We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
2
11
11
13
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2
11
11
13
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 59 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The whole building is cockroach infested, it feels very un-safe. A guy in the lift was making sexual gestures towards me and I greatly feared for my safety and there's very few people around at night which contributes to the danger. The rooms are so small we couldn't fit our bags in around the bed so we had to pout them behind the door which made getting in and out of the room difficult. the bathroom was so small I had to sit on the toilet to wash myself with the shower head, I'm not exaggerating this is how small it is. The only good thing to say is it's right in the city centre

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location of Chung King Mansions tempt many budget concious travellers into it's depths. I personally was there for one night (arranging a Chinese visa) and think you get what you pay for. It is very cheap (by Hong Kong standards) and provides you with a basic to dump your kit. My main advice is to NOT BOOK IN ADVANCE through agoda or booking as you will pay more and they will try and give you the worst room as they already have your money, if you walk in off the street you can haggle them down on price and make sure the room is clean before you hand over any of your hard earned travel budget!! There are loads of Indians and Africans hanging around trying to sell you rooms, watches, suits etc.... but as a single male traveller I never had a problem with them, although I did have to be quite forceful on occaision to get them to leave me alone. I wouldn't reccomend families or single female travellers here if they were planning to be returning late at night as they could feel intimidated howevere the rooms themselves were secure so if like me you plan to just hold up for the night I can't imagine you having a problem.

Room tip: The Chung King mansion building is split in blocks, don't go for any hostels in block A as it is right on the road and noisey! I recommend block C or D if you need a good nights sleep.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion Block C where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

what you see on the internet is NOT what you get.

I booked the best room on the internet, paid in Euro and got the worst room in all my travel history. I rather go camping in some jungle than stay here!

Let me summaries my very bad experience and advice to you- in just two words- DONT GO!!!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

What you have booked,what the same we will offer to you.Your booking is Budget Room,we have so many options for you to choose,budget,standard,deluxe,all with different room size and facilities and different price.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

we had to find a place to stay for one day since the next day onwrds we had stay in regal kowloon (which is a v nice hotel btw)
it was v late (12 in the night) and we had just travelled 4 hours flight + a lot of walking around so HAD to take a place soon.
The guy charged us 450 HKD for quite simply a filthy room and refused to change the bedsheets initially.
The only saviour was that the room had an AC, otherwise i dont its worth more than a 100 HKD a night. Also, the place around looks like a very shady area.
It'd still have been fine if the charges were a little nonimal - but oh well..

All in all, try to avoid this place much as possible, if they're not giving you a v cheap price

Room tip: Avoid this place altogether!!
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kunalpareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Chung King Mansion with many small hostels,yours never stay with us,but we think stay with others in the same building,because our owner is lady but not a guy.We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We booked this hostel through AsiaRooms, and followed all the instructions carefully. Upon going inside the building, a lot of people were trying to get us to "checkout" their hostel aside from the hostel we had booked. We ignored them and went straight to where we should go. We had to wait for the lift because it was so slow, and by the time it came to the ground floor, there were a lot of people that needs to go up the lift as well. It was so packed!

When we got to the floor (according to their instructions), it was a totally different name. It was "CARLTON GUEST HOUSE". Apparently, the "New Chung King Mansion" and this guesthouse has only one and of the same owner.

We insisted that we see the rooms of the "New Chung King Mansion" since that was what we booked in the internet, and when we saw it, it was totally different from the photos they posted online!!!

We opted to stay at the Carlton Guest House, since it was "newer" and "cleaner"...

But the owner practically threw us out because we were arguing with her about why they gave our reservation rooms of the "New Chung King Mansion" to a different guest, etc.

Anyway, if you can find a different hostel, I would suggest don't go check in on ANY hostel with the address of "Chung King" building address!

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yzqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Chung King Mansion Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews