We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect HK launching pad”
Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #32 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great launching pad for my 4 day stay in HK recently. Although,as noted by other reviewers, that rooms are small, as a traveller by myself I found the space, service and amenities all very welcome. Management were adaptable with some changed booking arrangements. What I really appreciated at the tail end of a trip across south east asia where I stayed in 7 other hotels were the small, friendly details. Free minibar, breakfast, laundry facilities. Most hotel rooms in HK will be compact, but very few make you feel like you're home. Would definitely recommend if you're not fussed by size.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameronKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Public Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear CameronKing,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at Ovolo 286 Queen’s Road Central on tripadvisor. That we were able to serve as a ‘perfect HK launching pad’ was great to read as that is what this hotel was designed to do for all manner of travelers heading to Asia’s World City.

Delighted to see as well that you took full advantage of our free all-inclusive services and flexible booking arrangements. These touches are hallmarks of all Ovolo hotels as we continually seek to match modern guest expectations with an innovative hospitality experience and should you come back to Hong Kong we’d love to host you again.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived by taxi from Hong Kong Station around 1400 on a Sunday and were checked in quickly and efficiently by the friendly staff. We verified later that after coming in by the Airport Express we could have taken the MRT to Sheun Wan, one stop from HK Station, then walked ~200m. south from the Hillier St. exit.
Our room 1103 looking out over the front of the hotel was high enough not to be bothered by the street noise. Everything about the room was well designed to fit all conveniences into the space and its provisions were great. It would have been ideal for one person because it was definitely cramped for two. One had to sit still on the bed while the other moved around. So in this respect it wasn't really suitable for an elderly couple like us, especially getting in and out of bed which consisted of a mattress on a low platform ... very much like sleeping on the floor really. What we liked most about the room design was the shower room (can't call it the bathroom because .. you guessed it .. no bath) which was efficiently laid out and comfortable to use.
We went out for several hours and returned on the MRT to walk around the hotel area and found numerous eating places serving local fare at reasonable prices. There was even a Thai restaurant 100m. up Hillier St. which we didn't try because we never eat Thai away from home. But closer to the hotel was a fried pork dumpling stand (read Gyoza) which was very good indeed. So our night at the hotel was ok but hampered by having to step over each other to get to the toilet a couple of times (like old folks need to). I was quite surprised that sounds from the other rooms on the floor were barely audible considering their proximity.
Anyway, morning came and we went down to the second floor lounge for breakfast which was excellent in its provisions. No complaints there at all. We checked out about 1040, again fast and efficient .. no fuss because everything in the room including the mini-bar stock was free of charge.

Room Tip: Check available room sizes and layout before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddyphi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Noho, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and detailed account of your experience with us at Ovolo 286 Queen’s Road Central. It is very rewarding for all of us to read that you enjoyed many of the services and room features on offer and that our staff was able to meet your expectations and check you in and out efficiently. That you were also able to take in some of the sights and nearby restaurants during your time was also great to see.

Your comments regarding the bedding arrangements in your room have been noted. We regret to readthat your sleep was disturbed by the floorplan but satisfied that your room was adequately insulated from any outside noise. Please know that we will use your comments here to improve upon our services. Once again thank you for all of your great feedback. The next time you are in Hong Kong please let us know so we can host you and your family again.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our assumptions of the room were going to be small based on TA reviews so our expectations weren't high. The room was compact but worked. Comfortable bed, great bathroom with a small rainshower head, flatscreen TV, free mini bar and a small goodie bag upon arrival.

Reception staff were friendly and check in/out was efficient. We made it one night for happy hour and the alcoholic beverages were plentiful. They also provided some snacks which was great! Nespresso machine behind reception is also available 24/7.

Hotel is a short walk to Sheung Wan MTR, and walking distance to Hong Kong & Central MTRs. Also close to LKF and there is a McDonalds across from the hotel if you need a late night snack after a night out.

We stayed for 3 nights, which was enough. I agree with others that I would not recommend staying here any longer as the size of the room will get to you. My only downside would be that the walls are a bit thin, but other than that, I cannot fault the room or the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elvee208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I just spent 2 nights here with my friend here, nice stay. Though the room was not very big but other things were so good. Our room was very beautiful, nice decor and comfortable. Good breakfast included in room rate. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a very efficient, very small boutique hotel. New, clean and everything you need. They include breakfast and have new, high efficiency washers and dryers (5 of them!) for your use, 24/7 and they supply the detergent...all at no extra charge.
Hop and skip to the subway.
If you won't like small, make sure you look on line at their photos...for a night, it was perfect even though my husband found it too small.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juanthewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

As previous reviewers have said the rooms here are very small, however the whole hotel is very well designed and equipped. All the rooms are stylish with a Japanese theme with the comfy bed on a sleeping platform. I was travelling alone so the room size was fine however for a couple it could be a little claustrophobic if you spend lots of time in the room.

The location is very easy to get to via MTR being 5 minutes walk (past an interesting snake shop) from Sheung Wan MTR accessible from the airport via the airport express and then a free transfer to the MTR at Hong Kong / Central. When not carrying big suitcases the main centre of Hong Kong is only 10 minutes walk away and all major sights on Hong Kong Island in walking distance. The local area is a mix of modern and old Hong Kong being on the border between the ultra modern Central / SoHo districts and the old Chinese Sheung Wan.

In every room there is a free mini bar which is replenished daily which contained 5 bottles of still water, 2 sparkling water, 2 coke and 2 Singha beers this was a very nice touch. The free breakfast was adequate with a small continental breakfast buffet. Having free soft drinks and snacks in the lounge all day also comes in handy to tide you over till dinner!

The staff were very pleasant and spoke perfect English.

If you want a hotel which spends your money on giving a good experience rather than useless empty space then this hotel is a great choice.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

For the price and location, it was a good stay for 4 nights. Any longer and the room would've gotten to us. It's on the small side, but has added touches that make up for it. The mini bar is free, although the fridge never got the drinks cold. There is an apple tv as well, which I was able to hook my ipad up and watch videos on the tv instead. We were on the 20 floor, and we could hear the clicking of the walk/don't walk alarm from the street, it wasn't loud enough to keep us awake or anything. The tv next to us could also be heard so the sound proofing is a little on the lighter side. The breakfast is adequate, with lunch meat and cheese, breads, yogurt and cereal. It also got old by the last day. The location is nice, located in Central and was about a 10-15 minute walk to Central train station or the piers to go over to kowloon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsnydez821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 725 in Hong Kong
829 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
791 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#59 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#34 of 725 in Hong Kong
327 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 725 in Hong Kong
931 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing