We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location. Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Cafe

JW Cafe
Ranked #88 of 6,874 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Description: The restaurant offers an exciting all-day dining experience, featuring international a la carte selections and sumptuous buffets in a relaxed, modern setting. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
hk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location. Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

One place in Hong Kong where you are always assured to get great food is the Marriot Cafe.
The spread especially for breakfast is superb.
There are many Continental/Chinese/Indian options.
The seating has been well thought out and does not feel crowded.
Staff pleasant & attentive.
Dinner buffet is an option and recommended if one chooses in house dining.
Desserts are quite a temptation for ones with a sweat tooth.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ns8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st Louis
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful/stays open late for travelers arriving at late hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I could not have made a better club sandwich myself! It was delicious after 18 hours in a plane! My husband ordered the burger and it was grilled perfectly.The service was quite pleasant too. We could hear the live music from the bar below which was nice.
I would reccomend this any one staying at the JW.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank stlanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is more of an afternoon buffet, rather than one of the more formal and traditional English teas offered in some of the other HK hotels. The buffet runs every weekday from 3.30 to 6.00 and offers a pot of tea and continual grazing during this time. There are a variety of asian and western foods on offer, including sushi, noodles, dim sum, deli meets, cheeses and salads, sandwiches etc, plus a large selection of desserts, cakes, scones, crapes, ice-cream and fruit. At weekends the afternoon prices are a little higher, but they also offer a champagne brunch in the mornings.

As well as the hotel guests, this is a place where girlfriends meet up for an afternoon chat or business men do deals over cake. I've taken visiting friends and family there several times and they've all really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the food. It's also a good place to sit and relax with a book in the afternoon if you are on your own.

As in any restaurant, there are some days when food choices and service are better than others, but I have never felt that I wasn't getting values for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JNEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

JW Marriott cafe's buffet used to be the best in HK. I went with my family for a dinner buffet recently and was totally disappointed!

1. Tables were packed, atmosphere was very noisy , even worse than a fast food outlet!
2. I did not have the feeling that I was dining in a 5-star hotel.
3. The sushi bar at the buffet was hopeless, only 4 kinds of sashimi, freshness was only so so and served by a sleepy, unhappy chef!
4. The fresh vegetables for salad were not fresh!
5. Did not refill food right a way, even for the corns on the salad tables, it took them 30 mins to have it refilled!

We were so disappointed!

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angryguest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
149 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Yes, good value for the money, fresh food, 4 station for lunch and diversified. A place that i will keep on visiting form time to time, but definitely need a reservation a day before. Nice decor, very high ceiling, huge space and nice outside view.
Unfortunately today i had a bad experience with one of the staff. The supervisor Toni, was rushing everything, even though the place was not full. Natalie, the waitress was kind enough to clean the table and apologize on behalf of her supervisor. I think it was just a case in a million where i have a bad experience this morning. But as usual , i prefer to address it on the spot rather then just leaving. Today Toni was in charge and when i asked for a manger I was told that she is the one for the day. Too bad, I have some time today to right about it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jas961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JW Cafe also viewed

 

Been to JW Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing