We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly-by samflyer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #32 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly-by samflyer”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Overall the experience at the Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View is excellent. The rooms are very modern and clean, some with wood floors. Some have complained about the size of the desk (really?), but has has one (see pics). Carpeted hallways cut down on traffic noise. Great location in the heart of the city on Hong Kong Island in the Wan Chai district. It's very close to the Wan Chai subway stop (2-3 blocks away). Numerous restaurants, bars, shopping malls, etc within a 5 minute walk. Excellent views of Victoria Harbour from nearly any floor. And for the gold and platinum Marriott members, there are the usual Marriott Hotel rewards, but the club level evening cocktails and snacks are not to be missed; incredible views of the city during the setting sun is an incredible experience. Additionally, breakfast is full service at the club level. I cannot comment on the restaurant/bar in the lobby as I did not visit.

The good:
1. The fully modern rooms
2. The room views
3. The club level (if you are authorized access to this)

The bad
1. The price at nearly $300 USD per night can be steep, however you are in Hong Kong. Good luck finding any quality hotel in Hong Kong of similar price.

The Ugly
1. No ugly here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South and Southeast side of the hotel will not have a view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    954
    252
    59
    27
See reviews for
338
548
142
1,250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is our first trip to Hong Kong. We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor recommendations. It was the perfect choice. It is right next to the metro station, Star Ferry and has a grand view of the Harbour. The check in was easy and the staff were very friendly. I would consider it more of a business hotel (no spa on site) but bar and restaurant were great. I will certainly stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here in early June, 2012 and I have nothing but good things to stay about all aspects of the hotel.
The great: The staff at reception! When we checked in we were warmly and professionally greeted by a gentleman named Juergen. He was extremely helpful and made us feel at home. I mentioned to him that I had just asked my fiancé to marry me the night before and he wished us congratulations and gave us a free upgrade on our room. He took the time to ask about our plans in Hong Kong and provided excellent suggestions that we used. Probably the warmest welcome I have ever received at a hotel. Experiences with employees like this are what keep customers and encourage glowing reviews like this one. The women at the club level desk was also excellent! Friendly at all times, and helped us with several issues. She provided us with several power adapters for our laptops free of charge. She even worked the phones trying to hunt down a lost iphone for us. (Amazingly enough she was successful and found out it had been left on an airport shuttle bus!) I wish I had gotten her name so I could acknowledge her help but I missed it.
The room! We were on the top floor (42nd) of the hotel, club level, and the view of the harbour was AMAZING. Huge full-length windows in both the bedroom and the adjoining suite. I highly recommend a harbour-view room, and if it is in your price range get a club level room. There are complimentary snacks, coffee, non alcoholic drinks as well as breakfast.
The good:
The hotel was at a good location next to the ferry dock. Easy to go across the harbour if you want. Also it is very close to the airport train. There is a free shuttle that services several hotels that runs all day (on the half hour I think but not sure exactly) It is a short shuttle ride. A cab from the hotel to the airport train cost us 20 HKD.
The Not so good:
Things were generally expensive here. This is a 5 star hotel (in Hong Kong no less) so cost may not be a concern for you, but 11$ (Canadian) for a fruit juice in the lobby bar is a little much..
If I come to Hong Kong again, I will definitely stay here and because of the great service I received I will be booking with Marriott again to see if this standard is maintained in all their hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed in a harbour view room which was very very clean, nicely decorated with incredible electrically controlled blinds which completely shut out the lights of the harbour at bed time. I had requested a high room if possible and was given the 35th floor. I thought 'wow' as this is not far from the very top. The receptionist asked if this was "alright". This is how obliging and helpful the staff are at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. As a Marriott member I had free Wifi in the room. If you need to print boarding passes (or anything else) it can be done for a very small fee at the business centre in the hotel. Ordered room service meal which was excellent and large servings. Taxis are easily obtained from the front of the hotel and are very cheap. On returning to airport by shuttle, instead of waiting out the front, the staff ask you to sit in the lounge and call you when it arrives. This is most relaxing and there is free Wifi in the lounge as well. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room. Ask for a high floor room and if they can they will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooyal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have stayed here several times on business trips. Good quality hotel in a decent central location. Good size rooms well maintained and pleasantly furnished. Breakfast buffet is pretty good although very busy at times. Harbour views are attractive. The hotel is geared to business visitors and maybe a bit sterile for a holiday or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

what a lovely experience. the staff are unbelievably helpful and courteous. the rooms were typical of a big city hotel in that they are rather small, but they were clean, modern and well designed. do yourself a favor and upgrade to a room overlooking the harbour, what a view.
the only downside of the stay was the gym facilities. it was small, old and very hot. not at all representative of the overall experience.
i would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: harbour view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beulahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I think this is a great hotel.

The check in staff were lovely, the new rooms are excellent, great size, comfy beds, big bathroom.

Hotel is a good location although not as central as i am used too, but for the value this was excellent.

Pool is shared with the Hyatt which in my view is the best hotel pool in Hong Kong!

The Gym was not great. its shared with a one open to public.

Once all rooms are renovated this will be a top 20 hotel in HK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkv1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,622 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,132 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Address: No.1 Harbour Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, the hotel showcases panoramic Victoria Harbour view. It is less than 5 minutes by taxi to the central business district and major shopping areas, and is only a 10-minute walk to the Wanchai MTR subway station, while the iconic Star Ferry is just steps away, a perfect option for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers stylish guestrooms and a private club lounge, features diverse conference and banqueting facilities with a total area of 1,400 square metres, equipped with two LED walls and able to cater intimate to large-sized events. Our superb dining options range from authentic Cantonese cuisine, flavourful international buffet, to brand-new Mirage Bar & Restaurant with innovative cocktails and delectable western and Asian flair cuisine. An excellent range of recreational facilities are available, including a seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool and a 24-hour fitness centre for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing