We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional chinese in modern context”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chung's Cuisine

Chung's Cuisine
Ranked #999 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
250 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Traditional chinese in modern context”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Located on the 10th floor of Times Square, it is a pleasurable restaurant which serves local food. I was the only westener and the restaurant was packed, two signs that it is quite good.
I found it good without being stellar, so I would consider it a good and safe choice if you are shopping in Times Square area and you want to eat chinese food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our hotel was located just 5 minutes away from Times Square so on our first day we picked Chungs because we bumped into it. Wow, the dimsum was great, just perfect. We returned here every day (we were in HK for a week) for dimsum and also had diner on our last evening. Since our visit, I have recommended this restaurant to many friends who were visiting Hong Kong and they all were very impressed by the quality and taste of the food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for lunchtime Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent quality and very reasonably priced (at least the Stanley Plaza restuarant is anyway).

Gets very busy so may have to wait a bit for a table (or book in advance) but well worth it.

Menu on table with basic english translation that is enough and you write on this what you want, its delivered to you table and you pay the bill! Simple but great way to spend lunchtime

Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quality Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Chung’s Cuisine鍾菜

Shop 1001, 10/F, Food Forum, Times Square, 1 Matheson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong
Date of visit : 16 Mar 2013 (Sat) 12 noon
No. of diners : 4
Average cost per head : $105
Food quality : 8/10
Environment : 7.5/10
Service : 7.7/10
Value-for-money : 8.5/10
Overall rating : 8.14/10

Chung’s Cuisine is one of the brands under Tao Heung Group which specializes in Chinese catering. Chung’s Cuisine emphasizes the ban for using MSG, artificial colouring and even chicken power in preparing food. The overall food quality is above average. The place was cozy and with high ceiling, an open kitchen is facing the dining hall where diners can see and hear the making of the dim-sums and frying of food. However, ventilation has done a great job and you won’t find the place smoky or with smell of oil. Another selling point of having dim-sum here is the waiving of surcharge on serving tea/mustard and the 10% service charge, which are mandatory across the territory. These charges usually amount to over 15% of the bill.

a) Steamed Dumplings in Yuannan Style雲南野菌餃($30) – 8.5/10
Crispy wild mushrooms from Yuannan were stuffed inside a chewable dumpling skin that gave a complex texture.

b) Spring Rolls with Shrimps and Cheese 芝士蝦春卷 ($35) – 8.5/10
The spring rolls were freshly deep fried, crispy and the shrimps were sinewy too.

c) Shrimp Toast with Japanese Rice珍珠米蝦多士 ($30) – 8/10
This is a hybrid of the traditional deep fried shrimp toast where Japanese rice was used instead of bread as the base.

d) Pan Fried Raddish Pudding 香煎蘿蔔糕 ($30) – 8/10
The pieces were nicely pan fried and I could find slices of raddish in the cake.
e) Chicken Feet in Black Bean Sauce 豉汁蒸鳯爪 ($26) – 7.5/10
A traditional dim sum of which foreigners wouldn’t touch.

f) Steamed Wild Mushrooms and Fish Maw野菌蒸魚肚($30) – 7.5/10

g) Home Made Pan Fried Long Pepper 家鄉煎釀虎皮椒($26) – 7.5/10

h) Steamed Custard Cake奶皇馬拉糕 ($18) – 7.5/10
This was in fact a cake roll with custard sauce in between.

i) Poached Vegetables 灼菜苗($50) – 7/10
Among other dishes, this poached Chinese lettuce was pricey. Should ignore next time.

j) Pan Fried Rice Rolls with XO sauce XO醬炒腸粉 ($50) – 7/10
Another not value-for-money dish.

k) Rice congee with beef and preserved egg皮蛋鮮牛肉粥 ($35) – 7/10
The congee base was not comparable to those congee specialist. The texture of the beef was artificially tenderized by edible soda powder.

l) Fish Head with Spices and Chili刴椒蒸魚雲($30) – 8/10
The fish head cuts were fresh without fishy smell.

m) Dace Fishball with Vegetable時菜鯪魚球($26) – 7.5/10
The fishballs were sinewy and with good smell of dried tangerine skin.

Q : When will I go again?
A : For lunch or even dinner.
Q: What will I next order?
A : Other dim sums.

03.2013

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been at this restaurant several times and have had for different items in the menu, everything is delicious and tasty.. Very polite and waiters at the Stanley plaza branch, would recommend it 100 per cent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maruca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chung's Cuisine also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Chung's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing