We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant service, hotel not fully ready”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei
Ranked #17 of 3,209 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are booked for 4 days 3 nights package online with Banyan Tree. It is a brand new hotel that has just started operation. The transfer arrangement with the hotel is comfortable timely and hospitable. We are greeted with cold bottled mineral water, cold towels by the driver with free wifi and soothing music in the Audi. It is worth the extra that you pay for the service and pleasant reception. My brother in law needed to get a pair of new shoes as his gave way, the driver and hotel are accommodating and fetched us to a shopping mall to get his shoes.

When we reached the hotel, the reception is good, nice ambience, checkin is smooth. We are served welcome drinks and cookies during the process.

The rooms are nice, spacious and cool despite the hot weather. We like the decor, the concept, the music, the hot spring tub at the balcony. The bed is comfortable and pillows fluffy, we look forward to a good night sleep.

Then the problems started to surface. The door cannot be locked and we hear the construction noises while trying to relax at the balcony. We informed the front desk and are upgraded to deluxe rooms. Teething issues surfaced, some slip shots on housekeeping, key cards not working on one late night when we returned tiredly to the hotel.

Main problem is the construction work that is still ongoing in the hotel. While the management team strives to provide good service to the guests, there has to be good coordination and cooperation with the construction team. The frontline service staff faces the guests and gets the heat, when the construction works continue in early hours. It can be annoying and irritating for guests who are intolerant to noises.

But no, I am not saying that the hotel is a no go, but only that it is not quite ready yet. The potential is good, the hot spring at the balcony, at the poolside, the service level that you get there, are all tip top. Not only for China, but compared to all other hotels that we have been to, they are indeed great.

To express their apologies for the inconvenience, the hotel waived the last night's room charge for each of our rooms, payment for our lunch and arranged for complementary transport for us to the airport on the day of our departure. Not so much the money but the extent to which the staff tries to make our trip pleasant touches us.

The buffet breakfast is of good spread. Perhaps freshly squeezed juices are more compatible with spa resort status.

The Chinese restaurant is nice and of good quality food with great presentation although pricey. Service is great too.

It would be great if the hotel provides more entertainment for the guests, e.g. live music performance lounge, guided walking trails, day trips etc.

We will have no hesitation to return when the opportunity arise. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwtravellersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 78 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with 招商银行出行易旅行者
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
23.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#2 of 3,209 in Chongqing
393 reviews
23.7 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#16 of 3,209 in Chongqing
632 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#14 of 3,209 in Chongqing
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
#5 of 3,209 in Chongqing
445 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
#15 of 3,209 in Chongqing
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei

Address: 101 Hot Spring Road, Chengjiang, Beibei District, Chongqing 400700, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 3,209 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range: $303 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a world where misty mountain peaks, karst caves, lush foliage, steep gorges and the hushed reverence of beautifully preserved history rise gently to enfold you in gracious welcome. This is Chongqing Beibei China. Nestled in the foothills of Jinyun Mountain Natural Reserve, Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei surrounds you in an ambience of spirituality, tranquillity and cultural charm. A true sanctuary for your senses, find respite in the curative waters of the ancient northern hot springs in Banyan Tree's first exclusive hot spring resort in Chongqing Beibei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banyan Tree Chongqing Beibei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing