We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newton Place
Ranked #463 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel itself is okay. Nothing to cheer about, but room was big compared to other HongKong hotels. The location though is a hassle. It isn't near an MTR. fact is the nearest is to go through a mall then a walkway overpass then another ways to the MTR tunnnel. Will take you about more than 10 minutes of walking. Not very good considering there are tons more hotel closer to transport. The area is industrial and not around places where you can get food in the middle of the night if you'd want. I recommend getting a hotel closer to Kowloon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LifeAsMrsRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 145 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

The usual hotel for organised tours.

Stayed the night upon arrival before moving to Shenzhen the next day but the short stay left much to be desired.

No small change as just arrived in Hong Kong, only had HKD500 and HKD1,000 notes among the 5 adults. The porter refused to leave the room when I told him no small change and refused other currencies. Finally some one managed to find a HKD10 and gave him but was refused sarcastically. We know that HKD10 is a pittance in Hong Kong and that is what we have. A tip is from gratuitous and should not be expected/demanded.

Entering the room floor, the over powering stale smell of cooking lingers in the corridors. Requested for a connecting room for the kids to play and their connecting room has only one door to both rooms. So, the occupants of the other room are very much inconvenienced.

Going out for dinner, there are not much options available and the MTR station though near takes about a half hour journey to the happening scenes in TST. So we settled for McDonalds a block away as the Mall is about to close being it is already nearly 10pm.

The queen beds are tiny and hard as knowing very well HKG's queen bed are actually at most the super single size other parts of the world. There is a warning not to push the beds together but as we have kids, we needed to. Once pushed, the carpet is OMG!!! Dirt, soot, dead cockroaches and insects, cigarette butts etc are all visible like an art. We had no choice but to keep our shoes on and barricade the area to prevent the kids from stepping.

Water pressure in bathroom is wonderful and this is about the only thing I could praise in this hotel. Toiletries are the usual stuff but with the all in one shampoo and shower foam in a dispenser by the shower. The toilet size is of course bigger than the Dorsett brand which is a relief.

Did not have breakfast at the hotel as the tour agent has arranged for us to have dim sum breakfast at some chain restaurant which premises is dirty and disappointing taste/quality.

On check-out, we left our luggage as we will be going to Ocean Park for the day but were requested to pay HKD5 per piece. As it was the travel agent's request to leave our luggage at the porters', they picked up the tab.

Would not return despite the travel agent hyping about how convenient this hotel is within 5 minutes walk to the MTR etc. It is in the vicinity of fruit wholesale and industrial area which may give some the creeps at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifejourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel was recommended by our Travel Agent because of the reasonable room rate not knowing of the actual location which was very far from the famous shopping area and recreational parks. The hotel is somewhat new but the neighborhood is an industrial business area. The nearest MTR station is approximately 500 meters walk away and restaurants nearby are limited only to McDonalds, Café de Coral and one local Chinese restaurant. There are two 7-elevens on the way to the MTR Station.
Service and Staff was below par ( 2 stars ) Hotel front desk staff have no emotion (doesn’t smile) upon assisting us on our queries.
Food was below par ( 2 stars ) breakfast served was limited and the same everyday during our 7 days stay.
Location was below par ( 1 star ) very far from shopping and recreational area. Travel expenses for MTR got a huge portion of our vacation budget.
Room was below par ( 2 stars ) room was clean and equipped with large flat screen TV and free WiFi per room except that there was no complimentary bottle of water. Bathroom was clean but only shower was provided and no tub. Towels provided were worn out. The most disappointing was the hard single beds with worn out sheets.
OVERALL RATING: 1.75 stars
It is very unlikely that I will return to this hotel even if they do some improvements because the downside is the actual location. This is not fit for tourist on a budget but it is highly recommended for travelers who have business deals in the area.

Room Tip: choose the bay area side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmsuico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The view was really nice from our window. You get to see the bay area and at night I love how the lights of the city make the view dreamlike. The staff was courteous. Check in and check out was hassle free. The room was nice, just what you'll expect from a budget hotel. What I don't like about this hotel is it's location. It's far from the MTR and it's a long walk to get to the nearest station. Wifi is only available in the lobby area and there are limited number of box couches that are not really comfortable to sit in. Although the place is budget friendly, you'll end up spending more for transportation cost since you'll have to take the cab to get to the train station and MTR fares will more expensive just to get to the shopping areas like Tsim Sha Tsui or other tourist destinations like Disneyland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HensonFronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel was good,since we didn't stay ourselves most of the time coz were on a holiday to explore the city.you have your own choice where you can have your meals,for a fact tha they say that its in a looks like in the industrial area,good haven you can have a fresh fruits and berries down around the corner of the hotel,and traditional resto were you can have the taste of a real chinese meal tiny room yes but not so, and the toilet amenities well maintained,reception desk attendant were very helpful,even guided us were we can go for the best bargain hunt with the map even in a broken english manner but it helps,and they are not after tips,We recommend ths hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: if you are with your family of four reserve the two twin bed adjacent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herminio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked by my work and could not move hotel soon enough (spent 6 unpleasant nights where I didn't sleep a wink due to lift noise).
Very small room.
Restaurant closed (which might have been a blessing!).
Breakfast revolting with little choice (in makeshift area).
Dirty sheets.
Wifi only in lobby.
Located in an industrial area (Kwun Tong) but you can get to the APM shopping centre nearby which has decent restaurants. The MTR is fairly close.
You can walk and sit by the waterfront.
Is was at least cheap... which is why it is popular with mainland coachtrips. The other guests were as rude as the staff generally indifferent.

Room Tip: Don't, find another hotel. If you must make sure you are as high up as possible since you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheZud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was quite far from center of the island, it's something like industrial area surrounded the hotel. The room is super tiny but clean with strong hot shower, notice that the hotel staffs are not friendly. The Lai King MTR is just 5 mins walk away. Breakfast was terrible with only few dishes, I strongly recommend you guys to take bus or mtr to the center of island for breakfast, there are so many choices there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanhMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#107 of 726 in Hong Kong
659 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#64 of 726 in Hong Kong
455 reviews
Camlux Hotel
#179 of 726 in Hong Kong
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Point
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#266 of 726 in Hong Kong
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Place

Address: No.163 Wai Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $116 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newton Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Place Hotel Hong Kong
Newton Place Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing