We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #10 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“2nd time WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Back again for one night after Sheraton Hong Kong, got the same floor as the previous stay with the same awesome view. Pity did not managed to try out the breakfast again... due to my laziness and the comfortable W Signature bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nivla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello nivla83, thank you for revisiting W Hong Kong and it is an honored that you have also enjoyed your stay with us. We’re delighted the W beds was enjoyed to the max! Hope to see you again very soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,822
    663
    112
    44
    22
See reviews for
504
998
284
1,163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, rooms gorgeous and so clean. Very chic and elegant.. service was incredible! Food was great! Room service was prompt and very pleasant. Beds were comfortable and plus. Looking forward to going back.!
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who travel Hong Kong.!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Sebastian L and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope to see you back with us again soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed one night a few weeks ago and had a very pleasant stay. Sammy e mailed me a week prior to my arrival to get a feel for what time I would be arriving and I was very surprised to see that Sammy was actually the one checking me in at the SPG elite desk, that kind of service is why I keep staying as often as I can at SPG properties. The Kitchen restaurant was a great experience and a good value for the money considering the cost and quality of the food. I will hope to come back an visit them again some day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello VWGuru, thank you for your continuous support as our SPG member. We are delighted that W Hong Kong created an enjoyable experience for you and we are definitely looking forward to your return visit soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel theme is not like any other i've visited, modern and stylish ! It is located next to the mal complex, Elements, that carries some of the top brands - good for those who like to shop.
Convenient location to go anywhere as the kowloon mtr station is right below the hotel ... No need to walk far outside the building.
Hotel service is nice. My room was upgraded to harbour view, food is very good, too.
The only downside is the rate, i stayed there for 3 nights and it cost me around HK$ 9,000. Well i guess it was all worthed.

Recommended if you have the budget !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojdrahaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello ojdrahaR, thank you for writing your review on TripAdvisor. While we may be one of the more expensive hotels in the city, we aim for our service quality, environment and facilities to make it worth every penny. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The W Hong Kong has everything you expect from W hotels worldwide. It's swanky with a clubby feel in the lobby and lounge areas, but your room is a nice escape from all of that when you want it. The W Hong Kong is connected to a nice shopping mall that is convenient for restaurants and shopping. Perhaps the most praiseworthy aspect of the W Hong Kong compared to other W experiences I've had is the courteous attitude of the staff. After checkin, we realized that we forgot our iPhone chargers; the staff had one on hand and immediately lent it to us. Also, our checkout day was my travel companion's birthday. The hotel manager took note of this and had a box of chocolates and personally signed card waiting at the reception...a very nice touch. We left feeling very welcomed and satisfied.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello Kelvin R, thank you for staying with W Hong Kong and indeed one of the vital aspects of W Hong Kong is the quality of the talents. It is encouraging to know that the services provided made your stay with us even more enjoyable. We hope to see you visit us again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed in Starwood properties before but this was my first time in a W. It was excellent throughout and if you’re looking for a location in Hong Kong that is modern, stylish, welcoming and offers everything you would expect, then this is an excellent choice for your stay.

I was travelling with two colleagues on business and we all agreed it was superb throughout. If and when I return to HK, I would not hesistate to rebook and I think that’s about as good a recommendation as I could make.

Briefly, and in case you don’t know Hong Kong – I didn’t - the hotel is actually in Kowloon. This is not a problem in any way, as you can be on HK island within a few minutes in a cab for about £9, get a cab to the Star Ferry and go that way – 30p for the ferry ride, about £4 for the cab there – or take the MTR (which we didn’t do, so no idea how much that costs). It is also well connected for getting to Nathan Road where all the ‘main’ shops are (on Nathan road you should prepare to get hassled by people selling moody watches and trying to get you into massage parlours if you’re a man ). It is also right on top of a ‘premium’ shopping centre which offers a food court, premium brands (Louis V, Gucci, Tiffany, Rolex etc) and access to the ICC building which, let me tell you, is a must-do whilst in HK for the views alone.

Anyway back to the W. We booked standard 35sq/m rooms and got two with views facing the ICC, and one facing out to sea. They are more than good enough for several days – do not be put off by the size – and contain desk, sofa, huge bed, great rainfall shower, fast wifi, great deep bath. No need to spend any more in my opinion, around $2500HKD per night.

Didn’t use the Spa or the Gym on our visit, but did use the rooftop pool – awesome views again, despite the smog – and the jacuzzi in the mens’ changing room offers 8 foot windows with a view of the city. The hotel also has a great bar area that serves snacks, alcoholic and soft drinks and is a great place to spend some time. Mini burgers were great.

And so to the thing that makes most hotels work or not. The staff. They are exceptional in every respect. Doormen who cannot help enough, concierges with an excellent knowledge of the city, friendly receptionists who will even charge your phone whilst you’re having a drink, efficient quiet room attendants … need I go on?

So what are you still reading this review for? Go book it and save yourself any more hunting. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youaremessedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello v4nnm and thank you so much for the enthusiastic review on TripAdvisor! We have shared your review with our team and I am sure it was a source of great encouragement to them. We can’t wait to have you back with W Hong Kong soon! Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am not typically a fan of the staff at W Hotels, but I have always enjoyed the facilities. In this case them came together in harmony. My problem with the W staff is that they are too young to know much about style and comfort. They TRY really hard and often get it wrong. Not the case of the W Hong Kong - they got it right.

The facility is also everything you expect from the W and Hong Kong - style, elegance, sophistication and modern. The rooms are designed like I would like my home with modern touches such as preset lighting schemes (daylight, evening or sleep), automatic room shades, integrated TV and stereo, and of course a heavenly bed.

Next, BREAKFAST Buffet - tremendous variety and quality - ranging from a Hong Kong breakfast to a traditional English breakfast, fresh juices, a cheese bar, fresh baked pastries, hold and cold cereals, and more. During the meal a server brings around a selection of sushi, pastries and other goodies straight from the kitchen.

Finally, you have direct access to the Hong Kong airport with airline check-in and the airport express train located beneath the W Hotel in the Elements shopping center.

TIP: While you can both check in and store bags in the Express Train terminal, if you have a long wait between checkout of the W and checkin for the plane, leave your bags at the hotel and go back in time for the W to give you access to the gym and showers before you leave. I took full advantage of the sauna, a shower and all of the grooming essentials before a 15 hour flight back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Of course ask for a room of Hong Kong Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouzaKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHildebrand, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello SouzaKH, thank you for giving W Hong Kong the opportunity to demonstrate the quality of service we can provide, and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our breakfast buffet at Kitchen is certainly a “must try” for our guests and we are indeed very pleased that you appreciated it. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,452 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Property: W Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing