We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, zero sound insulation, can't sleep at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Ranked #513 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 24, 2013

1) The room was on the 3rd floor, and it was so terribly noisy that we didn't sleep till 3am and were woken up again at 7am by the buses running. You could hear everything. The buses, the horns, the people taking shower next door, banging on doors etc.
2) The room was terribly small. We asked for a double bed, and got two singles - but don't let that fool you. The beds were so narrow that I, who weigh 105 lbs, had to sleep on my side the whole night.
3) The room was terribly bright, and the curtains just didn't do the trick. You see light seeping through the curtains the whole night - yes, from all the buses running late into the night.
4) The bathroom was completely transparent - if you got two singles, it means you're sharing with a friend - do you want people seeing you peeing and stripped naked for showers? And, yes, you can see everything, because the MIRROR was right across from the bathroom and no matter where you stand in the room, you see everything.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. There are better options at similar price.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILYDMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your view. Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus is a micro luxury boutique hotel located in the middle of bustling Wanchai and Causeway Bay area. Our commitment is a distinct focus on your personal well-being and your comfort is our utmost priority. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and try our Deluxe Premium Room or Executive Room which are located on our upper floors with an intuitive sense of cosiness and comfort. Furthermore, we have bath curtain available upon request, simply contact our Guest Services representatives at the reception desk to arrange the said. Again, we treasure your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night, just a stopover before we go to Macau. This hotel is centrally located, price was great ( as we got it half of the normal price), but the room we stayed in was very small. We requested a double bed as we are a couple, but there was none available. My boyfriend was shocked at the size of the room, specially when the bathroom wall is made of glasses as is the shower room. Beds are not comfortable neither. The only plus side of our stay was the friendliness of the staff, very helpful and smily.
Great if you have no luggage and just need a quick place to stay, not so good after a 20 hours flight and you need a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaM933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are a micro-luxury boutique hotel and our commitment is a distinct focus on your personal well-being. Exceeding our guests' expectations is what we always aim for and I am so pleased we have accomplished it with you. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus in the not too distant future.

Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Best to steer well clear of this one, don't let its location fool you. Booked for a room with a double bed, they provided two singles. When we asked reception about this, they said only the premium rooms in the upper levels have double beds. To quote "Only about 4-6 of our rooms have double beds and they're all booked out".

After arguing that we specified for a double bed in our reservation (booked 1/2 year in advance!), surprisingly they found a vacant room with a double bed. This was only the start, when we finally got the room we had reserved, the conditions were absolutely horrendous. For starters, the desk was sticky and looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in a few months. The air conditioner did not have any heat setting (it was winter season), well there was but they had conveniently put something into the switch so it couldn't be set (couldn't push the switch to the HOT setting).

To make matters worst, the window behind the head of the bed was not sealed properly so street noise and a cold wind draft was constantly blowing into the room. The actual draft was passing over our heads as we slept. We even tried in vain to seal the window ourselves with the towels provided but alas it did not work. We bared with it since we were only staying for 1-2 nights and after the commotion with the reception we did not want any of our luggage to go missing had we complained again.

We've been to HK multiple times and this is by far the worst hotel, never ever touching this place again especially the attitude shown by one of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenjie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Y, 經理 at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am terribly sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience if you wish to discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My second return to this hotel after their renovation. This hotel is an excellent location, perfect for visiting HK Exhibitions & Conventions Centre and shopping district in Causeway Bay and Wanchai. The new design is modern and looks nice. Very small rooms but very clean wth a nice contemporary decoration. Perfect for a short business trip in HK. The staffs are young and friendly. They served me coffee upon my arrival which is a fantastic idea after a long distance flight. They told me it was a special promotion for the current month but I think they should keep it up and impress the customers. Breakfast is quite small and standard. Overall it's a good experience due to the excellent location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the discerning needs of our guests. We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The price of the hotel was really decent even though room was a bit small. However, it was comfortable and clean. A shrabby plant fragrance was all around the lobby smell really nice. The front desk staff was very helpful. I was given upon arrival a mobile phone to use which all local calls were free. If you are looking for WIFI facilities, make sure you book the room with breakfast or WIFI include, or simply visit the lounge on the 3rd floor, pay for a drink at around $20-30 and get singular usage. Again, the lounge was tiny but cozy with live music and broadcast TV. My room was about 12-14 sq m so called Business with a glass wall bath room. If you don't feel comfortable, call them for a curtain. Room amenities was OK, everything you need was there. Overall it was a good experience,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggbingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I travel to Vietnam numerous times a year, and like to stop for a day or two in Hong Kong. Its on my nickel, so I visit the various discount travel sites to find a hotel in the under $125 range. The same five hotels seem to always pop-up: Regal, Hotel Bonaparte, Cosmopolitan, Cosmo and Charterhouse. All are in the Wan Chai/Causeway Bay Area.
This is the WORST of the five. VERY tiny rooms. Poor service. Was checked in by "Kit" who was more concerned with my luggage than getting me processed. Even so, he didn't offer to help me with it. Tried to upsell, then gave me an upgrade anyway. The "upgrade" was the tiniest room I've ever stayed in by far. The toilet is in the shower, the TV is hanging on the wall, and there is no closet, just a "rack" hanging from the ceiling. The rooms have no phones. There is no WiFi. Internet is an upcharge and only good in the room using a Cable. Total FAIL

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turtle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is on a very busy street and it's very noisy up to wee hours in the night, the windows are not double paned. The room is REALLY small and the mattress REALLY hard.
The loo and the shower are in the same compartment with a sliding glass door which got stuck and I was trapped. Luckily, I had my mobile phone with me, otherwise nobody would've heard me. It took the maintenance ages to return to get it fixed.
There's no WiFi nor telephone in the room, though reception will provide you a mobile phone.
There are much better options in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#455 of 721 in Hong Kong
415 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#178 of 721 in Hong Kong
585 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#454 of 721 in Hong Kong
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#480 of 721 in Hong Kong
129 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
#473 of 721 in Hong Kong
129 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus

Address: No.11 Morrison Hill Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $56 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus is a micro boutique hotel with an intuitive sense of Cosiness, Comfort & Care. Centrally located between Causeway Bay and Wanchai, it is steps away from the city's major shopping areas including Times Square & SOGO, the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and financial district. A choice of modern Business, Premium, Deluxe Premium and Executive guestrooms await to pamper visitors. All guestrooms feature superb city views, a mini-bar, a large screen LED TV and are equipped with complimentary handy smartphone with unlimited local & international calls, and unlimited mobile internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte By Rhombus Hotel
Hotel Bonaparte By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing