We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in new hotel - Hong Kong”
Review of Ovolo Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ovolo Central
Ranked #21 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had previously stayed at the Arbuthnot Road Ovolo when it was operating as a serviced apartment. I returned to the property late September to find it had been converted to a hotel. An amazing transformation. Really comfortable room with terrrific work area and bathroom - great design. All inclusive pricing is welcome - wifi, mini bar, breakfast. The location is also excellent right above Lan Kwai Fong. Staff were also great. It is indeed effortless living.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E7461NYrobertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 830 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff at this very new (and shiny) Ovolo Hotel are determined to provide an amazing experience, every request is followed through and nothing is impossible, they go above and beyond wherever they are given the opportunity.

What a refreshing experience to make even simple things like the minibar free - soft/alcoholic drinks and nibbles in the room and lots of things to fiddle with like Apple TV & TV, remote control lighting and curtains.

They also have free happy hour every night to hang out with the staff and other guests.

The location is perfect with a 5 minute walk to everything.

Modern, spacious and amazing service. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuelnNigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the newly renovated Ovolo on Arbuthnot Road for 4 nights.

It is very clear that a lot of thought has been put into every aspect of the room. The minibar is free, as is the loot bag full of snacks. The internet is fast and free for an unlimited number of devices. The light switches are where you would expect them to be. The bed is the right height, and the pillows the right size. The furniture is comfortable, and the bathroom has all the necessities expected from a top-notch hotel. The general aesthetic is very modern and pleasing to the eye. Everything just works.

Booking a room and checking-in was easy and the staff (regardless of position) were all extremely polite. House-keeping were extremely efficient and effective, and anything I needed was just a short phone-call away. The location is also fantastic, as the hotel is close to Central/LKF, with the MTR station not too far away.

I highly recommend the Ovolo Hotel, and will be encouraging my friends and family to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: The blueberry pancakes at breakfast are delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shreyansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has a great central location above Lan Kwai Fong with very modern rooms. I was very pleased with the quantity of details on offer from the amount of customisation, switches and electronic gadgets, Apple TV etc. Hotel staff where very helpful and friendly – lots of smiles. Also, a big plus is the free mini bar in this hotel, which is stocked with high quality beverages - this gives it a big advantage over other hotels in Hong Kong. HIGHLY recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I debated between a 3 and a 4......wish there's a 3.5 option.

well objectively I think the place is probably a .... well it is really hard to compare a service apartment to a regular hotel. OK, I give it a 4. the place is spacious, mostly clean, and modern. it is well located, very convenient. The rooms are dark though all time of the day(we were on a lower floor, and in the shadow of the neighboring building) which is kind of depressing.

Service is lacking though. we requested a baby bed, but was told they have run out. No one made our bed or cleaned the floor (which was not impeccable to start wtih). floor in the bathroom is ok.

All in all, I'd stay there again with family. if it will be only me and my husband, I would prefer to stay in a 5 star hotel next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zc12_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Loved staying here (2 wks in April 12 - floor 18). Staff very friendly and helpful. Apartment isn't large but compared to other places i've seen in the same price range it's above average. Although location was noisy for me if I was ten years younger I'd have loved it as very close to nightlife and it wouldn't stop me staying again. Also found the apartment and surrounding areas very clean. I would also recommend the Ovolo coffeshop next door who do beautiful, very healthy food and again are very friendly. Also get one off the Ovolo discount cards for 10% off. Maybe if staying at Ovolo apartment should entitle you to further discount???

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaShropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

In hong kong you are hardly to get a cheap and nice apartment to stay in, most of the hotels are very small and pack but I've found this ovolo hotels and service apartments in 256, tung chao street which is one of the outlet in sam shui po. It takes 5 minutes walk to the MTR station which all the way long you can get to see many fruits stall and there is a wet market near by. One thing to be aware is sam shui po is a lower class area, try not to stay up late at the street alone. But no worry, hong kong government runs a good job as they always have polices checking up all the places. Back to ovollo hotels, they provided a very cozy apartments, i just feel like i am home! they have free drinks at the pantry 24 hours, make yaself free to grab one anytime =)
i was staying in a 3 rooms apartment, everything is just nice. If you do not mind you also can sleep at the sofa but try to get your own blanket. Their bathroom is not a build with a solid wall but a frosted glass, so maybe getting guys and girls in a same apartment is not that convenient or else you guys see how to arrange it. wink*
Oh ya, the scene out from the window is nice!! i was staying n 20b =)

Overall i like it!

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms apartment provided 2 queen size bedrooms and 1 single bedroom. A single bed can't fix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank genkizz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,118 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 726 in Hong Kong
395 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
824 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,476 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Central

Address: 2 Arbuthnot Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $213 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Central 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Central's Lan Kwai Fong (LKF), next to Soho, Ovolo Central is our flagship hotel which is located in the heart of the city's entertainment and business district. We're just minutes away from restaurants, bars, shopping and Central MTR. Most importantly, The Best Things in Life are FREE! Get Breakfast and Happy Hour FREE only when you book directly on Ovolo Hotels official website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 2 Arbuthnot Road Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing