We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Two day stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chongqing North
Ranked #41 of 2,069 Hotels in Chongqing
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
966 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
“Two day stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Arrived from the river late afternoon and was shipped to the Hotel, as you would expect it was only slightly different from the usual. Staff fine and breakfast next morning had a good variety available.
Strolled down to a street market and later to the city center, amazed at the price of western goods in the stores.
We, in comparasion to some of the locals were the shabby dressers!!. Huge city of arpound 25 million in 2004.

Room Tip: Take a walk around, you move a century back in a 1000 yards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    137
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
8
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montaren et St Mediers
Level Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Its location is not ideal as it's not in the town centre. It would be difficult to find a restaurant in the locality to eat. There was a slight problem with our reservation at reception but it was quickly and politely resolved with our guide. The room was clean and spacious and on the 17th floor. This wasn't a problem as the lifts were fast and you didn't wait long for one to arrive. Breakfast was a buffet style and can only be described as adequate and the service for coffee etc indifferent. The big problem arose when we sat at a table which was broken.,We moved to another table while staff tried to stabilise the other one having relaid the places. Only when they realised that it was in fact broken did they remove it from the restaurant. Where the table had stood was a pile of of debris, some very old, rubbish had obviously been swept under the table base on a regular basis!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandMick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel provided us with all we needed for our 3 night stay. Friendly and accommodating staff, a good size and clean room and swimming pool.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast. We walked to a large shopping district which hotel staff directed us to and also managed to find our way back. The zoo was worth a visit also as it was well laid out, not busy and we saw the pandas.
I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Good place to spend the night. Friendly people, very nice breakfast with live cooking. Rooms are good in size, offer comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarfrazKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very nice hotel, though not in a very convenient location. The hotel is not located in the center of Chongqing and you would need a taxi to the closest major shopping area of Jiangbei. However, if you do have business in the area or are looking for good value this would be a good choice.
Our room (on an Executive floor) was large and well appointed. There was free internet (via ethernet, no wifi) and many English and other international TV channels. The Executive Lounge has complimentary drinks and snacks in the evening and breakfast in the morning (though a limited selection of items).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Our taxi driver had no idea where this hotel was, so have the address in Chinese ready. Reception and service very smiling, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable at all times. Cleanliness and Room Service very good. My favorite credit card not accepted at check-in, tried it again at check-out and it worked, so don't give up the first time. Four big problems with this hotel. (1) In Chongqing's 38 degree (99 F.) summer heat, the room air conditioning could not get the room below 25 degrees (77 F.), even set at full fan and lowest temperature. This is just barely adequate for some people. Also disappointing that the minifridge is turned off all day until you return to the room, so that the cold drinks are not very cold. (2) Cigarette smoke was never a major problem for me in China, but the smoke wafting all through the lobby, lounge and restaurants was mildly disturbing here. (3) Dinner served until 10 according to folder in room, but when we tried to get an evening meal at 9:20 PM on a Tuesday evening, everything had closed. We were allowed to order two dishes from room service, which were served very lukewarm without napkins or toothpicks in the now closed eating area. Looking out the window for a view of the city at night, all we saw was our own reflections in the window glass. (4) The hotel has a spiffy travel bureau which arranged two tours for us, one to the three natural bridges at Wulong, the other to the rock carvings at Dazu, both five-star tourist attractions, but the tours offered are the typical two-star Chinese excursions, with bus seats as comfortable as airplane economy seats (torture for long legs), an extra added surprise charge on the Wulong tour, all passengers herded into a restaurant of the guide's choice and rushed through a surprisingly tasty meal with hardly any time to burp or use toothpicks, and the obligatory stop at some sales outlet showroom on the trip home, where the passengers let themselves be corralled into listening to a sales pitch for knives, jade, silk, pillows, potato peelers, or whatever. The hotel staff told us there would be no such mandatory stopovers, but don't believe them! The electric switches in the rooms must have been wired in complete darkness, as the switch on one side of the bed operates the lamp on the other side, and it's always a surprise which light comes on where when the other switches are operated. Bathroom fine, bed comfy, we might even stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GpaLonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I wouldn't say holiday inn is a great hotel, but it's a norm of affordable and nicely run mid-price range hotel.

This Chongqing property lives up to this standard. Spacious room, empty trays pre-loaded with welcoming fruits (a genuine surprise...). Location is not outstanding but still convenient enough by riding a taxi to and from.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chongqing Jinxiucheng
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside
Crowne Plaza Chongqing Riverside
#13 of 2,069 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yimei Hotel
Yimei Hotel
#165 of 2,069 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#2 of 2,069 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#5 of 2,069 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
#9 of 2,069 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chongqing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chongqing North

Property: Holiday Inn Chongqing North
Address: No.96 Wuhong Road, Yubei District, Chongqing 401120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 2,069 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chongqing North 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn North Chongqing is a brand-new property and the first international business hotel in North Chongqing. The convenient location makes it ideal for business travelers. All guest rooms are trendy and modern, equipped with the latest in sleeping comfort and double glazed windows in every room. The hotel also caters to every meeting organizer's needs, complimented by its full meeting facilities, food & beverage outlets, health club and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chongqing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing