We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting.. provided you can tolerate the smell & heat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel
Ranked #23 of 3,165 Hotels in Chongqing
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice setting.. provided you can tolerate the smell & heat”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed there for a night in late Oct, supposed to be "cooler". however the lobby itself was one big warm oven. Check-in is pretty slow, about 20 mins for a group of 20 pax - has they need guests to produce their passports for verification.

Has only 2 lifts to service the hotel floors - so its relatively slow.

Realised the rooms were split up into 2 stages - the first half stretch of the corridor has warm lights & more oriental feel. after a mini lobby, the remaining stretch is more modern, with artefacts lined along the corridor.

Spacious & clean room. HUge standing showers (possibly can contain 6 pax). however the disappointing portion is the aircon. the setting is at 25degrees, but we do not feel any cool air. when we called the reception, they told us that they had in fact switched on the warmer. and as the system is centralized, they could not do anyting about it. in the end, we had no choice but to ask for a fan. good thing is, they were very responsive, a fan was sent to our room within 10 mins (thou we are at the far end)

As the food street is nearby, the smell is rather evident in our room. Was told my the others that the smell was overwhelming when they opened the window for some air (as the room was too hot)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    168
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
21
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. It can't be beat in terms of character. It is part of a historic "mall" which clings to the side of a hill. There are local food and craft stalls, as well as some restaurants and bars within the complex. The hotel occupies the top floors. The room was Asian contemporary, and would have cost $300+ per night in the US. The location of this hotel is great, and it is nice to look out onto the river from the common sitting rooms or from a river-side room. Our only complaint was that we were placed in a room in the back of the hotel so we did not have a view. But since we were gone most of the day, it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsdenArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in Hongyadong and I have to say that it truly is unique place to stay. The hotel itself is actually part of old fortress and has fabulous restaurants & shops on the door steps. We stayed 2 nights in Multivel Suite A for 678rmb/night including all taxes and breakfast. Suite was really nice, with free internet, 2 bathrooms and balcony. Breakfast was also great.

Definitely a place to recommed if you want great hotel with special settings & surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonfire_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I travelled to HongYaDong with my girlfriend. We spent two nights in total. Although we had a very bad experience on the first night, the second night totally made up for it.

We checked into the hotel at 2am. The staff was courteous and we went to our room. We were quite amazed by the beauty of the decoration and all the little touches to make our stay comfortable. We were hungry and ordered Chongqing noodles which arrived withing 15 minutes and were delicious and good value (20 yuan).

We were unfortunate to be awaken at 8:30 am on sunday morning by the loud sound of disco music coming from the convention room which was behind our room. The walls were shaking. It was quite a horrible experience, but after talking with the hotel manager, we were given a much better room, which was quiet and our check out time was extended to 2 pm.

The second night we slept very well. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are big.

Oh! And did I mention this hotel is almost a city in itself. From the outside, it is grandiose. There are streets on the 4th floor where you can find small food stalls. They have restaurants for everyone, from 2 star to the 5 star QuanJuDe (Peking duck).

It is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OuterLimitTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We travelled to Chongqing as a group, and chose this hotel for its very unique location and architechture. The hotel is actually a part of a large cultural complex, which includes a threatre, lots of restuarants & food stands, craft shops, etc. There's even a Starbucks.

The price is pretty unbelievable for the quality of the rooms. For just $150/night, my husband & I stayed at the best suite they had, which was amazingly furnished with Chinese lanterns hanging over the king size bed. We have stayed at various Shangri La's, Park Hyatts, etc all around Asia, and this was definitely up to our standard.

The one thing to keep in mind is that this is a boutique hotel, and their English language ability is lacking. The operators can only speak Chinese, and while they try very hard to be helpful, if you don't speak Chinese, it's best to come here with a friend who does. Of course if you are the type person that don't need to talk to the staff between check-in & check-out, you will have a great time here even if you don't speak Chinese.

  • Liked — Unique location & architecture
  • Disliked — Not a lot of English spoken here
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dinglichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland and asia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed here for 2 days in April. First entering to room I thought it was the most beautifull I ever stayed in. My own pc, bath with window and a lot of space. Everthing decorated in a chinese wooden style that we western tourists like. The bed was nice and the breakfast had lots of choice (mostly chinese food). The location is funny, the lobby is highest but same level with the street, the rest is below the street against a mountain wall. No view what so ever that side (you can have a river view room) but no noise also and thats nice and rare in China. For about € 30 its very good value for money.

All great? No. It was April and 26 degres outside but the airco was not cooling the room lower than 22 degres. They said it was not summer yet... Not for them maybe but sleeping with 22 degres is not what I am used to. Taking a shower in the bath we flood the bathroom as there is no extra drain. Hotel does not have many facilities like a pool. After 2 days moved to the new Howard Johnson. Better but also there I could not cool my room below 22 degres for the same reason.

  • Liked — Decoration
  • Disliked — No airo to cool under 22 degres when it is not summer (higher 30 degres)
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWalhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel, is a 5-star hotel in an interesting development. As our tour promised 4-star hotels, we were given rooms without view.

Room facilities:
spacious, clean and modern room
25-inch TV
mini fridge
nice dressing table with chair
king-size bed
2 bedside cabinets
2 window seats
clock
telephone in bedroom and in bathroom
many lights with very modern switches
air-condition with good temperature control
many mirrors, including concave mirror in bathroom
giant bowl as washbasin
hair dryer
slippers
electric kettle & tea/coffee-making facilities
safe
wardrobe
adequate power points in good working condition
spacious bathroom separated from bedroom by glass wall, with electrically-controlled screen
bathtub in excellent condition, with clothe line
nice clean toilet
futuristic-looking bathroom scale

On level 4 of the hotel complex is an interesting street with little shops selling foodstuff and food. On level 5 are shops selling crafts and souvenirs.

Bad points about the hotel:
has only 2 lifts, resulted in much delay to delivery of luggage
buttons (for calling lifts) were located on far side
bed too soft for those with back problem
shoulder around bathtub was lower than edge of bathtub, resulting in wet bathroom floor.
lack of adequate signs in English in the room, in the hotel and around the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, in interesting setting & value for money
  • Disliked — Only 2 lifts and inadequate signs in English
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerryTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#6 of 3,165 in Chongqing
301 reviews
Glenview ITC Plaza Chongqing
#16 of 3,165 in Chongqing
297 reviews
InterContinental Chongqing
#12 of 3,165 in Chongqing
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongqing C-Plaza Hotel
#18 of 3,165 in Chongqing
20 reviews
Milky Way Hotel
#31 of 3,165 in Chongqing
126 reviews
Jiefangbei
World Traders Hotel
World Traders Hotel
#243 of 3,165 in Chongqing
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel

Property: Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel
Address: No.56 Cangbai Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 3,165 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chongqing Hongyadong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing