We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #38 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I am travelling with twin babies of 11 months old, so a more spacious hotel is necessary. Marco Polo Gateway manage to give me a normal room with 2 baby cots, but we still have room for our many excess baggages like a twin baby stroller! The hotel is inside a shopping mall so access to restaurants and shops are easy, which is essential to us provided that we're taking 2 monsters aboard. We didn't check out other parts of the hotel due to insufficient time, but I really appreciate their spacious room. I hope that after their refurbishment the rooms will be better, and I will definitely be a return customer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Gemjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had never heard of the Marco Polo chain, but we decided to give this hotel a go given that we got a great rate for a 3 night stay. First off, there are 3 MP hotels on the same road (Hong Kong; Gateway; Prince), so it's worth remembering that and heading for the right hotel.

Our room was on the 15th floor, the same floor that includes the club lounge. Check-in was at a dedicated desk on the 15th floor and the welcome drink and cold towel was a welcome gift given the heat that HK can generate. The room was nicely laid out and gave us partial views of HK Island, which looks stunning when lit up at night.

The bathroom was huge and the hotel caters for all your needs with emery boards, cotton wool, soaps, shampoos and toothbrushes waiting for you in a nice, neat silver tray, should you have forgotten to pack anything from home.

The room itself had a big desk, big TV, a mini-bar, safe and a comfortable bed. The only downside is that internet access is only available via a wired connection - not very good if you come armed with tablets, iphones or ipads. However, the lounge down the corridor offered free wifi access, so I managed to get online in there.

The lounge was lovely, too. Breakfast was very comprehensive (guests can order waffles, pancakes, eggs and congee - all of which are cooked to order). Evening drinks and canapés were very good also. However, my highlight was afternoon tea with great scones, cakes all complemented with a pot of nice cha. It is well worth upgrading to a room that gives you access to the club lounge.

At every turn , the staff were courteous and on hand to help out with tips and advice on how to get the most from the hotel and Hong Kong in general. The only negative aspect to the hotel is that you have to go to the Hong Kong hotel (5 minutes walk down Canton Road towards the clock tower) in order to use the pool there - the Gateway does not have a pool. Also, the member of staff on duty the few days I went to the pool was extremely miserable looking. Perhaps, she had had a few bad days, but she never once cracked a smile.

All in all, I very much enjoyed our stay at the Gateway. Its location, staff and service levels are to be admired.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

located inside a huge mall so shopping is convenient.
everything you need is just steps away.
grocery, bookstore, movie theaters , restaurants , vuitton , gucci, prada, all inside the mall.
the ferry is a few blocks away and will take you to hong kong island.
hong kong hotels are quite expensive so this hotel is quite affordable although it gets very expensive...as high as usd 400 during peak season

rooms are ok ... i would say 3 and a half stars

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here during the HOFEX convention.
The hotel is located at Causeway Bay and is the perfect hotel for one who wants to do some serious shopping.
Luxurious brands are located in this part of Hong Kong.
It is very convenient for those attending an event at the Convention Center - all they need to do is ride the ferry and a few blocks away, you are there.
Next time I attend a convention, I will stay here again.
Next time I want to do some serious shopping, Gateway's for me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

1. Check in was professional and brief. Friendly staff. People in HK doesn't speak fluent English and we felt comfortable in the hotel because we can communicate in conversational english.
2. Room had a good size. Just enough for our family.
3. Breakfast was perfect. Croissants are perfectly baked. Hash browns heavenly. Fruits were fresh and sweet. Egg station can deliver - I ordered eggs benedict - and they served it really well. Food was perfect. Staff was friendly.
4. We were well assisted by the concierge - reminding us on our tour time, where to wait for our shuttle, taking care of our luggage - it was a fantastic lobby hospitality - something you can't see in a normal hongkong environment.

Overall, Marco Polo Gateway makes tourists feel very welcomed and comfortable. I'd like to stay there again when I visit HK.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I travel to Hong Kong at least 3 times a year for business. While I randomly choose hotels base on the proximity to my actual agenda, I never hesitate to keep coming back to Marco Polo Hotels. The rooms are now newly renovated and now have a classier feel to it and the service seems to keep improving each year as well. The location is exceptional, being located close to the ferry station, which makes traveling around different parts of Hong Kong very easy, and fast, not to mention quite cheap. It is also located to one of the biggest chain of malls in Hong Kong including Harbor City and Ocean Park.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WickedWitchoftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

nice hotel, within the mall. easy access to food and shopping. across H&M. and lots of food trips along haipong road going to the mtr station. if you're looking for electronics try suntec store just beside 7-11 along haipong road to get the best deal in town, look for Danny!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#49 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,273 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#83 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,886 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Pacific Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#46 of 726 in Hong Kong
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $203 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City – Hong Kong's largest shopping complex – Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar.Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing