We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
Ranked #22 of 2,068 Hotels in Chongqing
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel is located in the heart of Chongqing which was the best thing. We stayed one week and were very pleased. Our room was big and clean. The reception staff was helpful and very kind for us. Breakfast was good. (Anyway It is more like 4-star hotel but not 5.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seija574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    177
    51
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
19
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks while on a business trip in Chongqing. My husband and 2-year old son joined me for part of my stay. It's not really a 5-star hotel (as advertised) and it misses some details, but it makes up for this with large rooms, helpful staff and a great location.

Pros:
- I stayed on the 11th floor in a one bedroom suite. Although my room was slightly outdated, it was very large and quite comfortable. I really liked the kitchenette and large walk in closet.
- When I first arrived there were free chocolates and fruit in my room. Additional fruit was added during my second week.
- I had free Internet in my room. It was a bit slow, but more than passable for China (I was able to Skype etc.)
- I found the staff very nice and helpful.
- The location is great, right near Jiefangbei, a short walk to the subway, an Ole grocery store and a lot of restaurants.
- My room was on an inner courtyard and generally pretty quiet.
- There's a reasonable swimming pool and gym.
- The buffet breakfast had a good selection (Western and Chinese options) and the food was generally good (but not great). They have high chairs available.

Cons:
- The bed was a bit hard.
- The swimming pool is a strange shape and it is difficult to swim laps if there is more than one person in the pool. The hot tub in the changing room was generally not hot.
- One weekend afternoon there was a wedding in the courtyard on the 10th floor. It was extremely loud. This was annoying but not a huge problem for me, as it was in the afternoon.
- The dishes in the kitchenette while plentiful, were slightly dirty and a little disorganized and hard to access (all piled into one cupboard). Also no dish soap or dish cloth was available in the room.
- No cribs are available that are appropriate for 2-year old children (I believe they have cribs available for smaller children.)
- No conditioner was available in the shower.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, particularly if you can get a good rate. The one bedroom suites are pretty large and comfortable and the kitchenette makes them convenient for a longer stay or with a family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jublia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I founfd the hotel most disappointing on all deparments.
The reception staff were poorly trained and appeared uninterested.
The Restaurants were very poor and none to clean!!
The toilet next to the restaurant was very dirty, smelled terrible and was unusable!!!
I had to use the toilet in my suite!!!

The hotel tried to make me pay for the Internet, although this was advertised as being included in the tarrif.
Thje whole complex is very dated and needs a massive renovation to bring it up to the 5 star level it advertises.
Never again.
George Grace.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. try the Hilton hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonemason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

For a five star hotel this has alot lacking. Service was just OK although I must mention Freda in the business centre who helped me a great deal. Mind you I was paying 30 yuan for half hour access to internet, which I had been offered free in other hotels. Also had to pay for a local call when using my Charge back card another thing I have been given free in other 5 star hotels. This place was chosen because we were going on a Yangste cruise and was only an overnighter but I think with hindsight we could have found better value somewhere else, as apart from the lobby the place is looking a little tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went on a family trip, on our way back from Yangtze cruise, stopped over at Chongqing for an overnight stay. I booked this hotel, as this was location almost at the center of the city, with walkable distance to all malls - closest to the pedestrian street. Not so expensive rooms but the rooms are quite big than I thought. I booked a standard twin-bed room - both the beds comfortably can accommodate two kids or an adult and a kid.. rooms come with good internet connectivity with other default standard facilities like TV, coffee machine, fridge and others.. Found out a unique policy they had.. we found the A/C wasn't working.. only fan-like air was coming out of the vent.. we called up the room service and was politely told that the local government prohibits use of A/C if the outside temperature is less than 25'c. Great concept.. we slept that night having the windows open.
Great service and the lobby was quite big and very good looking. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Generally the hotel was fine. The room 2912 was a bit aged. The carpet has stains and the furniture was alos not the best one anymore. Only 2 English movie channels. No wifi internet available which is a deficit for business travellers but fine for a one-night-stay of leisure travellers. The big disappointment was the pool and spa area. The staff was unmotivated and not good in English. The cleanliness of the steam sauna and hot plunge pool was - to be honest - critical! This outlet seemed not to be used too much so this is taken a bit on the light shoulder. The rest was fine.

Room Tip: Take a room on the highr floors. It is more quiet. Maybe upgrade to Executive Floor for additional b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schaible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The lobby is the best feature of this hotel. The rooms are old style and in desperate need of a total refurbishment. The bathroom is also old style with the shower over the bath. The air conditioning didn't work. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. The hotel is situated in the central business and shopping district which is at least something good about the hotel. There must be better hotels than this one in Chongqing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#1 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
InterContinental Chongqing
#7 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Hilton Chongqing
#4 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#2 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Jiefangbei
World Traders Hotel
World Traders Hotel
#38 of 2,068 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing

Property: Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing
Address: Wuyi Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400013, China
Location: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Chongqing
#21 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour Plaza (Haiyi) Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Haiyi Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing