We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going alone be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Chung King Mansion Hostel
Ranked #111 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was sexually assaulted by one of the doormen. His name is Zoheb he is from India and he is a bad man. Please be careful if you are alone. Other than that my experience was good, the rooms are good, it's quiet and clean. I made my trip from China I had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for New Chung King Mansion Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the New Chung King Mansion in 2012, we had a room with 1 double bed.
The room was incredibly small but was clean, the main downside was the lift which took ages. The location is great, very central and we couldn't argue with the price, very reasonable.
The staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurfinBird1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a 45 yr old backpacking with my son this was prob the smallest accomodation we stayed in and least luxurious, however lovely people and had a whale of a time, not going to say as an oldie that I missed all the nice things of a 4/5* hotel but I had the time of my life and it was a great experience...just wish the blokes at the airport would realise that a 40 yr old western woman doesn't need help, next time a smack in the gob may help!

Room Tip: Maybe book accomodation before u travel, however this really is the hub of backpackiners, glad I did...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I hated Chung King Mansion and all the pushy people in it. Location was perfect, but other than that...yuck. The elevators are always packed. When I had to leave for an early flight the elevators weren't even working and I carried my luggage down 7 floors in the fire escape stairwell to find that each floors door was blocked and I became trapped. I had to carry my belongings up to the 9th floor and across the whole complex to finally exit. Never again. I left itchy and pissed off.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KKwebster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It is an unique feeling seeing all those different cultures to bound together in the same place. The place is full with youth and other kind of bag packers. The room was clean, I was lucky enough to have a window with a view on the Main Street which made me enjoy Hong Kong life day and night. The beds are very comfortable and the staff attend all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had read up on Hong Kong on a budget before I left the states, well here it is. I am happy to have had the experience, however you may want to take into consideration your individual circumstance before you make your choice. This is a Third world type of accommodation, Yes it is a clean room and adequate bed, you will save money, you will be forever blessed with the memory of entering the Chung King Mansion. Upon arrival, you will be greeted by multitudes of touts selling everything from cheap rooms to suits and watches. People will even steer you to curry restaurants on commission. Once you spend a night in "THE MANSION" you have earned your "TRAVELERS WINGS"

Room Tip: Make sure your specify a room with a window!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt08080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel has a good location, but very small rooms. From the airport to the hotel by bus A21, it stops at 14 Nathan Road - get off here and walk about 50 meters back. At the hotel on the ground floor is a lot of traders, not a good feeling, but do not bother and it's all safe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IIveta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#24 of 159 in Hong Kong
131 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Canadian Hostel
Canadian Hostel
#100 of 159 in Hong Kong
58 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
#87 of 263 in Hong Kong
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#65 of 159 in Hong Kong
17 reviews
Cebu Hotel
#109 of 263 in Hong Kong
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Chung King Mansion Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Chung King Mansion Hostel

Address: Block C, Floor 7, Flat C5, Chung King Mansion, Nathan Road 36-44, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $32 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Chung King Mansion Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Chung King Mansion Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Chung King Mansion Hotel Hong Kong
New Chung King Mansion Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing