We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”
Review of Lung King Heen

Lung King Heen
Ranked #37 of 8,549 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $192
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Seafood and dim sum are among the specialties at this exquisite, authentic Cantonese restaurant at Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong - the world's first Chinese restaurant to be awarded the coveted Michelin three-star rating.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had booked a table here 2 months before our trip. As it was for a Saturday night, were weren't able to book a window table, but were delighted to be given one when we arrived. Lovely restaurant with nicely (but not overly) attentive staff. Decided to go for the tasting menu with accompanying wines. Some of the courses were terrific: hot & sour soup with wontons, abalone with oyster sauce, wagyu beef. I'm just not sure that they deserve 3 michelin stars, certainly not compared with British restaurants, but still a lovely evening

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    176
    82
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The very best in Chinese cuisine!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We had the best dim sum ever! Went for Sunday brunch and were wowed dish after dish by the flavors, quality, and wonderful presentation. The staff and service is second to none, definetely consistent with Four Seasons quality and well worth the 3 Michelin stars! The view is great too. Would highly recommend not missing this restaurant on your visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyM_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“3 Michelin stars completely deserved”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Out of this world food service and views. They should have a silent mobile policy though. Duck worth ordering in advance. Fantastic

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A feast fit for a king”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Hubby made a booking with high expectations seeing that this was the only Cantonese cuisine restaurant with a 3 Michelin restaurant rating. Service was fantastic with the restaurant confirming our booking and emailing to confirm with us if the booking was firm. When we got there, we were seated at a window table as requested. Service was attentive, efficient and not overbearing. Special thanks to Jerry who ensured our children were well looked after. He noticed our littles one needed an extra cushion for support and provided it. We started off with an amuse bouche of mixed vegetables and fungi which was light and refreshing. The chef recommendation of crispy scallops, Fresh pear and yunnan ham was a lovely mix of complementary textures and flavours. We had the hot and sour tofu soup with shrimp wontons . We enjoyed it but it was too spicy for our children but they devoured the shrimp wontons. Next was the crispy fillet chicken with sesame and lemon sauce. We ordered it for the children but lemon chicken in most Chinese restaurants would be a poor cousin to this dish. We can never order lemon chicke. Au where else again. Light, crispy batter, succulent meat and a tangy lemon sauce unlike the floury and oily batter and cloyingly sweet fluorescent sauce you get in your local Chinese takeaway. The Australian wagyu beef and model mushroom s was our standout dish. We have never tasted beef cooked so well. It was melt in your mouth with slightly caramelizee bits on the beef cubes. Lastly, we ordered the lobster fried rice. It was lightly flavored so as not to overpower the taste of the seafood. We were surprised with complimentary dessert of chilled mango with sago and pomelo and petit fours. A lovely refreshing finish to the meal. To summarize our experience in one word, outstanding!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ozmuminuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Three hats is an understatement”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is easy to get a table there, but their food and service will not disappoint you.
The scallop and pear dish is to die for. No wonder it has been the signature dish since day one.
Drink list was comprehensive.
The waiters were attentive and knowledgeable.
When the manager learnt that we didn't enjoy a pork dish ordered, he offered to cancel the dish from the bill with a replacement dish of our choice and complementary desserts.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and we would definitely return when we are in town next.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenTse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lung King Heen also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Lung King Heen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing