We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #28 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was my first trip to Hong Kong so I cannot compare to any other hotel. However, the Renaissance (for the most part) met my needs. It's a standard upscale hotel with all of the amenities you would expect. I expect to stay here again next time I am in HK for business.

Pros:
- Convenient location (within 5-min walk of convention center, Central Plaza office tower, and Wanchai MTR)
- Speedy wifi
- Great breakfast selection (main lobby)
- Large hotel that somehow manages to feel small (I mean this in a good way!)
- Amazing floor-to-ceiling views of the harbour (binoculars provided!)

Cons:
- Breakfast at club level was not great (same limited selection every day including always-stale croissants)
- Fitness center is hard to get to (due to renovations)

One quick note: Be sure to ask the taxi driver to take you to the Renaissance Hotel in Wanchai. There is another (smaller, less luxurious) hotel called the "Harbour View" down the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LaPortuguesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

After residing in Hong Kong for 12 years I now visit several times a year. I have stayed in a majority of the cities 5 star hotels and finally discovered the Renaissance Harbour View and cannot use any other word but SUPURB .This property absolutely impressed me in every way,from exceptional rooms to outstanding service.Given my extensive knowledge of Hong Kong and it's hotels I have never experienced such perfection.
The location is excellent ,easy walk to both the subway and the ferry.The refurbishment has been achieved with amazing taste and refinement .My search for a quiet hotel room offering an uninterrupted nights sleep has finally been achieved.
I am rarely pleased but I must say this hotel pleased me in every way.!
More than recommended .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R170171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I haven't stayed in that hotel for a very long time and was quite surprised to see that it kept its great service touch while being able to renovate its rooms and public areas so nicely.

Although it's a big hotel, staff is really attentive and genuinely look after you during your stay.
Location is perfect, a 10mn away from MTR and a short cab ride to Central/Soho.
Breakfast buffet is also quite nice with a wide choice of everything, a bit crowded sometimes, this is where you know you are not boutique anymore.

The rooms have been renovated (I assume all of them) and have a very nice contemporary feel and seems spacious. The view over the Harbour is just stunning! Splurge and book one of this category! The only thing I don't like about this renovation is the "open window" of the bathroom into the bedroom. I just don't understand this architectural trend that is maybe pretty on the drawing but certainly not practical and leaves little room for romance!

Other than that you share facilities with hotel next door Grand Hyatt, but it worth it the pool is really nice and the gym really bright and open too!

Definitely a great property.

Room Tip: It is highly recommended that you take a Harbour view room, this view is just captivating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property for one night last fall and it was exactly what we wanted.

Upon arrival into our room we were given an upgrade along with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The room was very big with a fabulous view of the water.

Breakfast in the morning provided a large variety of options and was delicious.

I would definitely recommend this property to others and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This property is in a great location in the city. Harbor room views are beautiful. I swam laps in the really large outdoor pool. It is close to the MTR train to Kowloon. It is close to the Star Ferry which goes to Kowloon also. Last, it is close to the Wan Chai subway. It is a tally connected to the city center building. Best to have the hotel or someone write the hotel name in Chinese just to be sure with the taxi driver.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I was there for Christmas with the family, total of four in two rooms that could've been interconnected by a door that we kept close. Fantastic view from the 23rd floor, but the rooms were a little too small to be considered exceptional.
What was really SUPER was the breakfast that even is quite costly did substitute a full meal of the top quality!
Simming pool was shared with Hayatt Hotel and was cold so we did not used, it seems nice anyway. The staff was extremely efficient and kind. We were really satisfied thanks to the good price offer we got.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giamazzoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed for four nights in a harbour view on a room only basis. The hotel is located very near to the star ferry and therefore convenient to reach the main attractions. The hotel managed to lose our reservation which was annoying after a long journey from Dubai. We ate breakfast in the restuarant one morning and if the food wasn't eye watering the prices certainly were. Thereafter we used the walkway from the hotel to Starbucks across the road. I would recommend only because of the location and because we only stayed 4 nights.

Room Tip: Go for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhi_hkghv, General Manager at Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Barnton

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with few issues during your stay. The reservation process and buffet breakfast were unfortunately failed to meet your expectation, for which we sincerely apologize. Please contact me at rhi.hkghv.executive.office@renaissancehotels.com and we will look into the area of concern and work on improvements.

I gratefully look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards
Hans Loontiens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,973 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#31 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,388 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,327 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,769 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Address: 1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $217 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing