We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; Select Room With Care”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #20 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wonderful base for HK sightseeing. Easy walks to great restaurants recommended by the great staff of the hotel. All of the benefits listed in the many reviews make it a great experience. We ate pizza and purchased trail mix for our Myanmar trip in the café, using the free coupons.
But select rooms ending on "02." Our rooms, 2702 and 2701, appeared identical. However, bathroom windows outlook are 180 degrees apart. Our room 2702 was quiet, but our friends in room 2701, whose bathroom windows looked the other way, suffered from the noise all night.

Room Tip: Select rooms ending on "02." Our rooms, 2702 and 2701, appeared identical. Bathrooms windo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quarterdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Quarterdeck,

Thank you for your positive review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. Happy to read that you enjoyed the location and that our Cafe O could fuel you up for your next stop! We appreciate being alerted to your friends noise concern and will bring it up with our local board. Certainly, at Ovolo, we want everyone snug and happily rested so they can enjoy their stay to the max.

Thanks again for choosing Ovolo, Quarterdeck. You are invited back anytime and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Ovolo Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 812 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Free mini bar (yes, free! Vodka, beer, chocolate and more) a cool little goodie bag of snacks, free backpack, free slippers, great amenities stuff, big room, great shower AND super helpful and nice staff.

Of course the cynic in us all will say nothing is really "free" you're paying for it somewhere, but in comparison to everywhere else I looked in Central HK (or Kowloon for that matter) this was a great deal. If this chain existed elsewhere I would book it without a hesitation.

As for the area, you will find yourself a 10-15 minute (brisk downhill) walk from the star ferry terminal and central MTR, 5 minutes from the mid levels escalators and soho and right amongst the night life of Lan Kwai Fong. You can walk to The Peak tram in 5 minutes, as well as the zoo and Hong Kong park.

What it doesn't have:
- a fancy lobby
- a view of the skyline
- restaurants (but there's a cafe for breakfast or have it in room)
- complete silence (I did hear a tiny little bit of street noise but nothing that bothered me)

Things I loved:
- the mini bar (of course!)
- the free on site self laundry (in a very non laundromat kind of scene)
- free wifi
- breakfast delivered in a goodie bag to my room
- the pillows
- the free happy hour from 6pm to 8pm

And all the fun and generous little touches that you find along the way.

Loved it. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Hopskipandajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Hopskipandajane,

Thanks a ton for sharing your brilliant 5-star review on tripadvisor. Really appreciate the enthusiasm! Our team were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed all our freebies and service. Its true we do things a little bit different and there arent that many of us..yet. but good news - we have an Ovolo Hotel in Melbourne too! Check it out and tell us what you think!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

been to HK for bussiness and stayed for the weekend.
Ovolo is the perfect hotel for the weekend. location is amaizing,easy to get anywhere, great restaurants all around.
the room are compact but extremely comfortable, seems like everything is thought of and taken care of. complimentary mini bar , espresso machine,snacks and what not. even an office ..
the receptiin staff where very nice and helpfull , made sure we are happy and satisfied all the time. couldnt ask for more !!!
No doubt I will be back !
Thanks for a great experience :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Tomeramiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Tomeramiel,

Thanks for the terrific 5-star review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. We love reading what guests notice during their stay and when a great guests seems to take stock of everything...well we are blushing! We look forward to hosting you again!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovolgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Let me start by saying I picked the hotel due to the great reviews and it did not disappoint.
clean modern rooms, comfortable beds, free mini bar, great bathroom and bathroom products = great place , also not to mention the desk clerks are all great, very friendly and helpful.

As far as the complaints about noise. Do some research before you go people. LKF is a party area therefore there will be noise. It didn't bother us and we were there for a full weekend. We were on a higher floor so I'm sure that helped. And as far a the other complaint about breakfast, sure it may be the "weakest link" of the hotel but the one time we ate there its was fine and I had no complaints about the food or the service, plus there are a million other places all within walking distance of the Ovolo!

To sum it up, hip modern hotel with clean comfortable rooms and great service in a central area, full of food, bars and shopping. Can't wait to stay there again

Room Tip: higher floors will probably have lesser club noise
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyFUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear monkeyFUZ,

Thank you so much for your super 5-star review of Ovolo. We are all delighted here to read how much you enjoyed our rooms, service and location in the thick of party central HK. It was great hosting you at Ovolo and we hope we are lucky enough to have the chance again. My email is below should you have further feedback or if I can help arrange a future booking. Thanks again monkeyFUZ!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was really excited to stay in this hotel during my first visit to Hong Kong given the positive reviews. However, it failed to live up to my expectations for two main reasons:

(a) Noise - the reviews here really play down how bad it is. The hotel is located in Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), which is a huge expat party district littered with bars playing loud music. Great location for partying and shopping, but this unfortunately means thumping music on most nights which can be heard very clearly from the hotel until the wee hours of the morning. Yes, it does depend on your tolerance to noise whether this is going to be an issue during a stay at this hotel, but for the price I'm paying, I'd like silence when I go to sleep. It was particularly bad on Friday and Saturday nights - I suggest going out to Lan Kwai Fong and getting drunk because that's the only way I could sleep through the bass wobbles which vibrated my room. Invest in some soundproofing ASAP because this is not a small issue.

(b) Breakfast - A hotel of this calibre should have its own in-house breakfast. Instead, they have formed a partnership with a neighbouring cafe to serve breakfast to hotel guests. The food was average, service from cafe staff was terrible and borderline rude, and there's nowhere near enough seats to fit the hotel's guests alongside other public patrons. On a busy Sunday morning, we (group of 4) had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated on a cramped table for 2 because that was the only table available. When asked if we could swap with a lone woman who was seated at the same time on a larger table, they refused.

On the positive side, the room was very spacious, bathroom and rainshower were excellent, overall design was amazing, location was fantastic, staff were excellent and friendly (especially Janice and another young guy who works there) and the free mini-bar (replenished daily), ice and snacks are great inclusions.

If the LKF noise and crappy breakfast aren't an issue, then this is a fine place to stay, but if you want bang-for-your-buck, look elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank tone222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear tone222,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that overall you enjoyed our hotel facilities and service and regret that the noise and breakfast were letdowns. We will take action on both of these immediately because we want you BACK the next time HK enters your mind!

Let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist. Thank you.

Cheers,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
guestservices@ovologroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was the first time checking in to a Boutique hotel. Rooms are very functional and spacious. Front desk team are excellent, helpful and friendly. I would just like to mention that the personal touch from a small boutique hotel what I enjoy the most.

Other than that free mini bar, Wifi, and also offering internet access out side of the hotel is far beyond what other big brands can offer.

To improve, the gym is a bit smaller than what i expected, but it's not the mostop important thing for me

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gigi T, Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Kristy L,

Thank you for sharing your great review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road on tripadvisor. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed our hotel. As you say we aren't a usual boutique hotel - we fit what space we have full of features and freebies - and when experienced hospitality patrons like yourself notice our service team it means a tremendous deal to all of us. Thank you! We hope to host you at Ovolo again very soon.

Best Regards,

Gigi Tse
Hotel Manager
Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Having discovered this place, I can't immediately think of any reason to go anywhere else for a HK visit unless you're into public spaces, foyers and bars - all of which are absent at Ovolo, Instead, resources ( and space ) have been put into excellent, large and comfortable rooms ( two per floor ), friendly and helpful staff and a compact gym.
I really can't praise the rooms highly enough : large, well thought out and with excellent, marble-lined bathrooms. A great deal of care has been put into the rooms with Apple TV, printers, enough nicely-chosen giveaways to threaten the hotel's business model ( such as a free mini bar ) and even paperclips, pencils and a rubber on each desk.
Breakfast is at the adjoining Ovolo cafe which was buzzing and friendly.
Great place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank scoochlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear scoochlondon,

Thank you so much for choosing us and leaving a 5-star review on tripadvisor! From your feedback it appears you really got what Ovolo is all about - smartly spaced rooms and well-thought out freebies!! We put it all together in the hopes that great guests like you find us. Thank you again scoochlondon for your terrific comments. Consider yourself an Ovolo citizen, invited back anytime!

Cheers,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,126 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 721 in Hong Kong
359 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $201 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing