We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sichuan place”
Review of Chilli Fagara

Chilli Fagara
Ranked #326 of 8,725 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Established in 2005, Chilli Fagara first opened on Graham Street in Soho and soon attracted a loyal clientele with our authentic, fiery Sichuan cuisine. The shop's intimate size, burnished red walls, dark wood furniture and simple details create warmth, while our cuisine creates fire. Based on the Ma La Tang concept for numbing (ma), burning (la) and neutral (tang) tastes of Sichuan food, our menu represents the breathtaking range of culinary possibilities fashioned by our chef each day, all using the freshest ingredients. Many people describe our food as orgasmic. The intensity mounts and grows until you reach the top. Then you have to calm yourself, and we have dishes for that, too. Our Sichuan specialties are for the daring palate. Dramatic and challenging, they offer an unforgettable experience. But there is also plenty on the menu for a relaxing dining experience with entrees that offer delicate flavor combinations. In 2015, we opened our second Soho location on Old Bailey Street in a more spacious venue where patrons can bask in the eclectic mix of contemporary and traditional Chinese décor, while enjoying the same fiery and complex flavors that our entrees are renowned for.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Sichuan place”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you want to taste Sichuan food, it's the place to go : the food is - of course - spicy but so delicious. There are different levels of spices. Favorite dishes : spicy dumplings, mabo tofu and sizzling eggplants. It's better to book as the place is small and very popular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco_Labi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    93
    20
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A superb experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you don't like seriously spicy food - then don't write TA reviews complaining about this restaurant!

If you don't like seriously squashed seating - then don't write TA reviews complaining about this restaurant!

If neither of the above bother you - then get a reservation ASAP (it appears they only have seating for approximately 20 persons) and experience a meal at what just about amounted to the favourite restaurant of my wife and I (it was a toss-up between this and a Michelin 3 star establishment) during our five day stay in Hong Kong.

Wonderfully tasty food, extremely friendly, swift and helpful service. The tables are so close together that you can't help but have some banter with your dining neighbours.

I would re-visit this place in a heartbeat. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Brit_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service & take a fire extinguisher”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Thought we'd try this place having been to Beijing and tried some really good Schezwan food. Obviously we expected food to be spicy but this stuff was too hot to make it a really enjoyable meal. There's nothing on the menu to tell you just how spicy the dishes are (like a rating system you usually get) and the waiters didn't ask how spicy we wanted it. The food was quite tasty but like I say, hard to enjoy when your mouth is on fire. The service was disappointing because they got our order wrong and didn't tell us that one of the side dishes (some noodles) were actually already in one of our main dishes. Also the waitress told us AFTER the meal that there was a separate vegetarian menu which would have been nice to see. The spicy eggplant was very tasty but had meat in which wasn't listed on the menu. The food was expensive with mains around $240 and sides $90. Our bill for two came to $1,200 and we just had 3 beers and an inexpensive glass of wine. I don't think we'll be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetillew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Spicy, Very Spicy or INFERNO?”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hoping that my title didn't scare you off, they can actually "tone-down" any of the dishes suitably for any client. Being a group of 3 lads with something to prove, we opted-out of this opportunity.

The restaurant is traditional with a great ambience. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive. Beers are served in a traditional yet chilled drinking-bowl, which is a nice touch.

Onto the food; I would actually say that this was one of the best meals I've had. Every dish is extremely flavoursome, yet I found that even the mild dishes were still reasonably spicy (which is fine if you're a hot-food lover). I highly recommend the ginger beef. This is a perfect example of what a lot of British Chinese Takeaways try (unsuccessfully) to replicate, and I can say that I haven't tasted crispy chilli beef like it before. Notable praise must also be paid to the ginger chilli chicken and the (extremely hot) chilli fish in oil (sorry, I can't remember the exact name of this dish BUT if you like a kick then this is the one for you - ask for the fish in oil and they'll know what you mean).

It's great value, about £30/head all-in (which, in relation to the quality of food is a bargain).

My only advice is to treat carefully if you don't like chilli, as even the mild dishes were hot. If you're a Yank then you probably won't be able to handle the spice. With respect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“seriously spicy, seriously tasty”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We love spicy food and Chilli Fagara manages to offer authentically spicy dishes without compromising on taste. It was the best Sichuan restuarant we found in Hong Kong.

Set in SoHo, the restuarant is small, intimate and decorated in a vintage, old world style. Tsingtaos are served in cold, ceramic bowls. The tables are small and cater best for couples or at best groups of four.

After several visits to CF we have narrowed down our favourite dishes (for two) to water cooked beef, chilli four season beans, and the saliva chicken.

A word of warning though, you do have to love chili to appreciate this place. We o bit down on one of the floating chilies and instant tears resulted. It was so delicious we carried on.

Service is consistently abrupt. I guess if your food is so good, you can afford to charge a lot and still be rude to customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tez0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Fagara also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Chilli Fagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing