We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“READ THIS REVIEW”

Lei Yu Mun Fish Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.06*
and up
Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise and Dinner at Lei Yue Mun Seafood Village
Ranked #135 of 812 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“READ THIS REVIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a tiny fishing village on the New Territories side of Hong Kong. It is a hidden treasure among a city full of sky scrapers! It must be very frequented by tourists because it is full of very nice quality sea food restaurants where you pick your food out of the tank at the front of the restaurant and the nice people prepare your food any way you want. My Dad and I visited on a rainy Thursday afternoon and there was not another tourist in sight. It was by far the most memorable and enjoyable part of my visit to Hong Kong thus far. Whatever reviews you read about this being "difficult" "challenging" "A rip off" etc. Ignore it. It is a 5 min fairy ride from Sai Wan Ho mtr station on HK island. Yes, it is "off the beaten path" but it is as accessible as anywhere and what a great and memorable experience. If all you want is sea food and the best possible value, I'm sure there are many, many places in Hong Kong and all of the surrounding islands but if you want lunch or dinner with an atmosphere this is the place to go and I have never had sea food better than the sea food i had here. Leu Yue Mun or as it is also called Sam Ka Tsuen is minutes away from HK island and if you are weary about being ripped off please plan at least a couple hours to explore the village and if you choose to eat do, if your skeptical don't. Whatever just check it out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Loved going here we spent $250AUD for 2 ppl in one night so be wary of what you are buying and make sure you bargain the prices down.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkilicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Don't visit this place it's a rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

As we had never visited Lei Yue Muen on all our other trips to Hong Kong we decided to to - after being given the wrong directions when we got out of the MTR we had to get a taxi to find it. What a disappointment - when you visit Cheung Chau and Lamma Islands the fish is reasonably priced in great little restaurant - - not here at Lei Yue Muen - you have to buy the fish which is far more expensive, then go to the nearby restaurant who charges you a cover charge and then a charge to cook the prawns plus your drinks - a simple lunch of steamed prawns and a couple of beers was going to cost us over 700 HK$ about 65 pounds, where on Cheung Chau the same meal for 2 costs 96 HK$ - avoid this place at all costs and go to Cheung Chau or Lamma Island instead - these people do not deserve your money!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank HongKong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Live fish tastes better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Very characteristic place, it gives a taste of the old Hong Kong. Very tasty seafood selected alive from tanks and cooked on the spot for you. Some of the restaurants tend to overcharge tourists so keep an eye on prices, shop around.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Fcosenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Tour, would do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise and Dinner at Lei Yue Mun Seafood Village -
Would highly recommend this tour to anyone, great value, great tour leader (Linda). The seafood markets were amazing and the story that goes along with this is good as well. The food at the dinner was excellent, and the service and quality great. Would do it again.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Brisflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lei Yu Mun Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Lei Yu Mun Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing