We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #29 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We got a room overlooking the convention center with a bird's view profile of a spaceship and the harbor. From across the harbor, we could view the best part of Kowloon. The hotel is centrally located and one can get to most places in less than 10 minutes by taxi. The breakfast buffet has a huge international selections but I would skip the Chinese foods there.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room looking over the harbor. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    923
    245
    58
    27
See reviews for
325
527
140
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you have to attend an event at HK Convention and Exhibition Centre, then look no further. Just book a room here and you will be delighted by the convenience and all. You will be the one with the sharpest attire as you are fresh from your room, unlike someone who took the MTR and walked from Wan Chai Station to HKCEC (personal experience from some months ago). You can also return to your room in the afternoon for a quick refresh if you feel you need that.

Will I stay here again? Certainly, next time I have business at HKCEC. But for other purposes I think Hong Kong has a lot more options for me to experiment with.

My stay at Renaissance Harbour View was during the New Year holidays. We booked two harbour view rooms with the hope of catching a glimpse of the fireworks the easy way (without having to battle with the crowd). One of the rooms we were given was on the 23rd floor and faced HKCEC squarely (northern direction) while the other one (mine) was a corner room on the 37th floor looking towards the northeast. Obviously mine had a better view of the harbour bend but it would have been of no good where fireworks were concerned as they are usually centered right in front of HKCEC. We chose to camp out at my friends' room for the countdown and were all rewarded with spectacular, unobstructed view of the fireworks (see enclosed pic). However, I would recommend the Intercontinental Hotel by the harbour on Kowloon side for this purpose. Our fireworks photographs lack the iconic Hong Kong Island buildings as the background. This will not be the situation for people watching the fireworks on the Kowloon side.

Unlike other recent reviewers, I have mostly positive experience with hotel staff. The ones I talked to were quite helpful and generous with their response to my tourist questions. I would give them high score for that.

Room Tip: I was given a corner room facing northeasterly direction and the view was great. For anyone hoping t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruckdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a long weekend with Grandma and kids (3 and 5). We requested two adjoining rooms and got them. Even though reservation was under my name (booked through marriott.com), they accepted my husband's Marriott rewards number, upgraded our room and let us use the lounge. Breakfast, tea and dinner were all included. Selection was not as spectacular as other buffets, but that's only because we're in HK and they have THE best buffets. Overall, food selection exceeded our expectations. We also got a bottle of champagne and octopus card in each room, and each kid got a backpack full of toys and M&M's.

Some minor nuisances were that the TV in our room didn't work. Champagne was not chilled and they only provided one champagne flute. Double beds connected, but kept sliding away from each other, so kids kept falling through crack. Bathroom is not very private.

We had lunch at the restaurant on the first floor and food was decent, but service was terrible. We asked for ice water 10 times (we kept count) and didn't get it until we were ready to leave. I would not recommend the restaurant unless you are desperate.

The hotel location is convenient if you're attending an event at the convention center. Everything else is a taxi or MTR ride away. Not a big deal, but I wish there had been a grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location is definitely great for this hotel..just a few minutes walk from the MTR and it is all sheltered!!Rain or shine is not a problem and the access is direct to the hotel lobby!!
For the room wise it is clean, and i would consider the room as spacious as in Hong Kong standard!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YujiLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had stayed here for 3 days, we got really nice room and we really love and enjoy it ...
The staff are friendly, very helpful and efficient. The location is good too and they have nice coffee shop in lobby. I would love to stay there again !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 4 days in HK for vac by staying in Renaissance Harbour View Hotel for 3 nites. We chose that hotel for its location and well-known brand of Marriot. Yep... the location is really good..5 mins walk to the merto station, only one stop away from Causeway bay...
However the service is really unfortunate, starting from my check in experience. I still remember the receptionist name, Sarah..She spent 30 mins for checking in me and my friend (only 2 rooms with room rate fully prepaid). During the whole process, she didn't check with us anything in terms of Bedding size, smoking, non-smoking, preference, floor arrangement and etc. Until I asked why she didnt' tell us anything about our room, she just gave me simply reply that "Because you didn't ask me!". Besides that, I found that they feel really normal treating Chinese and Foreign guests in very different way. I am a hotelier in Shanghai too, so that feel really disappointed they did such a bad service to us. I think the hotel management really need to treat this seriously.. No Bellman for luggage assitance, cool face from the female chief con with golden key.
But at the same time, I also noticed that some of their male receptionist (Fresh man I guess) were really nice and treat every guest the same. Still remember the touch moment he (I cannot recall the name) went out from front desk, showing direction to a little boy on map.
Again, I don't want to complain too much, this is actually not my purpose... But think about the morden city of HK, Hotel Service need to be really on the top as well... Thanks...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperLilyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Renaissance Harbour View is a very good hotel, as you would expect in the Renaissance chain.
The staff are always friendly, very helpful and efficient.
The hotel has a good cocktail bar and several restaurants, if you want to stay in after an exhausting day.
One of the places to look out for is the Waterfall Bar and Restaurant on the 11th floor - not well advertised or easy to find, but just follow the signs even though it does look as though you are being led to a dead end. The restaurant is outside, wonderful on the many warm evenings you get in Hong kong.
The views are great if you can get a room overlooking the harbour.
It is very well located to get around the island, you can walk out of the hotel and be in the Wan Chai district. Lots of bars and night life if that is your choice.
It is also just across the harbour from Tsim Sha Tsui and Kowloon. The star ferry to take you there is just a couple of minutes from the hotel and the ferry ride itself only costs a couple of HK dollars.
Try to travel at the back of the ferry both ways as you can get great views of both Hong Kong Island and Kowloon as you travel away from them.
One of the Hong Kong subway stations is in part of the same building complex (but you aren't aware of any noise from it) so convenient to zip around the island on the subway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors (26th + are best) overlooking the harbour. Fantastic views, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#28 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#25 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#73 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing