We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but the lobby sometimes stinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #32 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but the lobby sometimes stinks”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is located next to the Wanchai Convention Center, so it's convenient to those visiting Hong Kong for convention events. It's about eight-minute walk from the Wanchai MTR station. Star Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsu is five minutes away. Taxis are easy to get. The location is perfect!

The hotel is undergoing renovation to modernize the rooms. The renovated rooms are okay and are smaller than before. My only complaint, though, is the light switches. One has no idea what the light switch does until one flips it - it's maddening! Other than that, the room setup is perfect, with all the high-quality amenities. The hotel staff always provide great service with a smile.

There are many restaurants in the hotel. Two deserve to be highlighted: the cafe on the mezzanine floor and the Dynasty. The cafe offers a great buffet breakfast (it also offers lunch and dinner). Although it's expensive (about US$35), the selection and quality are both first-rate. Try it if you want to have a really big and comfortable breakfast. Of course, there are many other breakfast places around (Harbour Cafe in the convention center nearby; Pacific Coffee and DeliFrance are within three-minute walking distance, for example) for a fraction of the price. Dynasty is a Michelin one-star Chinese restaurant - first-rate food and service at a reasonable price!

All these features should have resulted in a perfect five-star rating, except for one thing, through no fault of the hotel - its location near the outfall of a sewage line. Depending on the harbor current and wind, the foul air can infiltrate into the lobby of the hotel. I have no doubt that the hotel has tried everything to mask the odor, but to no avail. It doesn't happen all the time. When it does, it is not a very inviting lobby!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviatorYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    954
    252
    59
    27
See reviews for
338
548
142
1,250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in the room with the harbour view with free internet access.

The location was great being right next to the Wan Chai Ferry Terminal and there were easy access to food and taxis.

Went to the swimming pool and the service was good, served you ice water and had a good swim there as the pool was bigger than the JW Marriott :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOWTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had a business trip to Hong Kong and stayed here for one night and must say I am impressed. From the speedy check-in to the personalized attention from the staff (greeting me by name, taking time to explain directions, recommend restaurants), to the free internet (if you are a Marriott member) to the comfortable clean rooms. For a business hotel this is great. I paid for a convention rate, asked nicely for a possible upgrade and they gave me a corner room that had a view of the bay. The rooms were very modern and clean. I loved that the bed was so comfortable - got a very good nights sleep. It is also in such a prime locations -- attached to the convention center, minutes away from the Wan Chai MTR station. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DharmaHMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just finished a 4 day stay at this hotel. We chose this hotel since I was attending a conference at the Convention Centre which is attached to the hotel. The ride from the airport was about 30 minutes long on a weekday, mid-afternoon. Cost was about $25 USD.

The staff were professional, hospitable and made you feel like you are a valued customer at all times. Check-in and Check-out was smooth and efficient.

They gave us an "older room with carpeting" as the front desk clerk termed it. The room is still modern and clean albeit a little smaller than what we are used to by North American standards but was still acceptable. The bathroom amenities were good quality and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic!

During conventions the elevators get really busy during peak hours 8-9am when everyone is comin/going to breakfast and getting to convention events.

Wireless internet worked without a problem. I suggest signing up for a Marriot Rewards Card, we got free internet because we were members of their rewards program.

We tried the lobby lounge for drinks and small bites to eat. The food was good and the price is comparable to other typical hotel dining options, in other words, a little bit on the high side. There is live entertainment in the evenings and the singer is quite good.

The buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and the choices and variety are excellent. If you are paying for breakfast it is a little pricey, around $USD 35-40 I think. There are cheaper alternatives at the convention centre, a nice cafe and also a restaurant where you get chinese fare.

The MRT and Ferry are easily accessed through covered walkways and about a 5 minute walk at a leisurely pace. The convention centre is about a 3 minute walk through air conditioned lobbies.

HK's public transportation is superb and easy to navigate. We had no problem hopping over to the Kowloon side and depending on the time of day it cuts travel time down considerably as compared to taxi. Took about 15 minutes to get to Mong Kok area. I suggest if you are going to use the MRT for any amount of time to get the Octopus Card at the station. You can load up as much HK dollars as you want and can get any unused credit back when you leave. The card is also good at many convenience stores and restaurants, including some at the convention centre.

The area directly around the hotel has numerous places to eat from McDonalds to more traditional fare. There are also numerous go-go bars sprinkled among the eateries with girls trying to entice you in for "drinks". Please don't let this deter you from walking around, it is quite safe even at night and no one will bother you if you are not interested.

Shopping Mall is really not an option around the hotel, but a quick one-stop ride on the MRT to Causeway station will provide you with the shopping malls that you desire. There is a huge 3 storey electronics centre right by the walking way bridge to the MRT. Tonnes of everything electronic from laptops to cell phone accessories.

I would recommend this hotel especially if you are in HK for any convention events. If you want a hotel with more to offer around it's immediate surrounding area than this may not be for you if you are hesitant to use the public transportation system.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 5 days in room with harbour view. From the time i had my first interaction with the personnel at the gate till they bid farewell to me, I was treated like a VIP, though being just one of many who came to attend congress in the convention centre. Have stayed in Astoria in Rome and Sheratons in multiple places, but the friendliness and service was beyond anything I have ever expected before. It maybe that people of Hong Kong are overall friendlier, but if ever I visit HK again, this is the place for me. The lobby, the lifts that take you within seconds to 40th floor, the decor, the freshness of air, the soft thick carpets in the corridors (first time a carpet that feels and smells as new), the michelin restaurant, the view from hotel, the cleanliness of rooms and fresh fruits as good night, i can go on praising, but the space is short. I loved my stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The room was just enough for solo traveller, maybe a couple. If you need more space you should as fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wajjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

First the good: location is very convenient. It is close to the ferry and in wan chai, close to lots of clubs. If you are here for a meeting or convention its perfect. The pool is very large and quite beautiful with marked lanes for lap swimming. The rooms are clean with laminate floors. I like the fact that there is no carpet. It is much cleaner. We had a harbor view room on a high floor and it was well worth it. Now the bad. There is construction going on and ever day at around four the entire place smelled like someone poured a giant bottle of nail polish remover over it. The rooms are very small. A few more hooks to hang towels and wet bathing suits would have been nice. There is no privacy in the bathroom whatsoever. The wifi service is terrible. I got kicked out every ten minutes and the housekeeping service was also highly unpredictable. If you are here on vacation with a significant other for any length of time the room is just too small. Finally, the fitness center is in the Grand Hyatt next door. Really, really inconvenient

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyAZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Well back to Hong Kong for a four day visit enroute to Australia. We used to live in HK and this was a return visit after 12 years! Check in at the hotel was swift and smooth. We stayed an extra night so we had been upgraded to a harbour view room. Room was lovely and clean with a great view. Pool was big and really well presented. Again with good views. Wan Chai is is good place to explore and easy to get to Central (use the tram its cheaper but you do need change) and to Kowloon (Star Ferry about a 2 min walk from hotel and again the cheapest way to cross - the night time crossing is awsome with the lights of HK). From the airport take the train (100HK$ to the IFC terminus in Central and outside there is a free bus that services hotels on HK side) we did not know about this and lugged our cases on the MTR! but did use it on the way out. We did not eat at the hotel as we know HK well and went out with friends. All in all a really good hotel with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Look for a room that faces the harbour - free upgrades if you stay longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woody1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,622 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,131 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing