We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service and simple menu”
Review of Sevva

Sevva
Ranked #143 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Attentive service and simple menu”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A simple and pleasant menu. There was an offered vegetable smoothie which I assumed was an amuse bouche but was charged for, so something to look out for. However overall a really easy menu and pleasant meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pink5026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    247
    94
    43
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fab Bar”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went for a drink & stayed all night.... their manager Jason is a gem .... he made us feel special and very comfortable
At first sight the drinks look a bit pricey but then the view, ambiance, music & Jason make them priced too low
good on ya

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imraansurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The view is the only redeeming feature”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The good: the view, the atmosphere, and the people watching (five stars)
The bad: the service (subtract one star)
And the ugly: how much you have to pay for bad service (subtract one star)

Last visit was in June 2013 for drinks. I go to Sevva every six months or so; like I mentioned above, the view is five stars, and I have guests, colleagues, and a wife to please.

From its terrace, Sevva has a priceless and unique 180 degree of Victoria Harbour and Hong Kong Island towards Admiralty and Wan Chai. It's a great place to take guests, clients, and tourists to enjoy the view and the sophisticated atmosphere with the upscale clientele.

On the other hand, the service is inattentive and the staff need training. I consistently need to chase the staff for service. They seem inexperienced. During my last visit, a guest in my party ordered a Maker's Mark whiskey with soda. The waiter didn't understand and came back with something entirely different. Even after the guest explained in detail what he wanted, the waiter still didn't understand, so the guest went straight to the bartender, who explained that they didn't have that whiskey. I can get better - and friendlier - service at Smugglers Inn in Stanley for half the cost with none of the attitude.

Prices are high. You're paying for the location and the view. A glass of wine is HK$150.

The food? I don't eat there. Ate at Sevva once about four years ago. The food was unremarkable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
912 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Excellent for Lunch, food and service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited Sevva's in Aug when a typhoon was just starting to hit Hong Kong so the normally great view from the 25th floor was limited. The food and service was still excellent. Did the set lunch which was mini Dosa then Ocean trout followed by Mango sorbet. Each item was excellent with interesting Indian flavors. As we were leaving our late lunch we saw people coming in for tea time being served nice looking cakes and snacks. I think it would be nice to go for tea time. There is a dress code.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“relaxing outdoor”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went there with group of friends, and we chose the stand table outside for drink after dinner in the restaurant which is good. We had a good night with good wine and good friend, we actually enjoyed the night and drinking even it was a windy and cold night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNg_Phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sevva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing