We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk straight past”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco Loco - CLOSED

Taco Loco
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Walk straight past”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

It is undoubtedly the worst food in Hong Kong I have been served in 1.5 years of living here. Not edible at all. Stay on that escalator and keep on going.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    15
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ave Mexican at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Have been going to Taco Loco for 4 years now. Used to go about once a week and then the food and margarita's headed south. Mexican food in Hong Kong is typically not great and overpriced but the Sizzling Fajita's at Taco Loco are good value - the only thing I would recommend eating. I had a couple of margarita's a few weeks back and they were pretty good too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterJForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

As you head up the mid levels escalator more and more restaurants are accessed - good ones too. Unfortunately we didn't know this until fairly recently, and as Taco Loco is one of the first places that comes in to view my girlfriend and I, starving one night popped in for a meal. If you eat out often then I guess you have to accept that some places are going to be better than others, but I was annoyed at just how badly we got caught out here. Both our dishes were tasteless, lukewarm, soggy and the chicken in mine looked a long way past it's best. It's cheap, and that always appeals to me but it's not worth it, there is so many other really great options in Hong Kong that you shouldn't waste your money or your time here. I don't really like writing bad reviews but something need to be done about this place. It's so well located and could be so good but it isn't - absolutely the opposite.
As a final word I should add that we went to the same restaurant on holiday in 2007 and had a great meal. Reading other reviews from around that time I see some (but not all even then!) others had a positive experience too, so there has been a real deterioration in the last year or so.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommoandRossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
943 reviews
504 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Totally agree with others”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Was craving for Mexican and this was one I found on the net that was recommended. WRONG, if I had checked TA I would have gone to Agave and I should have! Ordered a Carne Asada Burrito and the meat was fatty and VERY chewy! 7 Layer Nacho was ABSOLUTELY GROSS. What a horrible experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Go to Tequila instead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I think the only reason this place is still going it because of the location. The food is aweful, honestly the meat was gross & the nachos must have come from a 7/11 microwave. Every time I go up the escalator and see all the tourists eating in there I feel sorry for them . So much good food to be had in Hong Kong I can't understand how these guys stay open.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Loco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing