms, they are worth paying for. You never even have to leave the Harbor City complex to enjoy the best that HongKong has to offer. Hint: there's even an adjacent bridge way that will take you to Din Tai Fung in the Silvercord building in a few easy steps. It's the best!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last March. It's my second stay here and i enjoyed my stay more this time because the hotel has just been newly refurbished. I love the lobby and newly renovated superior room. The service and staff are excellent! The in-room wifi is very good too! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesslorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel March 16-18 pre cruise.On arrival the staff were very friendly and courteous.Our room was quite large and very clean with a fruit bowl which was a nice touch.
Nice central location and front lobby opened into a large mall.We really enjoyed the extensive variety of food in the buffet restaurant and friendly efficient restaurant staff.The lobby was somewhat cold,no armchairs,just a couple of what appeared to be long slabs of wood to sit on and not very comfortable.It gave the impression you were not supposed to linger in the lobby.
This is a very minor gripe in what is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is the heaven for shoppers. You can find local brands and hi-end brandname brands within you're walking distance. Furthermore, you are just right next to the ferry pier great view to take a picture both day and night. You can walk down the street to the cultural centre within five mins and thereare many great restaurants along the way. MTR is just 5-10mins walk from the hotel. The hotel room is quite big especially the bathroom very big compare to other HK Hotels.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank QingQing K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose the Gateway as a pre stay to a cruise and found the location to be excellent.

The hotel is served by the payable airport shuttle, we thought this would be a drop off at each and every hotel but we were divided into small groups by area, which made the journey quicker than expected. The desk is easily identified at the airport and from that point you are organised by staff.

The Gateway is located adjacent to a shopping mall of high end shops, but the outside streets offer everyday local shops. A park is within walking distance where people do their early morning exercises. Many attractions were within walking distance.

We chose a club room which provided evening drinks and snacks, the curry was very enjoyable. Breakfast was also included and served in the club room.

Staff were very courteous and even mailed a parcel to a friend which arrived the same day.

The room was clean and contemporary and provided for all our needs. If in Hong Kong again we would choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Club room good choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPoloUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#40 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,133 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,683 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex - Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. The celebrated renovation also included the hotel's Continental Club Lounge and lobby, as well as the restaurant, Three on Canton and al fresco dining area, Be on Canton. The Continental Club is the epitome of sleek design, intuitive services and state-of-the-art amenities. Guests of The Continental Club can enjoy full access and exclusive benefits from the Continental Club Lounge, to include complimentary daily breakfast, afternoon refreshments and evening cocktails and butler service. Located in one of the world's culinary capitals, the hotel has created signature outlets such as Three on Canton which is the ultimate gourmet destination, with an impressively designed space of 20,000 square feet to dine, wine, lounge and network. Discover the most stylish al fresco dining terrace on Canton Road, dubbed 'Be on Canton'. Be part of a hip and happening venue that offers resort-style dining, cocktails and aperitifs served with delectable bites, or shake things up with an instant party. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Fitness buffs have access to the nearby Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel for a swim at the outdoor swimming pool or work out at Prince Hotel's 24 hour gym. True to its promise of an unbeatable location, Gateway Hotel lies on the junction of Canton Road and Haiphong Road in Kowloon and is a short walk from the bus terminal, Star Ferry and MTR Subway Station. The Gateway Hotel is an approximately 35-minute drive from the airport, or an MTR journey that will take around 55 minutes. Guests can also take the hotel shuttle bus which takes about 40 minutes to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing