We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible and overpriced hotel, there are much better options.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Ranked #275 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Terrible and overpriced hotel, there are much better options.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Best to steer well clear of this one, don't let its location fool you. Booked for a room with a double bed, they provided two singles. When we asked reception about this, they said only the premium rooms in the upper levels have double beds. To quote "Only about 4-6 of our rooms have double beds and they're all booked out".

After arguing that we specified for a double bed in our reservation (booked 1/2 year in advance!), surprisingly they found a vacant room with a double bed. This was only the start, when we finally got the room we had reserved, the conditions were absolutely horrendous. For starters, the desk was sticky and looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in a few months. The air conditioner did not have any heat setting (it was winter season), well there was but they had conveniently put something into the switch so it couldn't be set (couldn't push the switch to the HOT setting).

To make matters worst, the window behind the head of the bed was not sealed properly so street noise and a cold wind draft was constantly blowing into the room. The actual draft was passing over our heads as we slept. We even tried in vain to seal the window ourselves with the towels provided but alas it did not work. We bared with it since we were only staying for 1-2 nights and after the commotion with the reception we did not want any of our luggage to go missing had we complained again.

We've been to HK multiple times and this is by far the worst hotel, never ever touching this place again especially the attitude shown by one of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenjie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Y, 經理 at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am terribly sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience if you wish to discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    109
    79
    39
    46
See reviews for
24
55
58
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My second return to this hotel after their renovation. This hotel is an excellent location, perfect for visiting HK Exhibitions & Conventions Centre and shopping district in Causeway Bay and Wanchai. The new design is modern and looks nice. Very small rooms but very clean wth a nice contemporary decoration. Perfect for a short business trip in HK. The staffs are young and friendly. They served me coffee upon my arrival which is a fantastic idea after a long distance flight. They told me it was a special promotion for the current month but I think they should keep it up and impress the customers. Breakfast is quite small and standard. Overall it's a good experience due to the excellent location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Y, Manager at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve the quality of our products and services to better meet the discerning needs of our guests. We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus.

Yours sincerely
Jenny Ng
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The price of the hotel was really decent even though room was a bit small. However, it was comfortable and clean. A shrabby plant fragrance was all around the lobby smell really nice. The front desk staff was very helpful. I was given upon arrival a mobile phone to use which all local calls were free. If you are looking for WIFI facilities, make sure you book the room with breakfast or WIFI include, or simply visit the lounge on the 3rd floor, pay for a drink at around $20-30 and get singular usage. Again, the lounge was tiny but cozy with live music and broadcast TV. My room was about 12-14 sq m so called Business with a glass wall bath room. If you don't feel comfortable, call them for a curtain. Room amenities was OK, everything you need was there. Overall it was a good experience,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggbingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I travel to Vietnam numerous times a year, and like to stop for a day or two in Hong Kong. Its on my nickel, so I visit the various discount travel sites to find a hotel in the under $125 range. The same five hotels seem to always pop-up: Regal, Hotel Bonaparte, Cosmopolitan, Cosmo and Charterhouse. All are in the Wan Chai/Causeway Bay Area.
This is the WORST of the five. VERY tiny rooms. Poor service. Was checked in by "Kit" who was more concerned with my luggage than getting me processed. Even so, he didn't offer to help me with it. Tried to upsell, then gave me an upgrade anyway. The "upgrade" was the tiniest room I've ever stayed in by far. The toilet is in the shower, the TV is hanging on the wall, and there is no closet, just a "rack" hanging from the ceiling. The rooms have no phones. There is no WiFi. Internet is an upcharge and only good in the room using a Cable. Total FAIL

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turtle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Macau, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is on a very busy street and it's very noisy up to wee hours in the night, the windows are not double paned. The room is REALLY small and the mattress REALLY hard.
The loo and the shower are in the same compartment with a sliding glass door which got stuck and I was trapped. Luckily, I had my mobile phone with me, otherwise nobody would've heard me. It took the maintenance ages to return to get it fixed.
There's no WiFi nor telephone in the room, though reception will provide you a mobile phone.
There are much better options in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I spent a couple of nights there before moving to the Butterfly on Morrison.
I think Bonaparte staff should work more on client satisfaction, trying to accomodate client's request as much as possible, especially when they pay for a "superior" room.
Again: have you ever seen a TWIN bed room with a looking-glass for the toilet without a proper curtain? What about the privacy?!?
In my opinion it should work for a romantic room for a couple, if you have in mind a spicy weekend but not for a twin bed....
The single bed was not so comfortable and I didn't enjoy the breakfast.
Room design is acceptable, location OK, price in line with the other boutique hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

I booked and prepaid for this hotel through lastminute.com. The room rate was around £70 per night and included a light breakfast for two.
We arrived around 11pm on Sunday evening, having caught the 11A bus from the airport (HK$65 return) and got off at the Hennessy Road/Tonnochy Road junction). It is about a five minute walk from there to the hotel.
Check in was straight forward and we were in our room pretty quickly. The standard rooms are small (not unusual in Hong Kong unless you want to spend a lot of money) but fairly well furnished. Our room had two single beds with drawers underneath. An open wardrobe, a small desk with chair, TV, fridge & safe. The basin is in the room. The toilet and shower are in the same cubicle which is separated from the room by clear glass panelling. The only real problem was a lack of space to store our two suitcases.
The included breakfast is served in a small restaurant/bar next door to the hotel entrance and it is from here that you can get free wifi and Internet access via a couple of computers.
The hotel location is pretty good. You can catch a tram from just outside which will take you into Central for a couple of dollars. The nearest MTR/underground station is Causeway Bay which is five minutes walk. There is also a well served bus stop nearby where you can get buses to Stanley. There is a very good Dim Sum restaurant about five doors down from the hotel as well as a good bakery (excellent chocolate donuts) and a 7 Eleven in the same block.
The staff are very good and the service is excellent - we asked for some extra bedding and coat hangers at around 1130pm when we were unpacking and these were brought to the room very quickly.
For the money this place represents excellent value and we will probably use it again when next in Hong Kong.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#455 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#189 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#381 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
The VELA Hong Kong Causeway Bay
#465 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#457 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus

Property: Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Address: No.11 Morrison Hill Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus is a micro boutique hotel with an intuitive sense of Cosiness, Comfort & Care. Centrally located between Causeway Bay and Wanchai, it is steps away from the city's major shopping areas including Times Square & SOGO, the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and financial district. A choice of modern Business, Premium, Deluxe Premium and Executive guestrooms await to pamper visitors. All guestrooms feature superb city views, a mini-bar, a large screen LED TV and are equipped with complimentary handy smartphone with unlimited local & international calls, and unlimited mobile internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte By Rhombus Hotel
Hotel Bonaparte By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing