We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Ranked #28 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 18, 2014

In Hong Kong, don't expect your accommodations to be spacious, especially if you're on a budget. Yesinn Hostel in Fortress Hill is no exception. Once you get in your room, you don't need to turn your head to see the bed, the bathroom door and the mini tables. I'm not complaining though. Despite being limited in size, the room is very clean and modern.

Yesinn rooms are in two buildings. Yep. The check in counter is in the main building, while you have to go round back to get to the majority of the rooms. I can't say much about the building, it IS shoddy but entering YesInn transports you to a hip, young place.

However! Room walls are thin, and you can hear people going about outside the hallways. On our first night, we actually heard a couple having loud... activites. With ther next door Chinese tenant out his head on his door in disbelief. Pretty funny if you ask me.

Staff is very nice. You can leave your luggage with them safely if you arrive earlier than your check in time. They are also very helpful.

Location is ace. It's a leisurely stroll to the Fortress Hill MTR. Also near 7-11 and Mickey Ds. It is also located on a much more quieter side of Hong Kong (if that exists).

And the price is insanely affordable. Will definitely choose this over Chung King anyday.

Will book again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsyahata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 326 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Room was spacious for three people, not the usual shoe box kind you'd expect in Hong Kong. It had three single beds, a restroom and tv. wifi is reachable though only in the common area and its pretty fast. There's a compartment at the common area for you to leave your bags for free after check out time and before check in time. Room was clean, with a big window with a view of the city. The staff are friendly and helpful--mostly Filipinos. Good location too, just a few stops from Causeway Bay, and near some shopping stores and dining, and is also walking distance to bus stop going to the airport and the Fortress Hill MTR station. I would recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizRanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The dorm rooms were nice. The staff were ok. I think its one of the better places to stay in hong kong on the "cheap". Curtains made sleeping more cosy. Really good and nice people in my dorm. Close to most things. Good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank FlyingPhilA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This hostell doesnt have a glamorous entrance...but it is a hostel in one of the denses cities in the world! For price and central location its brilliant. Booked a single room with bathroom for 10days which cost uk£200 which compared to the nearest hotel...thats how.much you paid for a night. Its got a tv with english chanels and chinese, hi speed wifi, (in hallway) microwave and fridge, the staff where friendly and it was clean! Will say however its location is spread between a few buildings in the area usually in mixed tenure buildings, as it was my first time in HK it was different, but its a place to sleep and relax its perfect. Overall rooms are small, beds are short (im 6ft 4), there no view, language barrier difficult, HOWEVER its cheap, clean, central, and overall a good hostel for HK

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank lifewith_and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was surprised by some of the negative reviews, but I realize that it's hard to submit an accurate review of a place if you haven't stayed at any other hostels in the same city. In general, it's not fair to compare prices or accommodation to hostels in other countries. Long story short, if you've stayed in ANY of the hostels on hong kong island (or especially kowloon in the Chungking Masions) you'll appreciate YesInn's atmosphere/ location/ staff. I've stayed at YesInn 4 times through out the years. Comparing the living situation with local friends' apartments... there's a reason i stay at YesInn rather than my friends' place. In hk, apartments are very small and space is extremely limited, Yesinn does a great job with the space this city allows them. This is no 5 star hotel, but comparing it to local apartments and hostels, i have yet to stay at a better place, and there are great eats and transportation right down stairs!

Room Tip: the private rooms across the street from the main building is renovated like a hotel. loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Definitely will stay here again! I stayed in a private room across the street from their check in building. It was lovely and renovated like a hotel. I'm comparing my experience and price point to other Hong Kong (including Kowloon) hostels.

Extremely nice and helpful staff. Location close to MTR, busses, restaurants, supermarkets, fruit stands, and anything else you might need. I really enjoyed getting fresh squeezed juices and fruit right outside the building entrance.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shadowplaybyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

There were 5 of us travelling together to HK. We booked 2 ensuite rooms. One was the triple room located at 15th floor of the main building, same floor with the receptionist counter. Another room (twin sharing) was located at the 5th floor of the same block. We stayed there for 5 days.

The room was quite small but the rate was cheap and reasonable for a hostel in HK island. The location was good in Fortress Hill area and nearby North Point where we can see the local people lives. The hostel was conveniently located within 5 minutes walk to the nearest Fortress Hill MTR station. Bus stop for Airport Shuttle and bus to Stanley Market & Repulse Bay was just down the hostel block. Tram station was also nearby. There was a convinient store, bank and pharmacy as well nearby the hostel.

The receptionist was friendly and helpful. Security was pretty good and access to Level 5 was by a pin code at the entrance door. I prefered the hostel area as it was not crowded like in Causeway Bay or at the Chungking Mansion.The ensuite rooms provide privacy for us. There was just a small living area with sofa, microwave, hot water and an area where they put the computers. Wifi coverage was good as well.

The bed was good with clean sheet. However, the room floor was not so clean. I found a cockroach in my rooms. The housekeeping did not clean the room for the whole of our stay. Toilet size was just nice and clean. Hot shower was also good.

There was a luggage storage at 15th floor for early check in guest and another luggage storage at 5th floor for the check out guest. However, i don't think the staffs monitor the luggage.

Overall i was satisfied with my stay at Yes Inn and definitely recommend this hostel.

Tips:- Please request a room with window & bring your own towel. The hostel did not provide a towel and you might need to rent it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 163 in Hong Kong
603 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#26 of 163 in Hong Kong
137 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#24 of 163 in Hong Kong
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#21 of 163 in Hong Kong
168 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel
Dragon Hostel
#15 of 163 in Hong Kong
392 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 163 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill

Address: No.294 King's Road | Flat B-15F, Front Block, Continental Mansion, Fortress Hill, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $44 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yesinn Fortress Hill is a small, clean, comfortable, fresh, convenient and uncomplicated choice for budget business travelers who are looking for warm, local homely atmosphere and affordable quality hostel. HK Government licensed hostel Easy & convenient transportation access to most of the local attractions by subway, bus or ferry Wide choices of cheap & good foods within walking distance Cozy, colorful rooms and dormitories with comfortable beds in a quiet, safe & friendly neighborhood Choice of private triple/double/twin/single en-suite, or 8 bed dormitories 24 hour security monitoring system We offer travelers a relaxed and comfortable stay in a clean, stylish, friendly and warm atmosphere service apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesinn Hotel Hong Kong
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing