We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go across the street”
Review of Wagyu

Wagyu
Ranked #196 of 8,546 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go across the street”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If it is packed, which it normally is, go to the bar across the street if it is the food and not so much the ambiance you crave. You can order anything off the Wagyu menu from them, and it will be brought over to you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    127
    44
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey, American steaks”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I know that the name of this place is Wagyu, but after looking at the menu and seeing prime U.S. steak I had to order it (since I cannot get it in China). I ordered the 12oz. Ribeye with gorgonzola sauce and my wife ordered the 10oz. Sirloin with black pepper sauce. My wife also added on a "Lobster Tail" which was actually half an Australian lobster (i.e. no claws). The menu actually seems to indicate that the "Lobster Tail" can only be added onto a Wagyu steak order, but this is incorrect.

I'm going to say that the only reason that I'm giving this place a 4.0 rating is because my Ribeye was absolutely perfectly cooked medium rare and was very juicy, tender and savory. The gorgonzola sauce was good as well. My baked potato with sour cream and little bacon bits was also quite nice. Everything else was just ok (or subpar). My wife's sirloin was perfectly cooked but very dry. That is kind of a problem with sirloins, so I can understand that (I tried to talk my wife out of ordering it). But, if you are the kind of person who likes extremely lean steak then you probably would have liked the sirloin here. The black pepper sauce, however, was way too strong (and I love black pepper normally). I had some kind of asian style ground wagyu with lettuce appetizer which was just ok, really. My wife had a crab salad, which had only a few large crab chunks. It tasted good (but not as good as Keen's crab salad in New York), but had very little crab (especially considering the price). The "Lobster tail" she added onto her order was very overcooked and essentially tasteless and cost approximatly U.S.$35. The wine (like all wine in Hong Kong) was overpriced. Overall, if you come here I would recommend ordering steaks and forgetting everything else (the steaks all come with a choice of side order, a very large grilled mushroom cap and a little salad).

I'm not really sure what to say about the service. It appeared that it was either our server's first day on the job or she was on drugs. She just seemed completely out of it. She seemed not to know the menu very well and just disappeared at one point for about 30min. She also failed to ask us if we wanted water.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Too Much Food but Good”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I thought that I had never been to this restaurant before but then realised when I entered I had in fact been there many yrs ago. It is not the cheapest place to eat but the food is very good and the wine selection large. I had the whole Camembert to start with, then Ribeye and finished with Creme Brulee (I was the only one that had desert). There were 4 of us and we had three bottles of wine. Total bill HK$3,600. Service was attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Rushed off their feet...”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

..describes the staff on a Friday lunchtime. The restaurant itself is ideally located for those working in Central as it is only five minutes' walk. Good decor though there is very little space between the tables. We ordered set lunches and a bottle of mineral water, but waited and waited and waited. Nothing happened after the first reminder and then the second. Our orders did eventually arrive, without a smile or apology. Yes, it was a hectic lunchtime, but the waiting staff could have Been a little more contrite.The food itself was very good - a salad and then steak which was done according to my request, though not quite what my companion ordered. Still, value for money was very good. I will be happy to return, but perhaps on a much quieter day and/or when there are enough staff to cope properly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine in a great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I dined here with some local expat from Hong Kong. The food was excellent and also they had a great wine list. The decor is lovely and there is an area where you can stand and have drinks served from the bar before seating. Nice ambiance and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracytsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagyu also viewed

 

Been to Wagyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing