We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New Building, Big Rooms, Great Views, Good Location, Great Bar at Night.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #10 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Building, Big Rooms, Great Views, Good Location, Great Bar at Night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business in October. It's location is excellent as the airport train station is part of the same building complex. To make it better, you can actually check your luggage before getting on the train when heading back to the airport. Great rooms, helpful staff, good views. Make sure to visit the Ritz lounge next door. It is 118 stories up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello Marc W, and thanks for your comments on the hotel. I have shared with the team here and they are pleased to know you found their service to be helpful. Warm wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,555
    632
    106
    42
    20
See reviews for
448
910
270
1,080
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Memorable hotel, with the signature W Hotel quirky/funky style. The breakfast buffet is a highlight of the totally spectacular menu at Kitchen. The rooms are quiet and well appointed, and mine had a good view, but the Ritz Carlton directly in front of the hotel obscures the best view of the harbour. The high-rise infinity pool (on the 76th floor, if I recall correctly) is a highlight, but the wind was so strong while I was there, the pool deck wasn't a pleasant place to be at any time of day. Finally, the location is not great - directly above Kowloon Station, sure, but a fairly long trek to Nathan Road and Kowloon proper. It's bound in by highways on one side and construction on the other, so the only place to walk is in the high-end, high-price shopping mall below. Overall, a great stay - would happily stay again, but this hotel has its limitations

Room Tip: Don't expect to see much of the harbour from the hotel - some of the rooms have great views, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello tarekparera. We appreciate your frank feedback. I was pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel, in particular the breakfast offerings at Kitchen restaurant. While our location is convenient via public or private transportation to any part of the city, it is currently true that the location has limitations for exploration by foot. Though it has been well disguised and the construction is not obvious, the trek to Nathan Road goes directly past the site of the new high speed rail station to China, so as the areas develops it will become even more convenient for pedestrians. The hotel is also located nearby the future HK$21.6 billion West Kowloon Cultural District which will feature a new museum of visual culture, numerous theatres, concert halls and other performance venues. In the meantime, guests who wish to walk should know that the Elements shopping mall below the hotel houses some of the best shopping in Hong Kong, along with a movie cinema, ice-skating rink, bookshops, beauty salons, cafes and more. We hope to have you back soon to see the evolution of W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

One of the best in Hong Kong. Great staff. Location couldn't be better, walk to Kowloon station. Check out the Ozone Bar next door at the Ritz. 118 floors up! The mall is just off the 1st floor. The only downside I could find was thr Ritz Carlton blocks the sun to the pool for 90 each day.

Room Tip: Take a "Cool Corner Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello porschett, and thanks for the great review of W Hong Kong! Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again soon. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
967 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,456 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at the W Hong Kong 10+ times - and I just love it! The design, the smell, the bar, the rooms, the service and - especially - the outdoor infinity-pool and -whirlpool at the 76th floor. I also like the location at the Elements shopping mall because you've got everything you need right at hand, a 7-Eleven for buying drinks & SIM Card, a very good hair dresser, many restaurants (of which Lei Garden should be named for Dim-Sum) and all the shops you need, from Hermes to Dolce &Gabbana.

The W staff is always very friendly and helpful & the rooms are just stunning. This time we had a Wonderful Suite which is approx 800 sft, with view towards Hong Kong island. What can I say, the rooms are WOW, stylish, super, the bed just fantastic...

I tried others, such as the Grand Hyatt, the Mandarin Oriental etc. But W is by far the best in Hong Kong, maybe even the best in the region.

TIP: skip the very expensive breakfast (not even free for SPG Platinum members), go to the Elements mall and have something there, if possible Dim-Sum at Lei Garden (from 11:30, reservation required).

Room Tip: A Corner- or Wonderful Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello HONkiev and thank you very much for your informative review of W Hong Kong. I was really pleased to hear that you rate the hotel as best in class in the region, and I will be sharing this with all hotel talent to encourage them in their efforts to continuously improve our service levels. These kind of comments make a huge difference to the team, so thanks very much for sharing. Regarding breakfast, I would like to apologize if you had not been informed upon checkin that SPG Platinum members are offered a choice of several benefits upon arrival, and one of these options is a complimentary breakfast. Also, further to your comments on dim sum options for breakfast, I should share that our Chinese restaurant Sing Yin on the ground floor of the hotel offers all-you-can-eat dim sum from 9:30am-11am on Saturdays, Sundays and Public holidays at $175. We have rave reviews about this offering so please give us a try on your next visit! Hope to have you back again soon at W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days during our visit to hong kong. Its a lovely hotel, very trendy design. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the harbour. The bathtub was next to a large window with harbour view...very luxurious. The heated swimming pool is on the 76th floor with glass around it so as to maximize the breathtaki g views of the hong kong skyline and harbour. Nice!
The hotel is ideally located since the mall and kowloon MTR station are just below he hotel. The airport express comes directly to kowloon station, thats very convenient. Breakfast was excellant with very wide choice.
All that luxury does come at a hefty pricetag though! But at least you get super luxury and quality and service for the price! Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting hong kong

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Gogo0811. Fabulous to know you enjoyed staying in the lap of luxury – W style. We always appreciate feedback and are continually looking for ways to elevate the our guests experience. Please come again soon. Thank you and warm wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not cheap, but outstanding hotel across the board - good service, nice bar, modern rooms and a great location if you are doing business in Kowloon. Train station downstairs in same building with airport check-in right there. Access to incredible shopping without going ouside and hotel is very convienient to ICC building. Nice views from upper rooms. Fitness room is on 73rd floor with great view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello skodie. Thanks for your very thoughtful review and I’m glad you like the hotel, it’s location and services in general. We will continue working every day to ensure we offer our guests good value for money. I hope to have you back again soon at W Hong Kong. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The W is not a cheap hotel but the old adage rings true 'you get what you pay for', and at the W, you will pay. This is a hotel of serious quality, priced to match.

You won't find a cheaper rate than the Starwood corporate website and you can expect a minimum cost in excess of US $400 per night. At that price you might expect breakfast and in-room Wi Fi but these are extras which soon add up. The Wi Fi is fine but outrageously overpriced. The breakfast is, however, one of the best I've seen. The mini bar prices redefine unreasonableness, taking it to stratospheric new heights.

The hotel is very moden, the staff are friendly and it feels as though they're doing you a favour with every dollar they extract.

My 'spectacular' room had great views and was fantastic in the early evening - the sunset over Victoria Harbour and the glow of the city as it lights up justify the (relativley) small additional expense of a slightly better room.

Room Tip: For advance bookings they offer an internet & breakfast add-on for HK $200 per night, buy it; th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hello Douglas J and thank you very much for your comments further to your recent stay with us. I am glad you felt you got what you paid for at W Hong Kong and your comments serve as a very important reminder that we need our guests to continue to feel the hotel is providing value for money. I will be sharing your comments with all department heads here to emphasis this point and to ensure we strive for continuous service improvements every day. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Best wishes, Peter Hildebrand, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Property: W Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing