We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Far”
Review of Newton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newton Place
Ranked #457 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel when we first went to HongKong last 2009. We were in connecting rooms and our room is much bigger than other typical hotel rooms in HongKong. So bad that I don't have much photos of it but all I can remember is that the location of Newton Place in Kowloon is quite far from the MongKok area which is the center of HongKong. We hardly find restaurants during late nights unlike in the Metropark and area. I guess, the hotel is near the residential area, that's why. We were not able to explore it since we are included in the tour group.

When you are getting tour packages, I suggest that you ask your operator to confirm your hotel. We were advised to stay at Panda Hotel but for some reason, we were thrown in Newton Place as soon as we arrived in HongKong. While the hotel has good interior and the rooms are bigger, it's still really frustrating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank womenality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

I was in a business trip to Hong Kong for only two days and the hotel is ideal if you have the office in Kowlon area.
Clean, comfortable, with excellent views over Honk Kong Island, and with a resonable price, I think it is a good option for a short stay.
Not for couples or honeymoon stays

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamfromBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

For a brief while longer, this is the only hotel in Kowloon east of the old airport. And it's reasonable value. Our rate didn't include breakfast, so can't speak to that. The neighborhood is still very industrial, so it's a couple blocks walk to get to the APM mall or broader shopping or eating (or transport) options. There is though strangely a very nice new waterfront park just around the corner from the hotel.

Room was kept clean but definitely recommend checking out room first. The first one we were put into was quite tiny (with twin beds), so we asked to see the queen size option and were shown a much bigger room, also with a better (ie, harbor) view.

No free wifi in the rooms, but there is free broadband which worked fine, and the other furnishings were ok.

All in all, the hotel is nothing special, but gets the job done.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hotel is in the industrial area beside some auto shop. Nearest food stall is a Chinese restaurant and 7-11, Room is big. Though I didn't like the breakfast. Cafe feels eerie with no people dining with you and hotel staff keeps on chatting at your back making you think they can't wait for you to finished your meal immediately. Overall, hotel is okay still as it's near my office.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadjzSumague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A wonderful Business and family stay at Newton Place back in Sep 2011. The hotel is just 4/5 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station and hence we can access all islands- Main land Hongkong, Kowloon and infact the remote Lantau by train. Fantastic facing Rooms -most of them facing the Bay and my Room on the 21st Floor was Icing on the Cake. The In room furniture were great and especially the Glass made Chair to work on the Office table was great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShashikiranBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in a business trip and was booked for me by the company. Hotel was well located for the kwun tong area but not if you want to head to Kowloon or hong kong island. Hotel is clean, good breakfast, provides a shuttle service to and from hotel and airport and also a shuttle bus to main office buildings in the kwun tong area.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Upon checking in, we were not asked if we wanted a twin or double bed or if we want a smoking level. Ended up with a smoking level with 2 twin beds. Imagine the shock for my parents and myself who is travelling with my fiance.

Location of hotel is not optimal. Nearest MTR is Ngau Tau Kok which is a 15mins walk for my family. Not near to any places worth seeing and imagine after a tired day out, one still gotta walk 15mins back to the hotel..it greatly dampens our mood.

Though staffs are considered quite good and cheerful for Hong Kongers, but sorry..definitely wont stay over again.

Room Tip: Indicate and state if you want a twin or double bed and if you want a smoking level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shive81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#86 of 723 in Hong Kong
644 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#67 of 723 in Hong Kong
443 reviews
Camlux Hotel
#172 of 723 in Hong Kong
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Point
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
Newton Inn North Point Hotel
#390 of 723 in Hong Kong
130 reviews
iclub Ma Tau Wai Hotel
#173 of 723 in Hong Kong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Place

Address: No.163 Wai Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $106 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newton Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Place Hotel Hong Kong
Newton Place Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing