We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reminded me of Germany”

Biergarten German Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1,271 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Reminded me of Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Definitely worth a visit. Fairly well located in TST not too far from rail options with the ferry a walkable distance away. The German fare was not cheap but hearty and authentic. The place had a good feel about it with premier league football being shown on the tv screens. The punters insider were a mix of Germans, locals and other Asian tourists.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LamaTemple40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    39
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Drink; Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stopped in after a long day of sightseeing to have a few German draft beers. They have 3 beers on tap (Bitburger, Wernesgruner, and Konig) all of which are pilsners. The owner is German but the staff looked to be mostly local. Into my 2nd drink, Germans started showing up in large numbers which indicated to me at least that this place must be good! I will definitely go back for cold beer again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndustrialWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great German beer in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I only had beer here rather than food but the quality of the beer was excellent. They had 3 different pilsners on tap and Schneide Weisse beer in bottles (Helles and Dunkel).

Good seating and friendly german speaking owner.

Although I didnt have food it looked great when being served to others!

Recommend if you want German beer in Hong Kong

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davey1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
558 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Place for the Homesick!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are shopping in hot Hongkong, and if you are a German or a lover of German beer, you definitely will be attrackted by the Biergarten, a restaurant in Tsimshatsui's small Hanoi road, which is better known for its diamond shops, they are selling normally to professional jewellery makers, and diamond collectors, but they also do not hesitate to sell to tourist a sample ring or others.
Back to the Biergarten: You get Wernesgruener fresh from the tap, as well as Bitburger or Koenigspilsener! Also a good selection of German Bottled beers - and all absolute fresh! Just great for an interruption of you shoppinig tour! This should give five stars, but the food - German food of course - is just soso. Maybe because some ingredients are difficult to get, maybe the Chinese kitchen staff is too lazy...
So go for a beer nd if you are hungry, just for some sausages.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real German restraint !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutly the best German bear and sausages I ve ever tried in Asia. Pretty expensive -90$ for 5 bears+3 sausages plats- but it 100% worths it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MineevA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biergarten German Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Biergarten German Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing