We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Meal In A Special Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lung King Heen

Lung King Heen
Ranked #20 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $193
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Seafood and dim sum are among the specialties at this exquisite, authentic Cantonese restaurant at Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong - the world's first Chinese restaurant to be awarded the coveted Michelin three-star rating.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Special Meal In A Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The sumptuous decor enhanced our dining experience, with a view of Hong Kong’s glittering skyline and harbour lights. The excellent food, the service and the views made our special St Valentines dinner even more memorable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    158
    76
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
176 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“High Quality Food but $$$$$”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Food quality was excellent. However, the price of the dishes do not meet its quality of the food. Yes, the dishes had very nice presentation; very high quality ingredients are used. Its worth the eat for once in a lifetime or every blue moon. The service is one of the best I experience in a hong kong restaurant. kudos to the team. I would rather head the hong kong streets for food. We paid around US$300 for 2 persons.

And yes, its a nice place. Nice restaurant setting and a very nice harbour view. One can view the building night lights in Tsim Sha Tsui (which is across the harbour).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JC_5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
350 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good but Not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant with fine views and superb service. The food was all very good and tasty but it did not overwhelm us as you would expect a Michelin Star restaurant to wow us. I am being picky here as again everything was very good and I cannot complain about anything in specific but compared to other Michelin Star restaurants it did not wow us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our expectations were high. As it should be for a 3 Michelin star restaurant, but to our surprise, it was really ordinary. To sum it up, a classy overpriced PF changs. The waiter was nice, but never once did he ask how things were going. Two of us got the chef's tasting (7 course) with wine pairing and the rest ordered a la carte. The tasting was good, especially the wagyu beef, but really nothing special in presentation and taste. The Cantonese Style Pan-Fried Chicken Fillet with Cognac was sad. Chicken wasn't fresh, and when it came out, it was dry and tough. My mom couldn't eat it. Luckily when the waiter finally asked how things were at the end of the meal, they took the dish off our bill. The lung king heen appetizer combination of roast pork, BBQ pork, and roasted duck was delicious. The Chilean sea bass was very good, sweet and cooked perfectly. The sautéed Australian duck with hazelnut and ginger was my favorite.

All in all, the meal was good aside from the chicken. Honestly I think the greatest disappointment is that this has a 3 Michelin star rating. Maybe the criteria for Michelin stars are different in the east. The ambiance was great. Beautiful view of the harbor. Based upon our experiences in the states where a 2 Michelin star restaurant is phenomenal, and a 3 is out of this world, it was just a disappointment because of such high expectations. The sommelier's enthusiastic attitude made up for our waiter's lack of.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dim sum with our 7yo - fabulous experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I completely agree with all the positive comments. We dined at lunchtime (children welcomed Mon - Fri at lunchtime, if aged over 3). My partner and I selected all the dishes from the Dim sum menu and the waiting staff suggested fried calamari in a nest for our son. Because my partner and I had a glass of champagne each, the Sommelier produced an identical-looking drink for our son, also in a flute (ginger beer and cranberry). Very elegant but relaxed atmosphere, service was extremely warm and efficient and the dim sum was fabulous - each course was beautifully presented. Our favourites were the Baked Whole Abalone Puff with Diced Chicken, Steamed Shanghainese Pork Dumplings with Scallops, Steamed Jizong Mushroom Dumplings with Lotus Root and the Baked Barbecued Pork Buns with Pine Nuts. They also served complimentary petit four. It was very reasonable, (excluding the champagne). I would recommend Lung King Heen without hesitation....but ensure that you book ahead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeladyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lung King Heen also viewed

 

Been to Lung King Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing