We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in downtown Hong Kong”
Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #29 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'd picked this hotel because I thought it was close to the Ocean Terminal. We had been on a cruise disembarking at Hong Kong nd we wanted an extra 3 nights in HK. Unfortunately when looking at maps, I had been looking at the Macau ferry terminal, which is in fact a short walk from Ovolo but a long way from the real Ocean Terminal which is on Kowloon. Never mind, we caught the Star Ferry and then walked the rest of the way to the hotel. Forget big hotel foyers. There is a small doorway on the street, a corridor and then a lift to the 2nd floor where the reception area is. Check in was quick and our room was ready even though we arrived early. The room is small (it reminded me of the Yotel in New York) but everything is very compact, neat and clean. Fabulous shower with great water pressure. True to word there is a free mini bar and we quickly scoffed off a couple of cold beers, all replaced the next day and every day we were there. There was a goodie bag with snacks, plus a back pack. Staff at the desk were very helpful, with maps, information, and would offer to print stuff off for you. I had read about the happy hour and thought it would be just one drink and that is it. In fact, it is a happy two hours, and virtually anything you wanted, and as much of it. Wine, beer, spirits, plus nibbles. Obviously the clientele was not a bunch of yahoos and no one took advantage of this very generous set up. Everyone was chatty, giving hints to those of us who hadn't been to Hong Kong before, or in our case, had not been there since 1985. What a lot of changes!! Breakfast is also held in this common room. It is a continental type breakfast with yoghurt, fruit, boiled eggs, various breads and toppings. Juice, coffee, tea. More than enough to get you going for the day, and believe me, you need your energy. So much to see and do. Fascinating. Guy Doo the hotel manager was especially helpful, even offering us a late check out, which was very kind, but as the hotel was getting busy with people arriving for the Hong Kong Sevens, we vacated our room on time. The hotel has free luggage storage so we could go out and then collect our luggage later. I did wonder how some of the huge, tall, rugby players fitted in the bed, because as mentioned, the rooms are snug. Just along the road is a huge food hall, where you could get a meal even late at night, it is on the 2nd floor. Opposite the hotel is a fantastic massage place, where you can have a delightful foot massage for next to nothing. What luxury after a day of walking around. There are also free laundry facilities. All in all, it was a very comfortable stay in happy family surroundings. Just for interest, despite Hong Kong now being part of China, it is still in someways, the same as it was in the old days. Cars drive on the left, own currency, wifi that works quickly and best of all, a huge anti smoking campaign, unlike mainland China where everyone seems to be up to their armpits in cigarette butts and ash, not to mention the hacking coughs. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yunderup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean, really well located, and not far from the nearest MTR. The rooms may be small but they have everything you need. A comfy bed, good size shower, free wifi, free mini bar. The breakfast was good and the free happy hour is great - just help yourself to drinks & snacks. The staff are friendly too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Centrally located, discreet access to a modern, comfortable, kind and client oriented facility. Nice rooms perfectly equipped, free wi fi, free minibar, free breakfast, lounge soft drinks free 24/7, happy hour. What else? Very kind staff, ideal for tired travelers who are looking for a little pampering.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stopped for 4 days during a business trip earlier this month. What a little gem! Reception (on the first floor) doubles as meeting lounge and breakfast room. On our arrival we were invited to take advantage of complimentary happy 'hour' drinks and snacks (that the manager had extended due to our late arrival - it normally runs from 17:30 to 20:00) while we were checked in. I should add that he manager and all staff were very hospitable - we were made very welcome and all were very helpful the whole stay. The rooms are small but very well thought out. Modern, very clean, big flat screen tv, complimentary wifi, small details like having plugs in all the right places (sounds silly but you'll see what I mean if you go) and, wait for it....complimentary minibar that gets restocked daily! Not that I used it apart from the odd bottle of water as I preferred to meet my colleagues in the reception lounge for happy hour drinks before heading out for dinner etc.

All in all a wonderful little place that I happily recommend. My colleagues and I agreed that from now on it's the only place we'll stop at in HK.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikeevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Like all hotels in HK, the room space is limited, but the designers did a great job to optimise the square metrage. The lobby/breakfast/bar room is a good spot to meet people in a 'table d'hôte' type of atmosphere. DIY laundry service is highly appreciated. The free drinks (coffee etc during daytime) and the free drinks and snacks pre dinnertime/happy hour make one feel at his/her ease. Multifunctional staff is an eye-opener. We will certainly come back next time in HK.
Only downside is the elevator system, for a hotel with 23 floors, two elevators that do not synchronise may be tedious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at the ovolo fo just over 3 weeks recently

Rooms are small and compact however most hotels are in HK. Very modern rooms, good wifi connections, apple TV, comfy bed and great shower! What else could you need!

Breakfast is included and the selection is ample and there is also a happy '2 hours' daily

The hotel also has a street level coffee shop and restaurant and there are loads of little bars and restaurants nearby. It's an easy walk into Central also.

There is a laundry in the hotel or nearby laundries also deliver your things back to you

Great team that run the hotel, all very friendly, professional and happy to help.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel - great value for money

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms on each floor - try and get one about mid way up the tower - just saves on the lift jou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for six nights and was very happy. The rooms may be small, but a great deal of thought has gone into the design so except for when packing and unpacking, I didn't wish for more space. The room tariff included items (free minibar, happy 2 hours each night, laundry room, wifi etc) that other establishments would charge for, so represents excellent value for money. My only minor criticism concerns the bathroom lighting, which was a bit too mood when it came time to shave. The hotel is within easy walking distance of many shops, restaurants, bars and the Sheung Wan MTR station. To get to the hotel I caught the airport express to Hong Kong station and the H1 shuttle bus to the Hotel Inn Express Soho. From there it's a short walk up the steps at the end of Cleverly Street, left on to Queens Road Central, across the crossing and left for 10 metres or so.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank kiwi_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 726 in Hong Kong
830 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 726 in Hong Kong
814 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#60 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#35 of 726 in Hong Kong
333 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,476 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#34 of 726 in Hong Kong
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $133 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing