We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very small rooms, but excellent everything else.”
Review of Ovolo Noho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ovolo Noho
Ranked #35 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very small rooms, but excellent everything else.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

rooms are really, really smalls, but are gorgeous, clean, modern and if you are traveling by yourself this is the hotel, because it's definitely not a family hotel because of the space. staff is really nice, i would stay there again, breakfast is included and its nice, but it's not buffet so there are not really many choices, so by the end of my trip i was tired of the same, but it's very nice though.
they give you nice stuff like a shopping bag, mini bar is free also, snacks, and they have happy hour in the afternoon which i enjoyed a lot.
the location is very good, central and close to many things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurisMoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    340
    65
    18
    9
See reviews for
100
447
129
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great Hotel in a central location, right in central, walkable to the nightlife of Soho/LKF. Close to central station for arriving from the airport.

The rooms are small but they are well designed to maximise space and the bed was extremely comfy.

The service is excellent, really friendly staff on reception who were always eager to help. The free breakfast was basic but a great way to start the day and the happy hour drinks is a nice touch as too is the complimentary mini bar.

If you're looking for an affordable, clean, well appointed hotel with great service then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Ovolo 286, the rooms are really tiny but it doesn't feel that way as they have been well designed to make us of all the available space.
All the freebies are nice: snacks (the brownies and cookies are divine!), minibar, happy hour, breakfast, wifi. This is what all hotels should be like!

Only gripes were the staff, the two girls at reception were not the smartest girls and seemed quite overworked at times especially during the happy hour when they were busy cutting cheese and re-stocking rather than dealing with issues at the reception. Also the reception area is tiny and so there would often be luggage all over the place and because the lobby and happy hour/breakfast area are basically one space you could hear all the disgruntled guest complaints while you were eating and drinking, they should ideally split the two areas and have them on separate floors. The toilet/shower room of the gym was also disgusting with dirty used towels on the floor. The happy hour was also a bit weird, nice selection of drinks but lots of groups of big families sitting there the whole time hogging all the available seating and putting their feet up on the chairs felt a bit more like a hostel than a trendy hotel.

Good location and overall a good stay due to the rooms, location and freebies, would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

As most of the posts state, the rooms are small but the hotel is very clean and the staff was great. Having a "free" breakfest is a huge plus in my book, a little food and a cup of espresso and then head out for the day. That's all I was looking for and this hotel delivered. Location is great right near Soho and easy access to the subway. Rooms are priced well for HK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Well located, the Ovolo Queen's Road hotel is a comfortable property to discover HKG from. The rooms are small, but well appointed (free minibar, appleTV, good bathroom amenities, quality bedding, etc.). The lounge is a nice touch, with soft drinks, Nespresso coffee machine, snacks, etc. available all day. In the evening, the alcohol comes out for a couple of hours and is complementary. The Ovolo staff surprised me with a bottle of Prosecco in my room, after my parents called from Switzerland to have a bottle delivered to me for my birthday. The best part is that Ovolo insisted on providing it free-of-charge! Thanks for that little touch that made all the difference. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will probably be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luccin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

+ good location in Central (Sheung Wan MTR, Exit A or F are close)
+ room structure (a showcase on how to make the most out of little space)
+ free minibar and snacks
+ fluffy bathing slippers
+ 24/7 desk in lobby (helpful staff!)
+ WiFi in rooms
- room prices (but then again HK rooms aren't cheap)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and I must say i lived up to my expectations!
I took a cab from the airport, got a little lost as it's not very easy to find the Hotel!

Quick tip guys: It's right across McDonalds on Queen's Road Central and look out for a Red sign with the letter "O". Very hidden, not easy to find.

Rooms: Very cosy! Liked it! It was indeed small (very HK) but yet just nice for a solo traveler like me! Bed was comfy, room was tastefully decorated. Toilet was nice albeit tiny. Enough space only for 1 baggage to be unloaded.. Not sure if I'd stay here if I'm coming with my partner. Mini-Bar wasn't cold enough... Am not a beer drinker so didn't matter. I thought the loot bag was a cute welcoming gift though!

Breakfast: Mediocre. It was free after all, but I loved the fact that they had the Nespresso machine for coffee. Food spread was ok - limited, but I'm not complaining.

Location: Excellent! Very near to cafes, restaurants, bars, supermarkets. One stop away to everything! Nearest MTR station would be Sheung Wan, just cross the street to where McDonald's is and walk straight.. Takes no less than 5 mins. Also climb the stairs behind the hotel and walk all the way to your left and you have Hollywood Road... Very near to Soho and LKF too... Close to ATMs too.

Service: I thought the Front Desk was a little cold to my liking. Helpful, yes but not the sort of warm attitude you'd expect from a Hotel.

Overall: Loved this hotel, would definitely stay here if I come by again - only if I'm coming alone though. Loved the small and cosy feel to it and the great location but it's only an excellent choice if you're on your own.

Room Tip: Choose the City Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sufifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#56 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#23 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#29 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#107 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Noho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Noho

Property: Ovolo Noho
Address: 286 Queen's Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Noho 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fast and fun times in Central Hong Kong in this unique business boutique hotel, Ovolo Noho. Make your stay stylish, intimate and cool in a hip neighbourhood.Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ovolo Noho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 286 Queens Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Noho Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing