We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Ranked #28 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you need to be in Hong Kong to get something done and you need to be in this area, this place is good enough and the average econo-price. It's not in a shady area and it's close to the subway and a Starbucks. It's a bit hard to find when you get off the subway.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    115
    81
    25
    33
See reviews for
31
61
82
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you're trying to find an affordable place in Hong Kong and don't want to stay at the infamous Chunking Mansions and such, this is the place to come. Location is good, subway will take you anywhere and it's just a few minutes away. Plenty of dining options - and pretty cheap too! Not everything in Hong Kong is expensive, just the accommodation.

Hostel is pretty basic, but that's what we expected. Hot showers, big beds and, a bit surprisingly, large rooms! We expected really small ones, it seems to be the norm in HK. Staff was nice and everything worked pretty well. Floor is just plain concrete and the overall appearance of the rooms isn't really inviting, but it's very clean and does the job. We even had a (really small) window!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosettaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here during a solo trip to HK in May. I chose it because of its location on Hong Kong Island itself. I stayed in a building where the hostel has rooms across the road from Continental Mansion where reception is located, which was fine, except a little inconvenient if you need a towel or replacement towel which have to be "rented" from reception. On my arrival, the receptionist failed to mention this when I checked in, or before taking me across the road to find my room, therefore I needed to make a second trip across the road and up 15 floors to reception and back again!
The rooms are clean and adequate.....but the beds come up small if you are tall.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a towel before you head to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you can afford more than Mansions on Nathans Rd - take it. But don't expect miracles. Building and rooms are only a bit better but it's situated in much more safer area.
It's less than 3 min walk from the Subway Station (Fortress Hill).
It's open 24h. There's a guy from the security on the entrance to this building.
Fridge on the corridor and free wifi provided.

Room Tip: I stayed with my friends in a 6 bed room. Small private bathroom. Big window with a view on the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hare_otoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in the hostel on my first trip to Hong Kong back in 2011 and liked it. So, I returned back to the place on my recent trip to the island. Nothing has changed and I still like it a lot. Clean, spacious, and located near Fortress Hill MTR Station as well as other public transportation, this is a good spot to call your base in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Chuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Little bit small but comfortable enough to spend one night.
Very close to metro and there were a lot of things to see and eat around.
If you are looking for fine hostel with reasonable price, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genna_KIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived late at night by taxi. The place was a little difficult to find just due to lack of signage. We were able to find it relatively quickly considering the time of night. We were able to check in just fine, we really appreciated Yesinn having a person at the desk even so late.

We booked a basic private twin for two, and the room was obviously a closet-turned-room. We were able to peek at another room and that one at least was much nicer. Overall we felt clean and secure. The hostel is very affordable, the building is well-watched, and the area is awesome.

I recommend this hostel to backpackers. Couples might want to ensure they have a double. We slept on different bunks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#5 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#30 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#24 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#19 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill

Property: Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill
Address: No.294 King's Road | Flat B-15F, Front Block, Continental Mansion, Fortress Hill, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yesinn Fortress Hill is a small, clean, comfortable, fresh, convenient and uncomplicated choice for budget business travelers who are looking for warm, local homely atmosphere and affordable quality hostel. HK Government licensed hostel Easy & convenient transportation access to most of the local attractions by subway, bus or ferry Wide choices of cheap & good foods within walking distance Cozy, colorful rooms and dormitories with comfortable beds in a quiet, safe & friendly neighborhood Choice of private triple/double/twin/single en-suite, or 8 bed dormitories 24 hour security monitoring system We offer travelers a relaxed and comfortable stay in a clean, stylish, friendly and warm atmosphere service apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesinn Hotel Hong Kong
Yesinn Hostel Fortress Hill Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing