We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lobby restaurant buffet is top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chongqing North
Ranked #31 of 3,281 Hotels in Chongqing
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The staff here are helpful and friendly. The hotel is of the Holiday Inn standard, but what is impressive is the buffet restaurant in the lobby. For only 170rmb you can eat your fill. The food is fresh, good quality and there is something for everyone, from steaks and sausages freshly cooked to order as well as oysters and scallops, to salads, sushi, and a whole host of more Chinese fayre. The dessert selection is excellent too. Free flow drinks are available to wash it all down with. Even if you choose another hotel to stay in try the food here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattwalesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chongqing North, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear MR. MattwalesNorthWales,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn North Chongqing. We were pleased to note that you appreciated the lobby restaurant buffet of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our restaurant services, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Olivia YU
Marketing&Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We traveled here for our adoption trip for our first child in 2007. The staff was very friendly even though they may not have all spoken any English. They were helpful and provided us with a stroller and a crib to use for our stay. I didn't bring a computer at the time so I used their business centre downstairs and never had any problems with it.

The rooms were clean and the bed was spacious and comfy. The rooms were tidied each day and they often left unique items such as paper cut-outs on our pillows, which I still have. The showers were great and the food was very American but we did eat at the Chinese restaurant upstairs 1 night and we thought it was good. We had to walk a little ways to the shopping but it was bearable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chongqing North, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Blecky ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our room facility food and service made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Lucia Deng
Marketing&Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I am a platinum member for priority club and I find this Holiday Inn below par. The ambience is average, perhaps better than the local hotels. The breakfast spread is quite disappointing, variety is very china. Not international food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guru_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chongqing North, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guru_Jack,
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to improve the quality of hotels to better meet the needs of our guests.
We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to the breakfast experience . Rest assured that we are looking into the diversity of supplies ,ensuring that we address and improve the necessary actions to provide all our guests with an excellent experience while staying with us.
We would like to respond to you personally, could you please send us your email address and telephone details to "hinchg@ihg.com"?
Once again, we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Lucia Deng
Marketing&Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

99% of the staff dont speak english. The ambience is not welcoming. The location is fine and safe. Food doesnt taste great. On arrival the staff gave me a very basic room inspite of me paying for the superior suite. After lot of talk they gave me the right room. The airconditioning system wasnt working.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarunRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia D, Manager at Holiday Inn Chongqing North, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear VarunRan,
Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us,your comments are very important to us. We apologize for the details that made your stay unpleasant.
Regarding your comment of airconditioning,we are so sorry that the system is in maintenance condition of your stay, in the meantime it also give us precious opportunity to make it right as well as to do something different in the near future, we’ll also enhance the training among our staff,we sincerely hope can come back again to feel our improvement,and you are very welcomed to write us an email via hotel email box (hinchg@ihg.com) to share your further feedback and advice of the restaurant with us. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,

Lucia Deng
Marketing&Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very clean hotel with a helpful staff just like any other Holiday Inn. Not all the staff can understand or speak English, but the hotel is in central China after all. I am fairly sure any Chinese who are fluent in English aren't working as maid in a hotel. When I called down to ask where the ice machine was located they told me what floor it was on and that they would someone to go get it for me. The tea house on the 8th floor is a great place to relax. The fitness center and pool area looked nice and were staffed with attendants. The buffet on the main floor looked great, but my wife and I chose to go out to the local restaurants in the area

Room Tip: The higher the better. Chongqing is a large city with a lot of traffic. Even on the 18th floor you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wparades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

as business trip, have been to many holiday-inn hotels, this one has no special, just as standard as holiday-inn. good position, big enough room, provides good breakfast.
though at the beginning the taxi driver could not find the place

Room Tip: high room is better, since it's close to the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after disembarking from a Yangtze River cruise. It is a modern hotel with typical Holiday Inn amenities. Hoever, the Chinese do not understand the usual service that the name Holiday Inn implies. The service was not good, and if it had been in the US, UK or Australia, we would have complained to the manager - but in China, with the language barrier, there was no point. Very few of the staff spoke English and then only to discuss hotel business for check-in and check-out.
Having said that, the rooms were a good size and clean. The bathroom was also clean. There was internet to the room. The services such as laundry were expensive by Chinese standards (nearer the cost of the US).
The hotel is situated out of the main town area, but Chongqing is the largest city in China (about 34 million) so town was always going to be a fair distance. However, there were a few good restaurants in the local area.
Breakfast had limited western choices, but was adequate. If we ever return to Congqing, I would opt for a hotel closer to the centre city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chongqing Jinxiucheng
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
2.1 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#15 of 3,281 in Chongqing
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#7 of 3,281 in Chongqing
335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chongqing Marriott Hotel
Chongqing Marriott Hotel
#4 of 3,281 in Chongqing
137 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chongqing New North Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chongqing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Address: No.96 Wuhong Road, Yubei District, Chongqing 401120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 3,281 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range: $62 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chongqing North 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn North Chongqing is a brand-new property and the first international business hotel in North Chongqing. The convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers. All guest rooms are trendy and modern, equipped with the latest in sleeping comfort and double glazed windows in every room. The hotel also caters to every meeting organizer's needs, complimented by its full meeting facilities, food & beverage outlets, health club and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chongqing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing