We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stilwell Museum/Former Residence of General Stilwell (Shidiwei Jiangjun Jiuju)
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.00*
and up
One-Day Tour: Classic Chongqing
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
417 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Associated Flying Tigers Museum”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our tour had time for the Flying tigers museum across the street and it was well worth the visit. Located atop a winding one way Chongqing road overlooking the water, this museum, consisting of two main rooms and what is now showrooms for an art school ( with local artisans) was a gem. the history of Major Cehnault and General Stillwell is told in the guide's narrative and photos and exhibits. the orogin of the Flying Tigers in 1937 as a volunteer unit reaponsible for the air defense of what was then known as Chungking was fascinating and brought attendees to tears. the exhibit regarding the emblem that the pilots wore explaining to the Chinese people that they were to be aided if shot down , and the accompanying narratives of rescues gave us goosebumps. Although small, this museum packs a punch in delivering its message of gratitude for the extraordinary aervice by these extraordinary men. while driving along the riverside roadway, look for the former bomb shelters cut into the side of the hill, now being used as storage or even mini-stores.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chinese History”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We learned a bit of Chinese history on our visit. This was the house that George Stillwell resided in for 2 years starting in 1942 and helped organize the Flying Tigers which aided in Chinese resistance against the Japanese. The museum taught me a lot about a part of history that I was lacking in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oc_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My visit to Gen Stilwell Museum”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is as expected. You get a glimpse of life for General Stilwell and the rest is up to your imagination. Understandably, there are not a lot of artifacts remaining but a wonderful experience. The military museum across the street is not much, but I did learn that Gen Chennault's wife is living in Washington DC, and I found that interesting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank radios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you are interested in WWII history”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed a brief visit to this museum, the former residence of General Stilwell during the war. The photos are old and not well preserved, but it is a beautiful site and a reminder of our history with China.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SFMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WWI History”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A small but interesting museum housing photos and furnishings in Stillwell's house while outside you can see some or the military vehicles used during this period.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stilwell Museum/Former Residence of General Stilwell (Shidiwei Jiangjun Jiuju) also viewed

 

Been to Stilwell Museum/Former Residence of General Stilwell (Shidiwei Jiangjun Jiuju)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing