We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a standard holiday-inn, without surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chongqing North
Ranked #24 of 2,068 Hotels in Chongqing
GuangZhou
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a standard holiday-inn, without surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

as business trip, have been to many holiday-inn hotels, this one has no special, just as standard as holiday-inn. good position, big enough room, provides good breakfast.
though at the beginning the taxi driver could not find the place

Room Tip: high room is better, since it's close to the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    138
    34
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
8
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
696 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after disembarking from a Yangtze River cruise. It is a modern hotel with typical Holiday Inn amenities. Hoever, the Chinese do not understand the usual service that the name Holiday Inn implies. The service was not good, and if it had been in the US, UK or Australia, we would have complained to the manager - but in China, with the language barrier, there was no point. Very few of the staff spoke English and then only to discuss hotel business for check-in and check-out.
Having said that, the rooms were a good size and clean. The bathroom was also clean. There was internet to the room. The services such as laundry were expensive by Chinese standards (nearer the cost of the US).
The hotel is situated out of the main town area, but Chongqing is the largest city in China (about 34 million) so town was always going to be a fair distance. However, there were a few good restaurants in the local area.
Breakfast had limited western choices, but was adequate. If we ever return to Congqing, I would opt for a hotel closer to the centre city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Holiday Inn has good rooms and nice facilities. No complaints for room or assistance only issue is communication. We have expected reasonable minimum level 3 English speaking staff in a four star hotel.

Booked online through IHG website, everything went smooth. On check-in I was asked for deposit for which I was not informed earlier. I tried to request two adjacent rooms with kitchenette and no one on front desk had clue what I am inquiring. Even Manager of hotel, after listening to my question did not acknowledged anything but starting discussing something in Chinese with his front desk officer. Needed fruit knife in room and had to call three times explaining and spelling out the word KNIFE to room service to send one to room.

Language was the biggest and only issue otherwise a fantastic hotel. Fast check-in, good advises for shopping or seeing places, very good in hiring taxis.

Hotel is far from Tourist places but to downtown it was only 20CNY which was very affordable and takes less than 20 min to reach whenever we went.

Very nice and comfortable bedding with choice of pillow. Good quality Toiletries/sleeper and very nice/clean bath with good quality shower.

This hotel is a safe bet, WIFI is free in lobby and wired in Room. Departmental store and fruit shop is right at the entrance. Bar in hotel also is nice with good music in evening, very entertaining staff surprisingly with very good English .

We had room only, so cannot comment on food quality.

I would recommend staying this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be nice and specious, at least the ones we were in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadaqat Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed her for a weekend in October. Staff had limited English. The bathroom shower had mold in it and did not drain. Room seemed poorly cleaned. No correction of problem by the hotel. The breakfast buffet had very limited non Chinese selections. The bacon was slightly cooked, nearly raw. Not much of interest near the hotel. Amenities adequate. I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Hotel is a Holiday Inn in Name ...the rooms are good size and good value. No complaints about the rooms at all. Stayed on Executive floor...good value. But their Idea of evening happy hour leaves a lot to be desired. Not much on offer and poor service.

Like many big chain hotels in China, they don't understand what servie is expected. The breakfast area is in the lobby and the choice is poor. But they have introduced a no smoking area !!!

This hotel is a safe bet if you are on business, but not much around there to see or do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pa3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last week for 2 nites - at the end of my 9 days China Trip.

Hotel was booked + paid for by my office so i have no idea what the room charges were.

Glad to be in an international chain of hotels (would rate this 3.5 stars) in China.

No welcome drink - nothing - at time of check in. Efficient but cold.

Room was OK - overlooked the roof tops of the apartments next door - with lots of trees/plants on the roof.

Toiletries provided were basic - laundry costs were cheap - fraction of the costs vs Hyatt on the Bund in Shanghai.

The bed/mattress was rock hard (and I am used to sleeping on firm mattresses).

Aircon worked - no issue.

Buffet breakfast was OK - do try their Tomato with eggs noodles - sweet and light yet filliing. Coffee was bland.

There is no shopping mall around the hotel - 2 KTVs right across the hotel - quality unknown.

Couple of local - repeat local - alfresco dining joints by the roadside (open only at night) that provides cheap and hearty (read spicy + sitting on low stools) meals across the street. Local beer is good. Open to the wee hours.

All in all - a good place to stay for a couple of nights in a "business class" hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titaniumbronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
930 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived from the river late afternoon and was shipped to the Hotel, as you would expect it was only slightly different from the usual. Staff fine and breakfast next morning had a good variety available.
Strolled down to a street market and later to the city center, amazed at the price of western goods in the stores.
We, in comparasion to some of the locals were the shabby dressers!!. Huge city of arpound 25 million in 2004.

Room Tip: Take a walk around, you move a century back in a 1000 yards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chongqing Jinxiucheng
5.3 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#7 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside
Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside
#21 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#1 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#8 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
#9 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chongqing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Property: Holiday Inn Chongqing North
Address: No.96 Wuhong Road, Yubei District, Chongqing 401120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 2,068 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chongqing North 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn North Chongqing is a brand-new property and the first international business hotel in North Chongqing. The convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers. All guest rooms are trendy and modern, equipped with the latest in sleeping comfort and double glazed windows in every room. The hotel also caters to every meeting organizer's needs, complimented by its full meeting facilities, food & beverage outlets, health club and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Chongqing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing