We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Rating Only Due to Sleep Quality (Need Ear Plugs)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #30 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average Rating Only Due to Sleep Quality (Need Ear Plugs)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed on business Feb 16-21 2014, room 1501

In terms of service, amenities, etc. the hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed that in its class: boutique chain. That said very poor sleep quality due to noise.

The GOOD:
Super friendly staff
Free en-suite mini bar and snacks
Free lounge snacks/drinks
Free Y5zone wi-fi password for when you are in town
Free gift bag
Very good toiletries
Super Clean bed and bathroom
New gym equipment with clean towels, mats and free bottled water
New laundry facilities (good for long-term stays)

The MEDIUM:
Wi-fi signal was weak in the rooms
Free breakfast was continental (toast, cereal, yogurt, and discounts on main offerings in their street-level cafe)
Rooms are very small, even for HK standards. No wardrobe and just a small space to store luggage (probably would only work for a single business guest, not a couple).

The BAD:
Very little sound-proofing. Can hear the street outside (Queens Road Central) which has 24 hour traffic; also heard the guests talking in their rooms when on the same floor
2nd night I asked for earplugs, which were readily available so I assume this issue has come up a few times.

I am not an overly light sleeper but this was not something I have experienced in a hotel before in my several years of travel and staying in places. Really a shame as everything else was going for it SO VERY WELL compared to other hotels I have stayed at in Hong Kong of this caliber.

I will inquire about other Ovolo locations though not sure if they have the same level of amenities as their Queens Road Central location.

Room Tip: Could still hear traffic from 15th floor. Hotel has 25 floors, not sure if noise level diminishes e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raelnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Raelnc,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your Ovolo 286 Queen's Road experience on tripadvisor. We appreciated reading that you found our facilities clean, service helpful and like our freebie.

I wish to offer you my sincerest apologises about the noise disturbance from the neighbourhood during your stay. To re-assure you, we do try to allocate higher floors for light sleepers and will always be very happy to oblige for any high floor requests.

The next time Hong Kong enters your travel plans I’d like to invite you to stay with us again. In the meantime if you’ve like to address any more specific points, please feel free to email myself direct on gigitse@ovologroup.com and I will be very much obliged to discuss with you directly.

Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    335
    62
    18
    8
See reviews for
98
441
129
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Lets talk about location first. It's only 5 minutes walk to Sheung Wan MTR station, only a stop to Central MTR Station which connect you to Hong Kong Airport Express station.
Second, the staffs. One of them named "Brandon" and he is super friendly. Efficient, helpful and smiling. The other is the security staff who also very kind.
Third, the room. It's unique and modern. Maybe people said its small but hey it's Hong Kong. Unfortunately no heater in the room. The weakest part of this hotel especially if you stay in winter time.
Fourth, freebies. You'll get free mini bar items, free Internet, free breakfast, free laundry, free happy hours drink. Sounds good?
Last but not least, the price is quite cheap consider the location and freebies.
Will come back again :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi_Karlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear AndyBugis,


Thanks for the great review. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed our hotel, especially the freebies! You made Brandon's day when you singled him out for praise. Our team clearly delivered on our company mission: 'shiny happy people all around'!

Hope to host you at Ovolo again soon. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel, booked through word of mouth and was looking forward to the 6 nights. Super central location, few blocks from the MTR and one block from amazing coffee house 'The Cupping Room'. Although rooms were small, to be expected in Hong Kong, the additions and service in this hotel were outstanding and deserve comment. There was a goody bag of treats on arrival with the bag later doubling as a back pack for a day trip, the breakfast was fresh and replenished, good coffee was made on request and the toasted bagels, cereal, juice, and pastries were all great. Wifi was available in the hotel and another network provided for when out of the hotel.... Excellent! Refreshments are available all day of fresh juice, coffee, biscuits...and at 6 to 8 every day was happy hour which was free alcohol. Two white wines, two reds, about four spirits and mixers, one type of beer, juice, coffee, soft drinks... Cheese, nibbles, corn chips... The list goes on. Available everyday.... Loved it!! It was the great circuit breaker between being out all day then gearing up for the night life.... The rooms were serviced daily and were excellent and clean. Mini bar replenished daily for free, beer and waters and juice... Amazing, loved the bathroom products too!!! Free laundry with washers and dryers and detergent supplied assisted greatly! All in all had a great time. Staff were super helpful even allowing us to check in and print out boarding passes on their laptops! Definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely be back!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Amanda T,


Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your recent stay at Ovolo. Our team was delighted to read your compliments on the service and all the freebies. That is why we put them ! Please let us know next time Hong Kong is in your travel plans as we’d love to host you again.


Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Someone with a keen sense of style is behind this hotel, from the logo to the free stuff in the room.

Any stay with a free welcome drink (happy hour!) and free mini bar on a Saturday night is off to a good start.

The included continental breakfast is ok but very basic. Decent enough coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goat-whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice concept for a Hong Kong hotel where typically service is not typically spelled in bold letters. The breakfast is fine, the free mini bar a nice treat (who doesn't like a cold beer after a long day in the office) and everything is clean and proper.
Rooms in Hong Kong Hotels are usually smaller than elsewhere in the world but honestly, the Ovolo tops the list for smallest hotel room I ever stayed in. On the flipside, everything is well thought through so it's not a big problem.
Free internet inside and outside! the hotel is also great so plenty of plus points.
So why only average?
We were there in January and it was cold. Outside, And unfortunately also inside. The aircon unfortunately is not reverse cycle and there is no other heating element in the room. It surely won't be a problem in summer but in the middle of winter even Hong Kong gets cold and unless you travel with your pyjamas this is a problem at the Ovolo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinSinSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear martinSinSyd,


Thank you for posting such a nice review of Ovolo 286 Queen's Road. We appreciate the kind words about our freebies and do apologize for the cold, we provide extra duvet and individual heater upon guest's request, since you appeared to enjoy our freebies and facilities, I would highly recommend you consider our Central HK hotel on Arbuthnot Road as there have heating system in the room. We hope to see you again with us at Ovolo for your next trip in Hong Kong!

Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rooms at Ovolo are teeny tiny, with the "closet" being a pull-down rack and the bed taking up more than half the room. However, small as it is, the hotel has everything you need plus extras such as free breakfast, free use of laundry room, free happy hour and complimentary mini bar. But the best thing about Ovolo is the service - the staff are "yes" people (my favorite kind of people in the service industry) and work hard to meet guests's needs. I forgot my passport in the safe and their staff were kind enough to bring it to the airport check-in counter in the city. Gracious and service-oriented!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caligirl4ever79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear caligirl4ever79,


Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback to tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your compliement of our team members. Great customer service is the bedrock behind every great hospitality experience and it is humbling for us to hear how we made your trip to Hong Kong better. Please come again to Ovolo any time.


Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

...unless you are looking for an upscale hostel. There is nothing 'luxury' about the hotel or the rooms. Small is an overstatement. 2 persons + a suitcase and you will have to step out into the corridor to change clothes. Beds are actually mattresses on the floor and to squeeze them into the room they had to choose short and narrow ones. Certainly not suitable for anyone over 5.5 feet.
All the Free stuff are mostly gimmicks to entice customers to book. Very basic 'free' breakfast. Internet in the room was definitely not 'Superspeedy'.
There are several great hotel options nearby in the same price range. We checked out the next day and only after a lot of arguing were we eventually promised a refund in a couple of weeks for the remaining prepaid nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGB404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear PGB404,


Thank you for choosing Ovolo. We went over your review on Tripadvisor. We realize the rooms at our Queen's Road are on the smaller side but that’s why we design them smart and pack them with goodies to maximize the space so that everything you need is hopefully at your fingertips whenever you want it. We understand that this setup may not suitably accommodate every traveller and much regret that it was the case for you. I would highly recommend you consider our Central HK hotel on Arbuthnot Road Central when next time you back to Hong Kong as the rooms are larger. We put our guest at top priority thus we agreed to refund the prepaid nights to you although it is a non refundable booking.

PGB404 again we regret that this time did not deliver to your satisfaction but do hope you will give us a chance to host again. If you would like to discuss any of the above matter further please do not hesitate to contact me at gigitse@ovologroup.com

Best Regards,
Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 286 Queen's Road
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#106 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Property: Ovolo Noho
Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing