We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, really comfortable room”
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff at W really make you feel welcome and will get in and organise anything you need - including printing forgotten business cards! It's a new hotel and it was very comfortable. I like a nice soft bed and a spacious shower and got both. It's in an interesting location, Kowloon's main area is not far away but because of all the construction on roads around the area it took me a while to work out the route I could have taken for a jog. Only a short cheap ride anywhere by taxis though.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank QbnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello QbnSteve and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is a great honor to hear from guests that our services and facilities make for a wonderful stay. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 4,007 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room facilities are wonderful! Good service! Location is good, convenient for sightseeing, shopping and food! The bed/pillow is comfortable; few Hotel can be the same! The pool is wonderful; I love the spa pool with wide open view! The TV sound stereo is amazing! It is my second time to stay. Although I have bad experience during my 1st stay but Francis help me to solve the problem; moreover I got upgraded room with beautiful view this time! I will definitely visit again W Hotel HongKong. Only internet charge is a little bit disappointed. I mean the charge is not a big deal so why not free to all gust so everybody would happy! Personally speaking, I think internet is necessary as water!

Room Tip: High level with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello Bobbie T. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the fabulous room on 36th floor, free of charge... just asked.
When going back from a trip we were thinking out loud about a chocolote... voilla, two chocolates waiting for us in the room (every single day :))
Although it's a huge upscale hotel, it does not have this upscale snob atmosphere to it. More like a high class apartment building with a club-like reception, infinity pool on 72nd floor (a must go, even in february!) and outstanding concierge service.

Their motto is whatever, whenever and it works...

Room Tip: Get a Fabulous room with harbor view, at least at 30th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirtyFeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello 3606 and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that our Whatever/Whenever service commitment lived up to expectations throughout your stay. Thanks for sharing! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spotless hotel. Great atmosphere. Close to everything. Pool & gym also great. You can walk to a lot from this hotel. Restaurants had great food and vibe. The whole hotel is beautiful, and customer service is top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello Lizzie R and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. it is great to know that our services and our location made a good impression during your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I found the bed too soft. Water leak from the shower room when we took shower because the door cannot be closed tight. Room is big and comfortable. overall great experience but in room internet speed is quite disappointing especially i had to pay for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxxaatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello Maxxasstravels and thank you for your valuable comments. I am disappointed that you had such a poor experience of W Hong Kong and I have already discussed with the related department heads here to ensure repairs and improvements are made quickly. I am confident that if you do choose to stay at W Hong Kong when you return the issues will have been resolved. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

W HONG KONG :
It was to my surprisethat the saying whenever you want, whenever you want is a custom-madefor myself serive. Pryia took care of us like we were royalty. From explaining the different HK attractions to discussing our future travels, she brought us on a service-oriented utopia. I was amazing how she secured all steps to guide us back to express checkin. She brought us to MTR and made sure that we felt at ease and we were very happy. I believe her attitude, emotional intelligence and skills will guide her to the top tier of Starwood. Benson was also quite pleaant and made us feel very at ease.
I already am looking forward to my next W experience. Where design, arts, service meets with excellence.
To Pryia i raise a glasss of fine champagne. !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClubMedDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hello ClubMedDan and thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation of our talented team members at W Hong Kong! Your gratitude has been shared with them and it is a source of great encouragement. Please return soon - we are driving continuous improvement daily here. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the W Hotel in Hong Kong. This hotel is overrated and overpriced. When I took a shower, the water overflowed and leaked out into the whole bathroom. When I informed the front desk, they said they were aware of the problem and blamed it on the design of the shower. Even when staying on a higher floor, the traffic noise level from the street was bad. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfrancisco201025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hello sanfrancisco201025 and I was very sorry to hear of your poor experience of W Hong Kong. It is clear that one or more of us has let the entire team down through their failure to respond correctly to the water overflow issues in your bathroom. I am investigating and our Director of Welcome and Training Manager will be using this case study in our training programs in the coming months to ensure guests do not receive such unresponsive and poor service in future. It is a serious breach of our Whatever Whenever service commitment and I completely understand your disappointment and surprise at such a response. Regarding traffic noise in the room, I have never received such comments from guests, but have no doubt that when combined with our handling of your complaint, this contributed to making your W experience a very poor one. Since the windows are double-glazed and the building is generally well sound-proofed, I am afraid there is no immediate change I can make to improve in this area, but I have noted your comments for future capital investment considerations. Sincerely, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,081 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#6 of 725 in Hong Kong
764 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $301 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing