We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great stay!”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #20 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great stay!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our first time in HK....my husband and I decided to stay over for 2 nights en route from Europe ....we arrived on a very early morning flight so we checked in early, our room was ready, and we were able to catch up on some sleep before heading out to explore the city....great start, and staff were very accommodating. Our room was on the 20th floor so was nice and quiet, no traffic noise, modern and so comfortable in every way! Great to have a little bag of snacks, free mini bar, all the tv channels anyone would want, fast wifi.......also good to have free laundry and breakfast facilities provided! I left my cosmetic purse behind but the efficient staff contacted me by email and arranged to post it home to me....much appreciated! Thanks and 'well done' to William and his team for such a great stay....we'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    172
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
46
296
76
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've stayed at this property thrice in quick succession over the last few months, and it has been a consistently outstanding experience on all occasions. It's a great business hotel - very thoughtfully done for a business traveller, and we got great value for the price paid as well. William Condon is a super hotel manager - on the last occasion, I was running terribly late from my last meeting, headed to the airport, and while I had checked out, I still needed to get back to the hotel to pick up my luggage en route. As always at peak hours in HK, getting a taxi where I was was proving to be a nightmare, so when I called the hotel, they sent a pre booked cab with my luggage loaded into it to where I was stranded. If that wasn't delight enough, when that taxi was held up in a spot of really bad traffic, William actually offered to intercept the taxi, get my luggage out and meet me directly at the train station (since taking the taxi to the airport would have meant possibly missing my flight!) and reunite me with my bags! Luckily the taxi did arrive, and I did make it in time, but I don't know any hotel manager anywhere in the world that would have offered to do as much. More power to William and his kind!

All the staff is really nice, and every single person does everything they can to make the stay comfortable. I strongly recommend this hotel. The breakfast is very good, and what it misses out on not having a large and opulent reception area, it makes up for with large rooms, freebies and a really hospitable staff. Love the cute Loot Bag.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Amrita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Many thanks to William Condon and his team for an excellent stay at Ovolo Hotel. I had previously stayed in the Melbourne Ovolo so knew it had great style, but 2 Arbuthnot Rd was outstanding.
I stayed with 3 of my friends and we were in 2 rooms - the only ones on the floor. This meant we could keep the doors open and go freely between rooms.
The rooms were awesome - spacious and well stocked with toiletries, free nespresso machine, free mini bar and free wifi. The inclusive breakfast was excellent for getting you through the morning (esp. muesli trifle), but the highlight of our stay was the service.
All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful - nothing was a problem - even extending our stay by a night unexpectedly due to Typhoon Usagi. They helped us get cabs and explained to drivers where we wanted to go, and made recommendations on things to do and places to eat.
William, the manager ,deserves special mention because he was outstanding! William spent considerable time with us to give advice on how to get places, things to see or avoid, gave us his mobile number and took our calls (!) and even made dinner reservations for us one night when we did not know where to go. Not once did William make us feel like we were taking up time in his day and was happy to chat. I think the example William sets is obviously followed by the rest of the staff.
I will definitely stay at the Ovolo Hotels again and would highly recommend the 2 Arbuthnot Rd hotel to anyone.
Thank you William and team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just book it you will absolutely be satisfied. Nothing for families with children it's to small. Lovely staff free happy hour every day. No problem with reservations and recommendations to different restaurants and shopping departments. Breakfast is in a small bar by the entrance of the hotel. The choices was very limited and did not taste very good. We choosed to just eat what we liked and took an early lunch instead.
Rooms only have singlebeds so if you are traveling with a Co worker be prepared for this or book separate rooms.
All rooms have apple tv but it only works if your account is allowed in Hongkong.
A very nice feature is the laundry room behind the reception where you can do your own laundry for free if nessesary.
And to say something about the hotel manager William, such a great guy I travel a lot but without a doubt he is the absolute best manager I have had the pleasure of meeting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apexbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for the first time in Mid September and was very impressed. They have put the interests of their customers ahead of the usual brand-name hotel "make the guest pay for every little thing" approach and it really pays off. Little things are provided for free : wifi, multi-region power adapter, iron+ironing board, Apple iTv, PS3/X-box, free mini-bar including alcohol ( which my HK-based friends couldn't believe), breakfast in the room or in the cafe downstairs. I appreciated the "loot bag" on arrival at 10pm. It always annoys me to have to pay through the nose for a simple chocolate bar and a juice. The fact that they provide these things for free generates a great deal of goodwill at very little cost to the hotel. Its location one street above LKF means that its close to the entertainment area without being noisy. By staying here, I was able to walk to every meeting I had in Central. I will stay here in HK from now on if I can and have recommended it to my colleagues. Oh - and its a very nicely appointed room with a great bathroom. Only thing the hotel is missing is a reception area large enough to have meetings but that is far outweighed by the advantages.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 586AsiaTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The room is large by HK standards & so is the bath. I  was delighted to find that the hotel has thoughtfully installed power socket adaptors in the room & i wonder why more hotels don't do it.  The room has Apple Tv & and while I did not use it-I think it's a great idea for me to to be able to use my own Apple Id to access my own entertainment source. Free wifi in the room means I could connect all my digital devices to wifi. Further they also provided a wifi password that I was able to use to log into public wifi networks while away from the hotel. And note that the room has a Nespresso machine and All contents in the room minibar are free. 

Breakfast is served at an adjoining cafe-simple but wholesome options & friendly service. Staff at Hotel reception are also very good,friendly & efficient.

The hotel is near the bars of the Lang Kwai Fong area and it is a 10m walk to most offices in the Central region.

Sound from the bars does drift up so if you are a light sleeper that may trouble you. 

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vetrismv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am a sucker for the little things in life and it is exactly those little things that endear me to Ovolo.

Little things like free internet (and hotspot access around the city!); free mini bar (free water!); quality toiletry items (Malin and Goetz!); comfortable slippers (the ones you actually want to take home!); free tote bag; smoke free facilities; and of course, free breakfast. Each item in itself does not cost much, but most other hotels do not ever include. This shows an eye to detail and customer service.

The only reason I have not given Ovolo a 5 star is its location. Yes, technically it is in Central, but it is up a hill. Going down is no problem. It is coming up. But then again, taxis are cheap and plentiful, so not that big of a deal afterall. It is in the Lan Kwai Fong neighborhood, so be sure to select the higher "super shiny" floors. Even at 26th floor, you can faintly here the bar activities until 3am. So if you are a very light sleeper, be forewarned.

The hotel is just around the corner from a famous "egg tart" bakery. Lots of eateries.

I would stay at Ovolo again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors a must if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuamPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,104 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,823 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 718 in Hong Kong
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,463 reviews
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,664 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Property: Ovolo Central
Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing