We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but lack of service”
Review of Hilton Chongqing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chongqing
Ranked #13 of 3,175 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel has one of the best location in town since there are a few lines of subways and public transportation near by. It has been built more than 10 years ago. It need some upgrade for the room carpet. You will hardly find any bell boys around for your luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Long W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying with Hilton Chongqing and sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that our service had not met your expectation. Your comment will be shared with respective departments, thereafter, further action will be taken.
Thank you for communicating your experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Chongqing.
Yours faithfully,
General Manager
Jean-Philippe Jacopin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Chongqing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

One of the worst hotels during our trip to China. AC was not working. When we complained - we were told to "open the windows". But they were locked shut! Other than the AC, Sheets were torn, Shower curtain was mildewed, and carpeting & upholstery badly stained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank booooomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying with Hilton Chongqing and sharing your feedback with us. I would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay. Your comment will be shared with relevant departments, thereafter, further action will be taken.
It is with your comment that we can improve our service standard. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Chongqing.
Yours faithfully,
General Manager
Jean-Philippe Jacopin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of CQ. Although nowhere in CQ is convenient because of the rubbish traffic this is pretty good - 45 mins / RMB60 from airport. The hotel is modern, clean and very well laid out. The exec lounge on the 31st floor was excellent with a good evening meal and breakfast. There is a small but nicely laid out swimming pool and an extensive gym. So this would get 5 stars except; 1. the staff in the exec lounge were decidedly offish (surprising as the staff in the gym / front desk were positively friendly), and 2. the aerobics machines are old and need to be replaced / refurbished. Oh, the toilet blocked and the shower blocked which is a pity as I had a lovely corner suite. Other than that I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Claude K,
Thank you for staying with Hilton Chongqing and sharing your experience with us. The two suggestions that you had provided would be shared with respective departments, thereafter further action will be taken.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Chongqing.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Jean-Philippe Jacopin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Efficient checkin. Comfortable room. Aircon not effective so room stuffy. Bathroom large with walk in shower but the temperature was very hot to scalding hot. Plug system in room not user friendly. Sockets not easy for connecting.

A large breakfast buffet should keep most people happy. The service was indifferent and getting coffee proved quite a mission.

The lobby area and public areas are not small and cosy but rather large and cold.

There is a small shop across the road from the hotel. Went there to buy wine as was about to embark on a river cruise. The prices were extortionate - up to 3 times the prices paid elsewhere in China. So beware!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for staying with Hilton Chongqing and sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. Your comment will be shared with respective departments; thereafter further action will be taken.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Chongqing.
Yours faithfully,
General Manager
Jean-Philippe Jacopin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was a really nice hotel where we stayed just for one night. It had almost everything that you could wish to have an see in an hotel. All the rooms were of good quality and the facilities were first class. The staff were very helpful and did all they possibly could to ensure that you were comfortable and at ease. The food was well presented, varied and tasteful. The old town is well worth a visit and a visit to Chongqing Zoo, the most emblematic residents of which are the giant pandas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard and therefore disappointment should not occur.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Howard J,
Thank you for staying at Hilton Chongqing and sharing your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant time with us and we will share your comment with the team. We greatly appreciate your words and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Chongqing.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Jean-Philippe Jacopin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Comfortable bedroom, very good bathroom with separate shower, good air-conditioning, but our 21st floor room overlooked a noisy building site.
Helpful friendly reception staff.
Very good breakfast and dinner, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Hilton Chongqing and sharing your feedback. We are very sorry that we could not accommodate you a room with a different view in this occasion. It is with your comments that we can improve our standard and service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours faithfully,
General Manager
Jean-Philippe Jacopin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

In a terrific location in downtown Chongqing (a city with considerable sprawl), the Hilton is clean, friendly and well-run with good amenities. The hotel isn't ultra luxurious but of dependable high quality, and it makes for a predictably pleasant stay. A great breakfast offering rounds out the experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Gage A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HiltonChongqing, General Manager at Hilton Chongqing, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to stress that your feedback is highly appreciated, as it is only through these valuable comments that we are able to continuously improve our service and product.

Once again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Chongqing and remain your hospitality choice in Chongqing.

Your truly,

Jean-Philippe Jacopin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.9 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#6 of 3,175 in Chongqing
308 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#3 of 3,175 in Chongqing
716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,175 in Chongqing
305 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#15 of 3,175 in Chongqing
626 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chongqing

Address: No.139 Zhongshan 3rd Road | Yu Zhong District, Chongqing 400015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#6 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#7 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range: $74 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Chongqing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated between the Yangtze and Jia Ling Rivers, the hotel offers Art-deco comfort and convenience to explore beautiful Chongqing. The Three-minute walk to the Liang Lu Kou station connects you with the airport and all major attractions, shopping and business districts. City Hall and the famous Three Gorges Museum are a short walk away as well. Allow our welcoming and attentive service to guide you to the best of Chongqing. • Central location next to Yangtze River • River, stadium, and city views from guest rooms and suites • Cloud 9 Spa and fitness center with indoor heated pool and rooftop garden • Three restaurants and bars • 14 meeting rooms and an elegant ballroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chongqing Hotel Chongqing
Hilton International Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing