We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ovolo 286 is Fabulous!”
Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #32 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

OVOLO Hotel - 286 Queen's Road Central is close to the Sheung Wan MTR and easy to locate.

This boutique hotel is contemporary & stylish in design with neat & comfortable rooms.

Loved the cool design of the snack pack and the backpack.

Wireless internet, Apple TV, I-pads, mini-bar, gym & self-laundry are a nice touch. Nice breakfast and happy hours in the evening. The Cafe O downstairs was great as well.

Customer service was ace! The front office reps are friendly and resourceful. Big thanks to them!

Very pleasant stay ... Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear JT_Jon

A ‘fabulous’ 5-star review from a 5-star guest. Thank you lots for your kind words and recommendation! It is a great to hear that you enjoyed all the freebies and tech-treats. Especially encouraging as well was the mention of Café O, a key and oft unheralded part of the Ovolo experience. I will share your comments with their team.

Please feel free to contact myself or the hotel directly next time you wish to book, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hong Kong.

Best Regards
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Ovolo is a great boutique hotel located in Central Hong Kong (much better than Kowloon). It is very close to the MTR station and has plenty of perks to go with it. Breakfast served daily from 7 to 10 am (included in room rate) and happy hour from 5 - 7 pm (also included in room rate). Ovolo cafe is attached to the building and serves international food and yummy fresh squeezed juices, which is open from 7 am to midnight. This cafe is a little bit more pricey, especially for the juices, but worth the money for fressh food. The rooms are on the smaller side, but has everything a 5 star hotel would have: including safe deposit, refrigerator (stocked with juice, water, beer, and soda - included in room rate), rainshower, nice toiletries, and modern furniture/technology. There is also a nice, clean laundry room with detergent available to wash your clothes (free). This came in very handy and I wish that all hotels offered this amenity. There is also a small gym and business center. Oh and there is nespresso coffee available all day long in the 2nd from lounge. All in all, a great place to stay and a very helpful manager, Mr. Guy. :)

Room Tip: I rated the rooms average as they are quite small, but again has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evaismymiddlename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear evaismymiddlename,

Thanks for sharing such an indepth report of your Ovolo experience at 286 Queen’s Road Central on Tripadvisor. To be described as a ‘great boutique hotel’ is beyond great my friend, and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed all our signature services, especially breakfast at Café O! Your Tip on the room size is well founded and as you mention we pack a 5-star hotel’s worth of features in there for you to enjoy! Thank you as well for mentioning Guy our Hotel Manager, I will be sure to share this information with him and the team.

Please feel free to contact our sales dept directly next time you wish to book, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hong Kong.

Best Regards

Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Ovolo, and could easily have stayed longer, but like most hotels in Hong Kong, it's quite pricey. Having said that, we really felt like we had value for money! I loved the design of the room, simple but sleek and very inviting! Yes, it's not very spacious, but all the more cosy. The bathroom was certainly roomey enough though and it was immaculately clean.

Breakfast is included in the price, don't miss it as it's an absolute highlight in the morning! Have a banana bread with your coffee, it's delicious. They also have fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, eggs, etc.

The location is very convenient, many nice eateries, cafees and some pubs nearby, and only a 5 minute stroll to the metro. Despite it's central location, there was almost no noise at night so we always had a good nights sleep. We found the staff to be friendly and courteous. Warmly recommend a stay to anyone wanting to treat themselves while in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Elise,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review and all the kind words about our design and service. Glad that you could experience the Central location to its fullest AND get your good night’s sleep! I will share all your comments and valuable feedback with the hotel team.

Thank you again for the great review and recommendation. It would be a privilege to host you in Hong Kong again!

Best Regards,

Marius Gamser
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked this hotel knowing fully how big the room would be, so when we arrived we had no problem with the size of the room (20 sqm). The checked in was quick and smooth. We had the room right away even though it was 11am when we arrived. The room was equipped with all necessities. We loved fridge bar where they are complimentary and re-stocked everyday. There were a snack bag on the day we arrived. Great location. Only a few minutes walk to MTR and there were great restaurants around the area. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: The higher you are the better (from noises of the street below)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Xyteman,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your Ovolo experience on tripadvisor. Glad to read check-in was smooth for you. I've passed that compliment on to our team as well as your kind words about your room. At Ovolo we use our spaces to full effect, packing them full of all the complimentary tools and tech we know you need. Coupled with our location in the heart of Soho, we can provide a lot for our guests and are honored you'd recommend us to your friends. We were delighted to have you at 286 Queen's Road Central and hope you will come again soon.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The epitome of a boutique hotel. Don't be put off by reports of small rooms. The designers have been very creative and everything you need is where you want it to be and the place is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Delightful service from staff who really care about their customers. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As others have said, a high room (20th floor upwards) is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnharveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, General Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear johnharveys,

Thanks so much for the 5-star review of Ovolo 286 Queen's Road Central. Being described as the epitome of a boutique hotel is a fantastic compliment. Countless hours and multitudes of revisions were spent in the design process hoping to make an impression like that on our guests. Your words about our interiors and service are so appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting you. Please visit us at Ovolo again soon.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were able to truly discover and enjoy Hong Kong--in no small part, I'm convinced, because of how great the Ovolo (Queen's road) is as a jumping-off point: free laundry facilities and soap (so you can pack just half the clothes and save room for souvenirs!), beautifully-designed, immaculate, luxury rooms (yes, they are tiny. Another reason to keep your luggage as small as possible.). If you don't happen to check in during happy hour (6-8pm) and so get to put your feet up and sip wine or beer and nibble on hors d'oeuvres (all included for free nightly) after your journey while you fill our the registry to check-in, you can always drink the (free) beer or water or juice in your mini-bar and nibble on the snacks thoughtfully provided in the welcome "loot-back" provided in your room. Breakfast (served, like happy-hour, in the very comfortable and stylish common area) is great. Food is replenished with a little less alacrity towards the end of both events as it is in the beginning, so try to get to both earlier rather than later, if possible.
But setting out on your day of sight-seeing with a full belly and then being able to take a breather with a glass of wine before heading out for dinner makes for a very relaxing trip indeed. Staff are great. Sheung Wan location couldn't be better (3 min to the subway, short walk to Macau ferry, 10 min to Central, Soho, mid-level escalators, Hollywood road and numerous excellent noddle shops and cantonese dim sum hot spots (think $10 gourmet dinners!)). Loved the experience from beginning to end.

Room Tip: We requested a higher floor on our online booking based on other reviews and so stayed on the 20th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear KitLP,

Thank you for choosing Ovolo and for writing such a positive 5-star account of your experience with us at 286 Queen's Road Central. We are just delighted to hear that our little hotel, signature all-inclusive features, and service team of shiny happy people helped make your stay in Hong Kong just that little bit better! It was a pleasure hosting you at Ovolo and we'd very much look forward to doing so again should Hong Kong or Melbourne ever be in your travel plans.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love great design and clever application, Ovolo is well thought out, bang on brand and ticks all the boxes. A great little space that has everything. Comfortable, compact, and compassionate I was made to feel at home. Having stayed in HK before and witnessed the sights I wanted to be near the action (not bothered about 'a room with a view'), you could not get much closer than this.

I had a very late checkout and was allowed to shower at 6pm before I left for my flight, how unusual is that!

My only comment - each room has interlocking doors and sound insulation is very poor. You can hear talking, conversations and pretty much everything, making me feel I was staying in an upmarket hostel. OK for a few days but any longer I would probably look for something more private.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadebyOomph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear MadebyOomph,

Thanks so much for posting your review on tripadvisor. 'Great design and clever application' - sounds like you really got what Ovolo is all about! Delighted we could make you feel at home while keeping you close to some hip HK neighborhoods. Your note on sound insulation will be acted on because next time should you hopefully choose to stay with us we will be trying our hardest to earn that extra 5-star.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 725 in Hong Kong
829 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
791 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#59 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#34 of 725 in Hong Kong
329 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 725 in Hong Kong
931 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing