We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, smart, friendly ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #14 of 700 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
MOSCOW, RUSSIA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comfortable, smart, friendly ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent location to feel Hong Kong. Spacious rooms, where everything thought over to details. Coffee maker and mini bar included. Comfortable marble shower. Good sound insulation. Free self-service laundry facilities. Breakfast unpalatable and uncomfortable. Always a lot of people can not be a large selection of dishes. This is one minus of this small hotel. Smart home system! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear DIL2,

Thank you for your positive and detailed review of Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel overall and were able to pick out some of the little details that truly made your stay memorable like our all-inclusive service concept with free minibar, free laundry, free wifi and more, all standard. Your feedback regarding breakfast has been noted and passed on to management for review. With all that said, I hope to have you back again soon to Ovolo 2 Arbuthnot Road in Hong Kong.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    135
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
260
68
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

a hotel located in Central very close to Lan Kwai Fong, this is one of my favorite reason why I stayed in this hotel. When I want to find some food just walk down the street. there's many different kind of high quality restaurant around. Most important is there's bars and club around. Just feel what a nice place!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Was looking for a larger room in HK, and found an oasis on the road one above LFK the main entertainment area of Hong Kong. The service, rooms, and free: wifi, gym, laundry room and soap powder, movies, minibar (yes full free minibar each day), free breakfast promotion, mate the place was awesome and soooo easy to book in and check out!!!

The design of the rooms is excellent and they have a full work station for an offce, marble bathroom, very nice layout, windows that open. If you want to be close the most happening area in HK side, for dinning and going out, as well as doing business in central....this is it...very impressive botique hotel that has everything you need and want and only two rooms per floor, simply the best!

Paul

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Keung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Paul and thank you for writing such a great review of our new hotel on 2 Arbuthnot Road. It is truly and honour to hear you say that we are one of the best hotels on offer in Hong Kong. We are delighted that you noted, used and enjoyed all of our signature free Ovolo services. From the minibar, wifi, breakfast etc. we don’t think guests should be burdened by hidden costs once they check in.

The positive feedback you’ve given to our room designs is also much appreciated. A lot of thought and hard work go into each Ovolo floor layout and concept so it is truly special when guests point out the little details we obsess over to further improve the hospitality experience. So look forwarding to having you and your friends come back soon!

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location, beautifully furnished rooms, excellent rainfall shower with loads of hot water, reasonably spacious room (but see below), good work-space layout, WiFi with reliable connection and high speed, didn't care for the open hanger space rather than a closed wardrobe. Included breakfast choices in Cafe O not like a 5 Star hotel but more than adequate, evening cocktails great, free mini bar is a great idea. The staff were excellent, very accommodating, cheerful and helpful. Some noise from the adjacent Dragon-i club at night but acceptable on higher floors.

Ovolo 2AR is good value for the money, especially if you book more than a week in advance. I will stay here again.

However I have one major complaint. The website lists the rooms as being 500 square feet. It is not, not even close and definitely less than 300.

My rough measurements suggest internal dimensions of 20ft x 12 ft and the shower adds another 4ftx6ft. The neighbouring Hotel LKF has rooms at 500 square feet and they feel twice the size, however they're also twice the cost.

I'm sure the stated room size is a hangover from the Ovolo's previous life as serviced apartments where in Hong Kong's fantasy real estate world it is accepted practice to over inflate the area by including the thickness of the external and internal walls and the share of common area including the elevator lobby and stairwell and then add another 10-15% for additional deception. This is a barely accepted practice for HK residents but totally unacceptable for a hotel with international guests and the Ovolo management should address this issue on their website.

If it wasn't for this lapse in judgement I would have given you five stars.

Room Tip: East Wing and West Wing choice is something of an overstatement, implies separate buildings when it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Johnw88.

On behalf of Ovolo I would like to thank you wholeheartedly for taking to the time to write such an in depth and detailed review of Ovolo 2AR. It is good to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel facilities and in-room services. Your positive comments regarding our staff service are very much appreciated and have been shared with the entire team. Overall, we are pleased you felt that you got good value out of your stay with us and hope you will do so again in the future.

Regarding your comment on room size: our website lists 500 sq ft as the gross size of the room, a common practice in Hong Kong. The net size of the room as you refer to it is actually approximately 380sqft, or 35sqm. We have noted your feedback and will be reviewing the website to ensure guests in future do not feel like there is any misrepresentation. Should you stay with again in the future I would hope we have improved upon this to earn another review from you. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

love it,great location and staff it's really nice, the room description regards the measurements are wrong on bookings but the levels of amenities is satisfied! also the restaurant righ at the corner quiet interesting I love healthy food so it's fit perfectly my needs

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gioiaclaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the second Ovolo property I've stayed in and can't say enough good things. Great room design--incredibly intuitive. Very, very comfortable bed. Wonderful and helpful staff. Free amenities are terrific and just what you want and need in a room!! Wi-fi is very strong. Loved the bathroom and especially the shower. Location is terrific as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I just recently stayed at the Ovolo for one night after the JW marriott could not extend my stay. I have to say this little unassuming hotel was simply amazing and beat the pants off the marriott. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the rooom was spacious, modern, clean, well appointed and quiet. Excellent location. Bathroom was modern and the shampoo and bosy wash were fab.

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. I will be recommending it and it will be my go to hotel for my regular visits in hong kong.

The mini bar is well stocked and just such a nice touch. Fresh juices each morning and the cafe for breakfast had pretty decent coffee but an excellent atmosphere.

Room Tip: i stayed in the west wing. There was a little traffic noise but its Hong Kong. maybe try the east s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m5carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovolo2home, Guest Relations Manager at Ovolo Central, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Miccsh.

You say you are glad you found us; well we are over the moon that we found you! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our big clean rooms and that our staff of ‘shiny happy people’ were friendly and attentive to your needs. We will pass this message on to them.

The thought that you would maybe recommend us to your friends and colleagues fills us with joy. Looking forward to having you back at Ovolo in Hong Kong soon.

Best Regards,
Marius Gamser
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#21 of 700 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#2 of 700 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,769 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 700 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 700 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,967 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#39 of 700 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Property: Ovolo Central
Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing