We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there if someone else is paying!”
Review of Sevva

Sevva
Ranked #133 of 8,210 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Hongkong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go there if someone else is paying!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

As I work nearby I often end up in Sevva for post-work drinks with colleagues or clients. It never fails to disappoint. For the premium prices you are paying (HK$150 for a fruit juice, HK180 for a glass of wine), the service is ATROCIOUS. There are hundreds of staff and they are all clueless. And the drinks themselves are very poor as well - mediocre wine that you might expect from a cheap supermarket, watered down cocktails, this place would have closed years ago if it wasn't for the view and the lack of better alternatives nearby. It is a running joke among my colleagues how bad this place is, yet we keep going back again, and again, and again!! WHY!?!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    243
    93
    43
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very romantic moments!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We've been there with two couples and it was phenomenal because of the nice music and atmosphere and great night view of HK... And no minimum charge for taking a table!

It is quite a good place to gather round with friends!

Helpful?
1 Thank Moonymoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A truly unique restaurant!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

What I love about Sevva is the attention to details..from the names of the food, drinks, desserts to the decoration of the place itself. The food itself is good but it's not wow so I recommend you to go to this place if you care about the ambience and the little details that make this place cute and unique. The dessert though, is very very good and soooo beautiful. Mrs B's cakes are so good and so popular that they opened a few branches of Mrs B's cakery in other locations in HK. For birthdays order in advance the Marie Antoinette cake and your special someone will be over the moon. This place is also very popular for saturday brunch and late night drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pettebench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The most pretentious and snooty place EVER”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Yes, I gave them 5 stars last year, I said they were pretentious but they have the best high tea and cakes in HK, plus a great view as the top floor of a building in the central business district, but IMHO, the food & view is not worth it for the shoddy behavior you get from their staff! It's as if they are doing you a favor by letting you eat there.
We took some friends for afternoon tea ( not dinner, so it's casual),first, they tried to block us at the lift entrance, because it's 10 minutes from their official high tea time, but then they relented, and 'allowed' us to wait in a line. Then they notice one of us was in shorts with trainers ( I'm local but had overseas friends visiting), so big no no! Now, no shorts and sandals only apply to men, meanwhile, women in skimpy tops, shorts & sandals overtook us in this queue.
Tried to explain this to the Maitre'D no less, tourist friends visiting etc, he actually said 'quite right, my staff refused him, that's our policy'.
Now bearing in mind I live in this somewhat pretentious city, I know for a fact posh hotels & clubs will provide you with shoes, jackets etc when your clothing doesn't match their regulations, more importantly they are usually nice and apologetic about it. Not Sevva, it's as if they are doing us a big favor by allowing us to dine at their establishment so who are we to flout their clothing rule. The altitude is all wrong.
Hence I won't be eating at Sevva ever again, but of course they won't care, because we are not high society people, nor rich HK people, nor business tycoons, for which exceptions will be made.
So, visitors to HK, beware...dress appropriately, and turn up only at the designated time or you won't be allowed to enter, unless you have some amazing connection in this city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank yvonne06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view ”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Went with friends and had a nice time. The views are amazing. Too late for the restaurant. So had bar snacks which were average. Worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sevva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing